We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really the beach but really nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Whittier, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not really the beach but really nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I read just about all the previous postings so I felt prepared for this place when I booked my reservations. My overall expierence was very positive. The staff was great, especially Ingrid. The location was removed far enough from town to be quiet at night. No surprise on the lack of a "real" beach. Seagrass everywhere and yes there is a seawall right in front of the hotel. A few short steps to the left or right takes you to the water. The pools are small but refreshing. The beds could use replacing but were comfortable enough. The room was clean. Restaurant is fantastic.

I was surprised by the cost of food and drink. Not the expected Latin American rates. I did not care much for the beer and lack of diversity in beers. It seems that Belikin is the only game in town (yes, there is Hienekin and Red Stripe). Found a nice Lebanese restaurant on the second street from the waterfront. For a fun day try La Palapa.

Snorkling with Lil' Alphonse was great. He gave a very detailed safety brief prior to letting us into the water. He really seemed to for the sea creatures. Don't miss this!

Overall a very nice vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsandoval562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    145
    86
    26
    18
See reviews for
71
163
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Banana Beach Resort for our first ever trip to San Pedro, Belize. We were not disappointed in anything. All of the staff was friendly and very helpful and the food is outstanding. The best shrimp ceviche on the entire island is found at Banana Beach Resort at the attached restaurant, El Devino, this is not only my opinion but alot of the locals also. Gordon and I would not hesitate on staying at Banana Beach Resort in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was in Belize end of May, and this was a fine choice for a hotel. The beach is not great for swimming, and the location is a bit of a walk from town (about 30 minutes by foot), but generally the place is a good value. The attached restaurant has pretty good breakfasts, but dinner in many places in town is much better, and a better value. Caveats: the third floor has paltry water pressure; leave the air conditioner on all the time because it takes too long to cool down a warm room. Though suites with kitchenette are available, we stayed in a standard room.
Monkey Business tours is located on property, and they provide nice, interesting tours of the island for a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosenzwerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I took my sister to Ambergris Caye on a dive trip for her birthday. Based on recent Internet reviews (and message board posts going way back) we booked our stay at Banana Beach resort. Other criteria that helped this decision were the price ($85 per night with the fourth night free), the location (close to town but not too close) and having a tour arranger on property as this was a last minute trip and we didn't want to waste time.

The property is clearly older but it is still a nice and clean place to stay. We got a small room with twin beds (no kitchen), a small refrigerator, a desk and a safe. There was a small closet to hang clothes and a three-drawer stand to put folded clothes. It also had a small balcony with a table and two chairs. The bathroom had a shower, sink and a standing shelf to hold your stuff.

We used the safe quite extensively (as we do wherever we go) but we never noticed any security issues. All in all, the room was perfectly adequate for our needs (which were primarily a place to sleep and hold our stuff while we were out).

There are two pools on the property. One is smaller just outside the reception area and the other, larger, pool is in a courtyard surrounded by rooms. We never used either but they seemed nice. The second pool is connected by a breezeway to the beach area where they have lounge chairs and a hammock (only one!)

They have a bar setup in that breezeway and that's where we spent a lot of our down time. They have chairs and tables setup and it's very comfortable because you are in the shade with a lot of wind blowing through and Belicans nearby!

The beach area was alright. Pretty typical, I guess, for that part of Ambergris Caye. It's nice to sit out there and enjoy the breeze, water and sun but it's not a swimming beach like you'd see in Cancun or the Grand Caymen. The beaches and the water, I think, are nicer, the further north you go (especially if you go past the cut) but the tradeoff is convenience to San Pedro for eating and shopping. Banana Beach is a five dollar (US)/five minute taxi ride to town.

Booking tours/excursions was easy at the Monkey Business shop on premises. While it might be a little bit cheaper to research dive shops or tour companies and book directly, it certainly was more convenient to book through the shop! Plus, if one tour company is full the staff can call around to find someone that is willing to take you. We also purchased water (reasonably sized, too) from this shop for $1 a bottle.

The restaurant on site (El Divino) was good! We ate all our breakfasts there as well as a couple of lunches and the food was tasty. There were also willing to improvise on the menu to adjust for my picky tastes.

The staff is the shining jewel of this place. They are all amazingly friendly and it seems that the same people have been there for years. Everyone was super helpful from the Jessica at the front desk who helped adjust our Tropic Air reservations, to the girls at Monkey Business who arranged our dives to Ingrid our very hard working bartender.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again, especially considering the price and helpfulness of the staff. My review is four stars but, more specifically, the property gets 3 stars because of its age and the staff easily gets 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scratch_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake alfred, fl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Banana beach was a perfect escape from your everyday. Two pools, clean rooms, great turquoise ocean views, onsite great restaurant, massages and tour directors...the staff was beyond helpful and accommodating! Would (will) recommend to all our friends! We planned a very last minute vacation and they did not disappoint once! A semi short walk along the beach to the downtown area, a short walk along the road to a grocery type store...Now you're set!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dna4ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
16.8 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.8 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.0 km away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,547 - ₹ 9,983
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing