We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort - friendliest people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Nothing seemed to be a problem with the staff at Xanadu. The rooms were very comfortable - always clean. The beds may have been a little harder than we are used to, but everything was great. Location is good, the area is beautifully maintained. Very natural setting. I loved the beach beds at the end of the pier. I sat there for hours just watching the ocean, the boats, the fishermen and the students learning how to sail. You can get in and swim off the pier if you prefer the ocean to the pool. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie and Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

It really is a relaxing vacation if you can sit quietly and watch the world go by. We are glad you were able to enjoy that here at Xanadu. We are happy you would come back and we look forward to that. Thank you for your review and positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 634 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Xanadau is a very nice place to stay in San Pedro. The location is in town, but at the quieter end, and of course, you are right on the beach. Xanadau has some nice amenities, including complimentary bike and kayak rentals. One of the best things about the resort is the service. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They did a great job at arranging our snorkeling trips and addressing our other needs. We also really liked that they were eco-conscious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wetland68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We are glad you feel that Xanadu is probably one of the nicest places in San Pedro - that is what we want to be. A tranquil, peaceful resort where everyone feels at home and enjoys the beauty of the island and has fun on the tours. Thank you for your positive review and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had an amazing 10 day trip to Belize at the end of June. After spending 4 days in San Ignacio, we stayed for 4 nights at Xanadu. Everything was great and the staff was so friendly and attentive! Even though there were 11 of us in 3 different rooms, they quickly got to know which rooms we all were in and helped us out immediately whenever we wanted anything, such as kayaks, bikes, etc. The rooms were beautiful and the grounds were immaculate. We loved hanging out on the dock and swimming in both the ocean and the pool. We also kayaked out to the reef to snorkel, and rented a hobie cat at the place next door. It was a nice walk or bike ride into town, and we also had fun renting a golf cart one day. It was lobster season, so we had lobster every day! Try the lobster papusas at Wagarusa in town. And the lobster bisque at the Blue Water Grill was amazing! Another must do is the Palapa Bar across the bridge on the other end of town. We also had a fabulous snorkel trip to Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley. The only downside was the mosquitoes. They sprayed every day around the grounds, but it really didn't seem to help much. However, the bugs were a small price to pay for our adventure in paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

This was my husband and I's second stay at Xanadu! We will be back every trip to Belize! Blanca, Ingrid, Orlando, france, and the rest of the staff are wonderful and make you feel at home! Easy to book directly with Blanca or Ingrid. Pool is beautiful, walks down the beach are wonderful, the pier is relaxing, and the view is gorgeous. They will book any activity you wish to do for you. They go above and beyond for customers!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mag2Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Our staff strive to make each guest feel at home and we are glad that you experienced this while you were here. Thank you for staying with us and for your very positive review. We are happy that you will return and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent one week at this lovely little resort from June 23 through July 2, 2013. We stayed in unit 17, which was spacious for our family of four with two teens. This unit is set back from the water front at the back, which allowed more privacy for us. However, any unit at this resort is close to the pool and the office, since they form a general circle around the pool and office. As indicated by most reviews, this resort has no restaurant or bar, which is a good thing since it makes this resort quiet and restful. The good news is that the nearest beach bar is a 5 min walk up the beach. Crazy Canucks is about 10 min and a new bar which was quite fun to enjoy the view is La Voile a little further north. The delicious Robin's Kitchen is just .4 mile south and a great burger place, Harry's is next to that. Two grocery stores are just around the corner. The units are fully stocked with cooking equipment so look for Fish Johnson or other fishermen selling the day's catch along the beach - grouper or snapper, you can buy from them and cook it up in your unit - you won't regret it as the fish was the freshest and best we have ever had! If you want to learn a bit about the island and grounds, go and find Orlando - he's the best! Thank you to Franz, Ingrid and Blanca for making arrangements for us for all of our activities. The only down side, which could not be helped anywhere on the island was the mosquitos. They were out en force! However, Xanadu does control them every morning, but do bring bug spray. Also, enjoy that boat dock and palapa, the mosquitos don't go out that way AND you can see moray eels, tropical fish, and rays right off the dock (and you can swim there too!). Thanks Xanadu for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenKuiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your great review. You are so right, there is nothing nicer than fresh fish straight from the ocean - cooked of course! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff. Unfortunately tropical islands are not bug free in the rainy season so we spray daily but as you mentioned, it is still important to use bug spray. Thank you for staying with us and we would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
388 reviews
5.3 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,413 reviews
5.9 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
507 reviews
10.1 km away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 55 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: ₹ 22,437 - ₹ 36,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing