We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights and would recommend this hotel. This is an older property and is although it is showing its age around the edges in places , the rooms are clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again - it's friendly, clean, and a bargain.

Pluses: Quote lovely grounds and beach - beautiful & lush green tree-filled grounds; The staff are very friendly and helpful and will arrange whatever you like, including wonderful snorkeling trips; Rooms are comfortable and have a/c; Nice, quiet area of town away from all the San Pedro tourist craziness and the airport; Use of free bikes to bike up & down the island makes everything easier and fun.

Minuses: Our bathroom was tiny - OK for two, but would be hard for an active family; No wi-fi in rooms, just office (even though it was advertised as having it); Airport pickup didn't go totally smoothly - you may have to call to remind them to pick you up at the airport - they forgot us, although being that they were only five minutes from airstrip away this was easily remedied.

Overall, this is a good bargain. Not a super-fancy resort hotel, but relaxed and a great location with a pretty beach.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are better - breezier and not right on the pool area with people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    256
    65
    22
    10
See reviews for
150
371
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for 3 days with a friend and my daughter. We chose CV because of the price, location, and amenities. Also read other reviews. They were pretty much spot on. Free transportation to and from the water taxi was a plus. We had suite #7. Great spot. Beds were a bit hard but we were so tired at the end of the day it wasn't a big deal. Bought our own food for breakfast and they offered free coffee. Snorkled off the pier (watch the algae on the steps!) and it was a lot of fun. It's a nice quiet place but not too far a walk from San Pedro Town. Enjoyed our stay very much. NIce lunch at Rico's (at Banyan Bay Resort). Good dinner at Il Divino (at Banana Beach Resort). Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYRaceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at the CV for a week in February. CV is older, but it's well maintained and clean. I believe our room was the smallest, but it was very inexpensive, which is why we chose to stay there. We had a private patio and it looked right out to the beach. I don't think you could go wrong with any room. Gail at the front desk was wonderful and a sweetheart. We really enjoyed working with her as she scheduled our tours. We enjoyed snorkeling, cave tubing, the Belize Zoo, and an ATV ride to Rocky Point. CV has bikes to use for free- an added bonus, believe me! CV built a kitchen last fall and offer breakfast and lunch every day, which we thought was at a reasonable price. They also offer meals on Saturday and Wednesday nights (I think). Ask Tony to make you an iced coffee in the morning. It's WONDERFUL and addicting!!!! Past reviews pointed out that the beach is cleaned daily, which wasn't the case during our stay. This is one area managment could work on. Toward the end of our stay, someone was out there each day, all day, but it was a lost cause. They were so behind, I don't think they'll ever catch up. I actually felt sorry for the men who were there to pick up the sea grass. If there would have been an extra wheel barrow and pitch fork, I would have gone out to help. There are MANY hotels located on the beach to choose from, (we noticed only a few along the way who's beach was actually cleaned every morning) and having a clean prestine beach would be one way for CV to rise above the rest. They should also consider adding more lighting at night. It was very dark around there. This is a comment about Belize in general and not about CV. We found tipping to be very confusing. We're good tippers, but read a lot of literature prior to the trip, that it's not necessary, it's included in the price. We're not so sure this was true. Comments about tipping were mentioned on some menus in restaurants, but in other areas, it's not clear. Our bills would sometimes state a service fee, which made us wonder if that was a tip???? We even had a gentleman who worked at the Delta counter at the Belize City airport ask us for a tip. Really?? He lifted the luggage to the scale- that's it. And to ask for one?? Despite this, we had a wonderful vacation. It was our first time in the country and it won't be our last. CV was a very nice hotel and we'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilesCanDo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was my second time to Caribbean Villas. There are many things I love about this property. The location is just south of town, close enough to walk, but far enough away to be quiet. The rooms with the lofts, great for families. Free use of bicycles. THE VIEW! The beach is one of the best. Friendly staff.
The one thing that drove me crazy with this hotel is the booking process. You have too fill out a form with all your information, including credit card information. It was a complete pain.
But i will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms with the lofts are all located on the 2nd floor and have the best views. the one bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at Caribbean Villas for three nights and had a very pleasant stay. Transportation to and from the dock/airport was included, and while the hotel knew of our plans, we did need to ask the person at the office of the water taxi to call the hotel for us to be picked up. No big deal - just something to be aware of (though this may be attributable to the driver getting stuck in traffic behind a political campaign parade). The location was perfect - within walking distance of the town (about 15 minutes on foot, under 10 by bike), and removed enough to be in a nice, quiet area, secluded from the main road by a windy dirt path though the trees. Bike rentals were free from the hotel - a huge plus.

We originally booked the simplest type of room that they had available and were surprised to be upgraded on check in to a 6 person apartment with a full kitchen and private beach-view balcony. Though we didn't need the space, having a kitchen was a pleasant surprise.

The staff were very friendly, accommodating, and accessible. The woman at the front desk was happy to help us book dinner reservations (in this case, for Hidden Treasure, which sends a car/golf cart to pick you up) and tours (we took the snorkeling tour at Hol Chan, including the shark and ray alley). It was very convenient that the boat for the snorkel tour picked us up at the end of the hotel pier.

I would definitely return to Caribbean Villas - thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,028 reviews
16.2 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
2.5 km away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
2.4 km away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
341 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Property: Caribbean Villas Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,231 - ₹ 12,657
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing