We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
1,206
120
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
120
17
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature walk full kitchen ambergris caye golf cart lil alphonse grocery store our honeymoon hermit crabs cinnamon rolls free bikes fish bedroom suite staff was extremely helpful swimming area dinner reservations palm trees tropic air
Filter
Updating list...
940 - 945 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Xanadu resort was amazing. My husband & I went there for our honeymoon and had suite #3 (honeymoon suite). Staff was super helpful with planning our excursions and places to eat. The rooms were incredible; clean and comfortable! The grounds are kept beautifully and the pool was clean and relaxing! We absolutely LOVED Xanadu & would recommend it to anyone travelling to San Pedro.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meagan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Xanadu is the greatest! We could not have chosen a better place to stay on Ambergris Caye. The resort was obviously the best on the island and everything was perfect. We loved the view from our suite (room #10), the amenities, the staff, etc. We felt like we were in our own private home on the beach. This is not a hotel, but a private resort condo. We made use of all they offered including the free kayaks, bicycles, pool, and more. The only thing we did not use was the BBQ, which we had planned on but we found many great restaurants instead. Even though the resort was full during our visit, we often felt that we were the only 5 people staying here.

The view each day was incredible, the area is very quiet with a nice 20-30 minute walk to town. It is safe to walk anytime and we never felt unsafe or uncomfortable. We booked many snorkel trips through Xanadu and they each came to the dock at Xanadu and picked us up. It was a pleasure to walk about 100 yards from our room to the awaiting boat. After the tour, they returned us to the dock as well. Every tour they booked for us was exceptional and they do not mark up the prices.

There is a reason why Xanadu wins service awards all the time: the staff is amazing!
Jamal was super for helping to make all the arrangements and tours. Ingrid was also helpful with pre-planning trips and answering emails before we arrived. Orlando went out of his way to take care of us and even cut open fresh coconuts almost every day. Shelly did a fantastic job cleaning and was super friendly and fun. Andy, Isaiah, Brian, and the rest all add to the magic of Xanadu!

If you are thinking about coming to Belize, definitely stay at Xanadu. We have been to resorts all over the world and the tranquility and service of Xanadu make it one of the best all around. The price was extremely reasonable as well. We hope to return someday soon!

Here are some super places to eat: Wild Mangos, Blue Water Grill, Sunset Grill, the restaurant at Victoria House (they offer free transportation). We also liked the Lamanai tour (we chose to fly there) and all the various snorkel trips. Hol Chan, Shark Ray Alley, Mexico Rocks, and Coral Gardens are each unique and beautiful underwater worlds.

Room Tip: Room 10 is perfectly located on the beach. The patio is one of our favorite locations in the world!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PepeTravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

When we arrived at the San Pedro airport we were greeted by a taxi cab driver that said, "no worries" when we asked if he would take us to the resort at no cost to us. The resort picked up the the taxi fare. When we arrived at the resort we were welcomed by staff and a nice cold drink. A nice and very welcome touch. After the quick check in, we turned around to grab our bags only to find that they had already delivered to the room. We received a quick run down of the room and the resort. The staff at the Xanadu make the resort work. They are eager to answer your guests, book tours, offer advise but you don't see them unless you need them. They are great about giving their guests privacy. The grounds are amazing. You feel sheltered from the world. Take advantage of the free bikes and kayaks. We loved our housekeeper. Everything about the resort screams "no worries.".

Try Wild Mangoes for a great place to eat. If you are not catching a flight at the international airport, check out the flights to the municipal airport in Belize city. You can save money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kthomson707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu for 5 nights in April based on the reviews in Tripadvisor, and the reviews are spot-on. The grounds are lush and tranquil, the staff is always smiling and friendly and the room we stayed in was comfortable and spotless. There property is well-situated: there are several grocery stores nearby, and it took us about 30 minutes to walk into town. I really recommend taking a snorkeling trip through Alphonse--the front desk booked it for us, and it was a blast!

In all, Xanadu was the perfect place to unwind and experience our first trip to Belize.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ganga72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Xanadu Resort was a terrific place to stay. Right on the water and close enough to town but not to close. Can rent golf carts from a shop right next to the hotel. Pool was lovely and rooms are all thatched and very traditional in appearance. Small grocery store also right next door. Inside we had 2 bedrooms and full kitchen. Dive shops will pick you up on their wonderful pier--also a great place for a beer in the evening while you watch the sunset.

Room Tip: several of the rooms are ocean front
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HotPocket505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews