We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Island, Perfect Resort, but Bring Bug Spray! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island, Perfect Resort, but Bring Bug Spray! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just stay at Xanadu. Once you go, you'll understand. Trust me, TRUST ME! It's perfect. Perfect pool, quiet, spotless rooms with everything you need. Perfect staff. But bring bug spray and DO NOT leave the doors to your suite open. Thank god for those fly swatters in the room though. I left the door open one night for about ten minutes and I think about 1000 mosquitos came in the room. It was kind of fun running around bashing them though. The dock is picture-esque, the water is heavenly, the surrounding restaurants are amazing (eat at Wild Mangos and Hidden Treasure FOR SURE). Go snorkeling, go on as many boat rides as you can because, I'm telling you, the warm wind in your face is paradise. You will never want to come home after coming to this beautiful place. Enjoy, and know that while you're there I'm sitting here extremely jealous. :)

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Honeymoon Loft Suite (#2) is where we stayed and it had a perfect view, but honestly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twostrawsyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
319
558
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Recently stayed at the Xanadu Island Resort in Ambergris Caye for a few nights. The staff was beyond helpful from the beginning. They were responsive, helpful and even made our airline reservations to the island for us. The accomodations were clean, very nice and comfortable. Every day they helped us with reservations, information and transportation. The resort isn't luxurious, however it was on the water, lush and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campbeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The staff at Xanadu was super nice and helpful. They greeted us with rum punch, and from that point on were always smiling and willing to help with anything. Our room was clean, quiet, and had great amenities. The swim area is small, but extremely peaceful, and nicer than how it appears in pictures. The staff helped us arrange great snorkeling and diving trips, even making local calls for us to arrange with separate companies (the only thing is-- the snorkel equipment is an additional fee from the activity, which we didn't know in advance-- the equipment is only free if you're using it at the hotel). The free bike rentals were great, as we took some rides into town during the day (it's about a 10 minute bike ride). The hotel is a great distance away from town-- close enough to walk (20 minutes), but far enough to avoid the noise and crowds. We'd recommend Xanadu any day!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at Xanadu for 3 nights and were happy with the helpful, friendly service. The accommodations were nice, but were not luxurious by any means. We stayed at two different 2BR suites. The first was very basic. Wicker furniture, comfortable beds, cold AC and working ceiling fans. The bathroom had no tub and was a little dorm style but was clean. Cable TV only worked in the big room. The last night, we were upgraded to a nicer 2BR which had a nicer view, better furniture and appliances. Not a big deal.

Xanadu provided 1 gallon of free drinking water, cups, plates, pots and pans, coffee and filters, sugar and tea. You will need to get your own oil though.

The pool was relaxing and was barely used. The staff was friendly from the welcome drink to the check out. They will provide transfers to and from the airport/water taxi. Just let the driver know and he will collect his fare from the office.

The activities office is a nice touch and will help you with fresh towels, locks for the free bikes, and any excursions you book. You can buy bottled drinks here. FYI, beer here is $4 BZE but you can buy it from the nearby markets for $3 BZE.

We booked the Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley snorkeling trip through them and highly recommend it! One of the highlights of the trip. You book it, they call and confirm your trip, you get vouchers which you will hand to the tour operators. Couldn't be any easier. After an initial charge for your room, you will be charged for any other services you order and any other trips you ask for upon check out. Very easy.

You are walking distance from town and we walked to nearby restaurants. We walked beachside to Wild Mango's for dinner and felt safe, even after dark. Walking on the streets is very warm, even at night, given the lack of breeze. You are on the southern part of San Pedro so you are slightly removed from the busyness of San Pedro.

You should bring lots of bug spray, or get some from the nearby markets. The eco-friendly environment is bug conducive, especially the dark covered area where the bikes are kept.

Overall, we had a nice stay here in this comfortable, friendly resort. Next time, we would probably opt to be a little closer to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Xanadu was a wonderful combination of jungle lodge environment and top notch service. The front desk arranged our flights from Belize City, found a six passenger golf cart for our group (upon our arrival, which was no small feat), and helped with SCUBA and restaurant reservations. San Pedro has a bustling ambience and Xanadu was a nice oasis of calm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank safetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.1 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
5.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.0 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,521 - ₹ 30,039
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing