We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
$150
View deal
Booking.com
$157
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Etrip
$141
View deal
Expedia.com$173
Hotels.com$173
Priceline$171
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
448
149
41
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
448
149
41
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews owner's suite full kitchen ambergris caye within walking distance fresh fruit golf cart palapa bar in town every morning perfect location jacuzzi tub private balcony snorkeling trip rooms are large ocean view boutique hotel office staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2022

I loved the Blue Tang Inn, it was small & quaint. The people that work there are very happy to help you with anything that you need to make your stay more enjoyable. It was very convenient to stores & restaurants. We had a hiccup in traveling there, our 1st flight of the day was cancelled, but Emilse, was very helpful in arranging new flights with Tropic Air for the next day. Lionel & Giovanni (hope I spelled it right) made sure that everything was properly working & clean. They were very entertaining as they caught iguanas. Marlon is very knowledgeable in all things to do with the island. Fanny the manager & Elizabeth made you feel very welcome! All in all everyone was very friendly & helpful. I would highly recommend staying with them. We will definitely stay @ the Blue Tang again!!!

Room tip: Rm # 9 had the best view!
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolbX3447HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Our staff is happy to hear you appreciated their exceptional customer service making your stay enjoyable. We are glad you got to know them. Thanld for sharing your positive experience at Blue Tang Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2022

We recently stayed in Room 5 at Blue Tang Inn. This room is on the second floor overlooking the pool and ocean. This hotel is located right in the heart of town so very convenient. We really enjoyed the Palapa bar and live music daily which is a short walk down the dock. The Sandbar restaurant next door has great pizza! The staff at the hotel were so nice and the grounds and hotel rooms are kept spotless. The pool was perfect! We loved our stay at Blue Tang Inn! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank 473kathyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Wonderful review of your experience at Blue Tang Inn! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2022 via mobile

PRO’s: Beautiful beachfront setting on Ambergris Caye; perfect short walking distance (5 - 10 minutes) to restaurants, cafes, grocery store, and dive centers. Friendly staff. Great breakfasts. Room was comfortable and neat, with older stylings, and good for preparing meals in as well (fridge, stove, table, etc.)

CON’s: construction noise for hours (starting around 8:00 AM) right next to my room. Hotel did not offer to comp it in any way and merely left me a note saying they they were undergoing necessary maintenance. The WiFi was fine but the noise made it very difficult to work and handle phone calls and meetings. This is likely a temporary issue and probably will not impact most people who book with Blue Tang Inn.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience at Blue Tang Inn. We are sorry our maintenance during the day was bothersome and can understand. We try to do maintenance during the day when guests are out of their room enjoying activities. And when brought to our attention that its a bother, we will do our best to move guests to another room if available. We are glad you did enjoy the hotel amenities, friendly staff and convenient location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2022

Stayed at the Blue Tang Inn for a week. The room and property were very clean and kept that way constantly while we were there. The ladies in the office (Fanny, Emilse and Lizbeth) were always very helpful and super friendly. We had a small issue with our room and everybody came up to figure it out. They did everything they could to help us out. The guys (Geovanni and Leonel) wore me out just watching them, they were working constantly! The email communication before our trip was really good and timely, unlike a lot of places in different countries. The staff spoke pretty good English if that's your language. Not sure what other languages they speak but I'm betting several. The pool wasn't too big but it was clean and seemingly not used by very many people, which was nice. The beach area had several chairs and again not used by very many people but we loved them. The free breakfast was just an added plus since I didn't know it came with that. The location is unbelievable and is close to almost anything you need. The Palapa Bar is super close and is a great place to hang out. Sunset on the upper deck is also really nice. They also arrange free airport and water taxi pick up and return and are very prompt. I would definitely recommend this place and will be back on my next trip.

Room tip: No elevator in case you need one. Ask for low floor.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmacinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Thank you for sharing this detailed review of your stay at Blue Tang Inn. We are happy you experienced great customer service from our staff and enjoyed the location and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2022

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Tang Hotel for seven nights in early April. Overall, I would give the hotel high marks. The room was clean and spacious, and the entire property was always very clean. Every morning a crew washed, swept, and mopped all the main public areas, which was very nice. The "beach" area was also well maintained, though there was no beach down to the water; there was a 4' sea wall to the water.
Note that on San Pedro, because of the barrier reef (the world's second-largest) there are no natural beaches on the east side of the island where one can walk in the surf and sand and search for seashells. So basically, none of the hotels (that I was aware of) on the east side of the island have a real beach out front...
Our room (#14) was very spacious and comfortable. The queen bed was also comfortable. The air conditioning unit worked well and was easy to adjust. The kitchen has a full-sized refrigerator, a four-burner cooktop and oven, and all the appliances one would expect in any kitchen back home. There is a small closet with hangers, as well as a safe that one can program. The bathroom is spacious and had a jacuzzi tub (which we did not use--we just used the shower.) There was ample hot water and good water pressure, but like in many homes, it took a couple of minutes for the water to get hot.
The property all seemed very safe. The door handle and lock are controlled by a physical key (not a magnetic card) and the hardware was very beefy. There was also a security guard who roamed around the property at night.
One thing to be aware of regarding nights at the Blue Tang: the exterior lighting is very dim. While there are lights for the stairs, they are very dim. The positive side to this is that it makes it much easier to see the stars. And speaking of stars, there is a deck on the fourth level above the whole hotel. If you want a nice, high, and private deck for stargazing, this is the place to go! Note that while there were lighting fixtures for the stairs up to the deck, they were never on. Again, if the lights were on, it would have made it harder to see the stars.
We also noted that the two hall lights outside our room (#14) were out, which made our doorway rather dark at night. We later realized that this was actually a blessing, as each light is positioned directly over the two windows of the bed area, and we would have had lights through the windows all night as we tried to sleep.
Speaking of windows, if you want an ocean view in your room, you need to ask for either room 5, 9, 10 or 15. These were the only rooms that I saw that had windows that faced the ocean with an unobstructed (except for palm trees) view. These rooms are on the second and third floors.
In keeping with the window theme, a potential area for improvement would be the window drapes. The drapes allow privacy, but they are light and opaque, and the early morning sun streams through them. It would be nice to have blackout drapes so one can sleep in.
Note that there is no elevator at this hotel. If you have problems climbing stairs, you need to make sure to ask for a ground-floor room.
The hotel does have a laundry service which we used mid-week. It was $15 US for one load, and our laundry was nicely folded and returned later the same day.
The included breakfasts are nice. They changed the entree each morning: fried jacks (a large tortilla with meat that is pan-fried and very tasty,) meat pies, pocket pitas (not the correct name,) and pancakes. The breakfast each day also included fresh fruit (bananas, papaya, watermelon, and pineapple.) Orange juice, coffee, and hot water for tea are also included.
The hotel has free wireless internet, be we found it to be hit and miss. We brought this to the attention of the office staff, and they were genuinely interested in helping to get it up again, and they would ask how it was as we interacted with them over the week. It did work most of the week, but it would frequently drop out. There are two internet cafes within walking distance if you require robust internet service.
And speaking of walking distance... This hotel is well-placed in geographically. There are two grocery stores within about 100 yards of the hotel. Most of the restaurants, tour operators, and a bank are also within a ten to fifteen-minute walk, either via the beach or on Front Street. My wife and I are in our low 60s, and we were comfortable walking all over town, both day and night. We initially thought we might want to rent a golf cart (around $25 - $35/day) but we enjoyed walking for the entire week.
The pool area was clean and the water was clear. As mentioned above, they clean the pool area and vacuum the pool every morning. While we didn't use the pool, we spent our mornings enjoying the patio area. We were also visited by a large iguana walking on the tile border railing one morning.
In conclusion, we would definitely return to the Blue Tang Hotel.

P.S. We were loaned a golf cart one day to go visit Secret Beach on the west side of the island way north of us. It was a bone-jarring hour-long drive, but it was a nice beach area with lots of loud music and lots of drinking. We did enjoy a drink at a swim bar, where we watched the first part of the sunset. If you want to watch a great sunset, go to one of the several restaurants at Secret Beach. As a side note, I returned the golf cart with a flat tire. As I wrote, it was a bone-jarring drive, and we passed many construction sites, where I most likely picked up a nail or screw.

Room tip: Rooms 5, 9, 10, and 15 have ocean views. There is no elevator to any of these rooms.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kristin Fisher, Marketing at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2022

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Blue Tang Inn. Your detail and explanation are helpful for other guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews