We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,344)
Filter reviews
1,344 results
Traveller rating
1,197
120
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
120
17
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walkfull kitchenambergris cayegolf cartlil alphonsegrocery storeour honeymoonhermit crabscinnamon rollsfree bikesfishbedroom suitecave tubingstaff was extremely helpfulswimming areadinner reservationspalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 1,344 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Xanadau is a very nice place to stay in San Pedro. The location is in town, but at the quieter end, and of course, you are right on the beach. Xanadau has some nice amenities, including complimentary bike and kayak rentals. One of the best things about the resort is the service. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They did a great job at arranging our snorkeling trips and addressing our other needs. We also really liked that they were eco-conscious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wetland68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We are glad you feel that Xanadu is probably one of the nicest places in San Pedro - that is what we want to be. A tranquil, peaceful resort where everyone feels at home and enjoys the beauty of the island and has fun on the tours. Thank you for your positive review and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had an amazing 10 day trip to Belize at the end of June. After spending 4 days in San Ignacio, we stayed for 4 nights at Xanadu. Everything was great and the staff was so friendly and attentive! Even though there were 11 of us in 3 different rooms, they quickly got to know which rooms we all were in and helped us out immediately whenever we wanted anything, such as kayaks, bikes, etc. The rooms were beautiful and the grounds were immaculate. We loved hanging out on the dock and swimming in both the ocean and the pool. We also kayaked out to the reef to snorkel, and rented a hobie cat at the place next door. It was a nice walk or bike ride into town, and we also had fun renting a golf cart one day. It was lobster season, so we had lobster every day! Try the lobster papusas at Wagarusa in town. And the lobster bisque at the Blue Water Grill was amazing! Another must do is the Palapa Bar across the bridge on the other end of town. We also had a fabulous snorkel trip to Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley. The only downside was the mosquitoes. They sprayed every day around the grounds, but it really didn't seem to help much. However, the bugs were a small price to pay for our adventure in paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

This was my husband and I's second stay at Xanadu! We will be back every trip to Belize! Blanca, Ingrid, Orlando, france, and the rest of the staff are wonderful and make you feel at home! Easy to book directly with Blanca or Ingrid. Pool is beautiful, walks down the beach are wonderful, the pier is relaxing, and the view is gorgeous. They will book any activity you wish to do for you. They go above and beyond for customers!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mag2Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Our staff strive to make each guest feel at home and we are glad that you experienced this while you were here. Thank you for staying with us and for your very positive review. We are happy that you will return and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent one week at this lovely little resort from June 23 through July 2, 2013. We stayed in unit 17, which was spacious for our family of four with two teens. This unit is set back from the water front at the back, which allowed more privacy for us. However, any unit at this resort is close to the pool and the office, since they form a general circle around the pool and office. As indicated by most reviews, this resort has no restaurant or bar, which is a good thing since it makes this resort quiet and restful. The good news is that the nearest beach bar is a 5 min walk up the beach. Crazy Canucks is about 10 min and a new bar which was quite fun to enjoy the view is La Voile a little further north. The delicious Robin's Kitchen is just .4 mile south and a great burger place, Harry's is next to that. Two grocery stores are just around the corner. The units are fully stocked with cooking equipment so look for Fish Johnson or other fishermen selling the day's catch along the beach - grouper or snapper, you can buy from them and cook it up in your unit - you won't regret it as the fish was the freshest and best we have ever had! If you want to learn a bit about the island and grounds, go and find Orlando - he's the best! Thank you to Franz, Ingrid and Blanca for making arrangements for us for all of our activities. The only down side, which could not be helped anywhere on the island was the mosquitos. They were out en force! However, Xanadu does control them every morning, but do bring bug spray. Also, enjoy that boat dock and palapa, the mosquitos don't go out that way AND you can see moray eels, tropical fish, and rays right off the dock (and you can swim there too!). Thanks Xanadu for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenKuiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your great review. You are so right, there is nothing nicer than fresh fish straight from the ocean - cooked of course! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff. Unfortunately tropical islands are not bug free in the rainy season so we spray daily but as you mentioned, it is still important to use bug spray. Thank you for staying with us and we would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We did a Mother-Daughter 3 night getaway before heading to the interior and found Xanadu via Trip Advisor and so glad we did. Stayed in the honeymoon suite #2 (last unit left) and it has the best location being ocean front second floor. Room very clean with living room, eating area, kitchen, and full bath on main and bedroom loft and bath with shower via circular staircase up. Nice balcony area with table and 4 chairs and hammock. Views and breezes are incredible from this unit. Wonderful tropical setting with nice pool area and landscaping keeping the balance with nature. Staff here is the best ever so genuinely friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay perfect. We took their recommendation and did the tour pkg although they were more than willing to let us upgrade to the Blue Hole Snorkel all day tour instead of a half day tour. You must do the Blue Hole! Three different snorkel spots each very different and my Mom has snorkeled all over and said this was like everything else rolled into one spot with so many different fish all here. Xanadu only works with reputable tour companies and Lil Alfonse for Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley was the best guide ever! The Amigos Del Mar for the Blue Hole was also fantastic and a great large boat. Xanadu recommended Waraguma downtown for their lobster burritos-don't miss this place! Incredible local food. El Divino short walk S of Xanadu-the best ceviche ever and the medium size comes out on a platter-we had this twice it was so great! Elvies was ok recommended by one of the guides but not our favorite. Rent a golf car if staying is great way to get around we only did it for 8 hours our half day off the water and had a ball touring around- like $45. Free bikes here to tour around are great, too. Highly recommend Xanadu and will definitely come back here again. Thank you Franz, Orlando (especially for picking my Mom up off the ground when she fell off her bike parking it-split a gut laughing all of us) and Ingrid for all of your wonderful service and recommendations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful stay and thank you so much for your very positive review. Our staff and the tour operators we use strive to provide the best service possible. We hope to host you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews