We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of Wedding Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Jenks, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A week of Wedding Bliss”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I chose Belizean Shores as the location for our destination wedding. From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely helpful. Since we were traveling with a big group, there was a miscommunication on which buildings we would be in. However, I credit this to staffing change that Sandy Points has recently gone through. Believe me when I say-the will go above and beyond to do ANYTHING they can to make your stay pleasant. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and can equipped with a full kitchen. The beds are very comfy too-I slept better there than at home. Lastly, since the resort is roughly 3 miles from San Pedro, it is extremely peaceful and laid back.

Tuff E Nuff has a water taxi that has scheduled runs and will take you to and from San Pedro. They sell a 5 day pass for $25 US, and believe me it will come in handy. We did rent a golf cart (which is the only means of motorized transportation on the island) but rarley used it. The drive into town on the golf cart is on a dirt road that is very rough. The drive takes about 30 minutes and you have to pay $5 US to cross the bridge. So, my advise is to rent a golf cart for a couple of hours or the day but you will not use it enough in a weeks time to get your money's worth.

The resort did an amazing job setting up my wedding to make my day stress free. Margie and Melody were the most helpful in coordinating exactly what I wanted. The staff at Belizean Shores and Sandy Points Resort really came together and made my ceremony and reception beautiful. And to top it all off, the food we incredible. My wedding went off without a hitch!

The employees at Tuff E Nuff were also very accomodating. We did the Xunantunich Mayan Ruins tour along with Ziplining and Cave Tubing. One small warning for this trip...you will spend 4-6 hours (depending on your travel choices) just getting to and from the Mayan Ruins. Nonetheless, this is so worth it. Our driver William and his brother drove us through Belize and gave us a history lesson on Belize. I was so surprised as to how much the know of their country. Our tour guide Eder at Xunantunich was also wonderful. He lives in the village not far from the Mayan site and knows EVERYTHING there is to know about Xunantunich. Our group split and half did cave tubing and the other's ziplined. I did the ziplining...and it was great. We found out they are working on a new run that will be 1200 feet and go over the river. Definately a must see. However, those that cave tubbed love it. The only downside is when the river is low, you tend to drag the bottom quite a bit.
If you do nothing else, make sure you to do a trip on the catamaran with William and Luis. We did a full day of reef fishing, snorkeling, and beach BBQ. I have never had such a great meal. They cooked the fish we caught that day, along with ceviche and potatoes. Not to mention all the Belikin beer and rum punch you can drink.

The spa services were great too. If nothing else, get a one hour Belizean Massage. They will set it up on the beach, in your room, or on your balcony. It is $50 US and worth every penny. I don't know if it was the ocean sounds or the breeze-but this was the best massage I every had.

Important Info:
1. If you plan on traveling to San Pedro by Water taxi, a cab from Belize International Airport to the Water Taxi (I recommend San Pedro Belize Express) is $30 US. The cabs do not have air conditioning and the drivers literally drive like a bat out of hell.
2. Buy booze in duty free when you arrive at Belize International Airport. You are allotted 4 bottles per person, and it is dirt cheap. DON'T BRING BOOZE FROM HOME-IT IS NOT WORTH THE TRAVEL!!!
3. If you take the water taxi - use a life jacket as a butt cushion (you will need it). Also, there is not bathroom on the water taxi's - so PB4U Go.
4. Read the signs when you use the restrooms in San Pedro. Alot of restaurants, stores, etc., ask you not to throw your toliet paper in the toliet due to the island water supply.
5. Speaking of water, drink bottled water while on the island.
6. Grocery Stores (this is when the golf cart comes in handy) are located in San Pedro. There are some larger stores that offer a huge selection; however, you really do not need to go all the way into San Pedro for groceries. We found a small mini-mart about 1 mile south. They sold produce, eggs, meats, cheese, soda, water, and of course beer.
7. Every morning a guy comes around the resort at about 8am with homemade breakfast burritos and tamales. They cost roughly $4 US an the are fresh (made daily) and are very tasty. But, so is the breakfast at the resort, so you really cannot go wrong.
8. US currency is accepted EVERYWHERE. Be prepared to receive your change in Belize Currency. No worries, Belize money is exactly half of US currency. i.e. $5 US is $10 BZ.
9. Some good restaurants to hit are the resort restaurant, O at Las Terrazas (next to Belizean Shores). In San Pedro, Elvi's Kitchen, Wild Mango, and Waraguma. Also, the street vendors have awesome food too and it's dirt cheap.
10. Fido's is located just north of the clock tower. It's a cool bar with live music most night, we had a lot of fun there.

I am so glad we chose Belizean Shores for our Wedding and vacation. Everyone had a wonderful time. Although you may find resorts and hotels that "look" nicer than Belizean Shores, they really will not compare. And to be honest, the pictures of the resort do not do it justice. The resort is more beautiful than what a picture can show. My husband and I plan on coming back to Ambergris for our one year anniversary and would not stay anywhere else on the entire island!!

Room Tip: Building #1 and #12 face the ocean. Building #2 and #11 are directly behind and sit on an angle but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsChristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    264
    51
    10
    3
See reviews for
207
388
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Belizean Shores as part of the Surf and Turf package offered by Green Dragon Adventures. In some respects, the resort exceeded our expectations. The size of the unit was great and the pool and swim up bar were fantastic. The people were friendly and accommodating. There were only two issues that warrant mentioning. The water pressure in the shower was extremely weak. We had to resort to rinsing off at the pool side shower because the unit pressure was simply too low. The other issue was with the resort restaurant. My husband became somewhat ill after eating dinner there so we chose to have our remaining lunch and dinner about town. In addition, the service at the resort restaurant was friendly but quite slow. All in all, we had a nice stay at Belizean Shores. It wasn't perfect but very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Belizean Shores is a collection of 1 bedroom villas right on the water. The staff greets you on the dock with a drink and a warm welcome. Getting there from the airport is a mixture of short flights, taxis and short boat ride (or you could do ferries the whole way which I would not recommend, but getting there is all part of the adventure. The rooms have beautiful views - furniture is a bit dated, but still nice. The real star of the resort is the best designed pool I have seen anywhere - truly beautiful and fun for all ages. You can do tours right from the dock of the resort. A great variety of unique restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa closest to the ocean for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Belizean Shores in early April (during our Spring Break), and we were surprised how quiet the resort was. We didn't have to fight for pool chairs, and the place generally speaking felt very quiet. Not sure if it was the particular week we went (week before Easter, which I imagine is the Spring Break for many schools), but it felt quiet and a bit isolated.

There were only a couple of restaurants within walking distance (we really liked Capricorn's stuffed grouper (the house specialty)). Otherwise, you'd likely need to take a water taxi or golf court to San Pedro to eat.

So if peace and quiet is the atmosphere you're looking for, then this may be the place for you. We really enjoyed the pool, swim up pool bar, and the air conditioned rooms. Our room was an "upper level" room, so if you have kids staying with you, I would recommend an upper level room since there's a loft on top where the kids could sleep (they liked having their own space up there).

The water taxi into San Pedro was $10/pp round trip (or $25/pp for unlimited trips for 5 days), which discouraged us from going there too much. Instead, we rented a golf cart, which for a family of 4, is comparable to the water taxi (for a 2-4 hour rental) but gave us a bit more flexibility. The kids (ages 12 and 10) also enjoyed driving the cart.

Overall, had a wonderful stay there, and would recommend it for those seeking quiet isolation. For those families looking for some excitement and wide choice of restaurants, I would recommend choosing a resort closer to town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank califlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were at the Belizian Shores for three nights last week with our children, 13 and 9. It was a delightful spot overall- clean, comfortable, great value for the money, quite and nice large pool, good food, a cheerful staff, and very nice guests. Marianne the General Manager in particular went well out of her way to welcome us and to arrange a special early morning departure. We stayed at 4 hotels during our trip and the Belizian Shores was our favorite. Our kids enjoyed the company of other children who were guests and my husband and I had time to ourselves as well. The service is slower than in the USA but that is part of the charm of Belize as a country. We also enjoyed walking down the beach in both directions to other nice restaurants at night with flashlights in our hand. The hotel also offers boat taxi's to/from the hotel. We happen to take a cab because our water taxi had problems...and the 15 minute cab ride was quite dusty and bumpy which had us wondering if we had made the right decision but from the moment we arrived, things were perfect. We liked being ten minutes north of San Pedro as the town is quite congested with little space. This hotel location was ideal. Overall, we enjoyed our stay immensely, and if we were to return to Belize, this would be included in our plans.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
7.1 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
2.0 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,328 reviews
1.4 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
6.1 km away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,142 - ₹ 21,447
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing