We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
87
11
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
11
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum punch first floor golf cart make arrangements private pool bedroom condo bumpy road shallow water come home comforts of home the entire trip south of san pedro we loved our stay in town sea grass pools tours
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Cameron and Stephanie, the rental managers were great. Hol Chan Reef Resort is a great place if you want to be away from the crowded area of San Pedro, want to relax and aren't too interested in having a nice beach. Be aware that the condo is advertised as being oceanfront-not beachfront. The water is crystal clear but the sand-looking bottom is very, very soft and you sink up to your ankles when walking in the water. Also there is a lot of sea grass. We thought that we would be able to either swim in the pool or the ocean for exercise however the pools are too small and you would have to swim beyond the end of the docks because of how far the shallow water goes out.
The condo is about 31/2 miles outside of San Pedro so its nice and quiet but the road to get there is not paved for the majority of the way and when it rained the road was one pot hole after another.
We were somewhat surprised to find that we were expected to purchase water for drinking and cooking after the first bottle of water that was provided to us.

Room Tip: Very nice rooms
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diverroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the quiet, relaxed atmosphere of the resort and agree that it's nice to be removed from the "hustle and bustle" of the town center. Most of our guests are very fond of our beach area, which features very nice cushioned beach loungers and custom palapas for relaxing in the shade. Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas is an oceanfront, beachfront complex. In fact, one would be hard pressed to come by another complex more oceanfront and beachfront than ours!

Most of our guests do research and are aware before they arrive that, because of the barrier reef off Ambergris Caye, our beaches do have seagrass that also prevents packed sand in the water. For most guests, this is an easy trade-off, as the reef and seagrass also bring some of the most amazing sea life most divers will ever have the opportunity to experience!

Our pools are not lap pools, and they are not advertised as such. However, most guests find them to be more than ample in size. In fact, guests often comment on how large they are, and we've also had multiple guests swim laps in them.

You'll be pleased to hear that, since your visit, we've begun offering endless complimentary drinking water to our guests. We're surprised to hear that you were not aware that there was a (small) cost for supplemental 5-gallon drinking water jugs at the time of your stay, as this was clearly documented in the welcome email that you received after booking with us. When you let us know that you were unaware of this cost, we gave you two additional 5-gallon drinking water jugs free of charge.

While we agree that the unpaved portion of the road can be unpleasant at times, the majority of the road from our resort to town (2 miles) is paved. We're sure that the bumpy conditions of the unpaved portion of the road were not a surprise to you, as this is also clearly documented and communicated to all guests. Luckily, the unseasonal rains you experienced have passed and the town has graded the road. It is maintained whenever the road is dry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo with two couples for 5 nights. The condo had everything that we could possibly need. The building was peaceful and clean. It is a little far from town on an unpaved bumpy road but that is part of the adventure. We felt very safe and had no problems booking a golf cart or flights or tours from the concierge

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us just as much as we enjoyed meeting your wonderful group! It was such a pleasure to have you all here for your stay. Thank you so much for your feedback, and we'd love to have you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Beautifully constructed, I enjoyed the location as well. There is a dock just outside the resort where all the water excursions pick you up, which is great after a long day on the water. Just a little outside town, would recommend renting a golf cart to get to and from town. Richard, the concierge went above and beyond to ensure it was a perfect vacation for us, he has such a happy personality we were always smiling and laughing with him. He was honest about the excursions, some weren't as much fun as we had been led to believe from what we read online so he ensured we went on excursions that we would enjoy. He was also very helpful on selecting restaurants that would give us the best taste of the local flavor. Grounds/beach were very well kept.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are so happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay here at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas. It was our pleasure to host you, and we hope to be able to do so again in the near future! Thanks for being such amazing guests, and please keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We had an excellent time. The condo was very spacious and clean. The views were incredible and we liked that when we went on a tour, we were picked up right on our dock.The swimming pools were a delight and we would swim in the evenings. It was very peaceful and we would stay there again without any hesitation. We went on many tours and it was always fun to come home to such a beautiful residence.

Room Tip: These following are suggestions not complaints. 1. Jacuzzi was never hot. Possibly this can be fixed. 2. Paddleboards were great but they had no paddles. Impossible to use the paddleboards correctly. 3. Kitchen should have broiler pan in oven and cookie sheets. 4. We loved it that there was laundry soap for the washer. Great help!!!!!!! 5. Fantastic being greeted at the condo then given a walk through. Extremely kind. Also I LOVED the rum drink. The pitcher was very much welcomed. Thank you for everything. Andrea We would love to come again.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank andreacA8544BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed meeting you and your family! Your group was such a pleasure to host, and we look forward to having you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We loved our stay at Hol Chan Reef Resorts & Villas. We loved that we were far enough south of San Pedro to enjoy some peaceful solitude, yet close enough to golf cart ride in to the city and enjoy what San Pedro has to offer. The rooms were beautifully decorated, and well maintained. We enjoyed everything about our experience. Highly recommend this stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews