We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$191
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$184
View deal
Hotels.com
$184
View deal
Priceline$191
Travelocity$184
Trip.com$184
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,833)
Filter reviews
1,833 results
Traveller rating
1,202
414
126
57
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,202
414
126
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple dive shop purple parrot dive staff dive master ambergris caye golf cart blue hole thatched roof beachfront room in town great diving fish dive sites restaurant staff dive trip every morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,833 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2022

When we were making our reservation, I was a little skeptical with the "jungle" atmosphere. Was I ever wrong! Walking thru the property was so peaceful and filled with beautiful plants. The staff was very accommodating and the property even offered COVID testing at the same rate as the airport which was very convenient. The location was great - walking distance to many restaurants and shopping opportunities. The staff worked really hard on making sure that the property was well maintained and clean. We felt very welcomed and at home....we will be back!

Room tip: Rooms closer to the beach - beautiful views and quieter
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank buffihendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ramon's Village Resort, Other at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2022

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Ramon's Village! We love for our guest to feel welcomed when they arrive and feel like family when they leave! We can't wait to have you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2022

Since 2006, we have been bringing groups of divers here. Things seem to have changed.

Our number one reason for travel is for scuba diving. The diving is just so-so, with the exception of the Nurse Shark interaction. The reef lacks color and fish. We did a one day trip to Turneffe Atoll, which was nice diving, so we will look in that area for future Belize trips.

The resort reminds us of Jurassic Park, which is tropical and lush and everyone enjoyed themselves, but our customers did express a lot of disappointment in the diving, and the dive staff.

This is the only time the Divemaster was last in the water and first out on many of the dives. They should be in the water to help the divers. Our group had many very experienced divers and the dives were almost always called at 40 minutes... incredibly disappointing, even when we expressed to them we wanted longer bottom time.

Honestly, it really felt like the dive staff just wanted to get their jobs done as quickly as possible and get home. Many of the divers chose not to tip due to the issues. We visited the resort over a holiday (Easter Sunday), which was also disappointing, since the town was pretty much closed down and we were denied a 3rd dive option on that day, which was not disclosed up front.

Care needs to be paid attention to the soap used on the boat for the scuba masks, as it creates a slippery environment and several people in our group slipped, one being injured pretty good, which required medical supplies, not available on the boat or resort. I appreciate them having "defog" for people, but I think customers should just bring their own products, that don't kill the fish, like many of the soaps do,

The night dive in the Marine Park was nice, lots of Spotted Eagle Rays, current at the end was not so desirable, but not in their control either.

On the last day the dive staff recommended the Marine Park and Shark & Ray Alley. This was very disappointing as well. We paid extra for the dives and we all felt it was a waste of time and money, especially the Shark & Ray Alley, which is a snorkel event. Literally they throw small bits of fish in the water while about 8 nurse sharks came over and ate. I couldn't believe they actually promoted that to us and talked it up. Many divers said they thought the staff just didn't want to get into the water.

The food is good, but unless you write them ahead of time, diet restrictions are not welcomed, and they made me feel like I was just the biggest pain in the butt with my allergy issues, which were sent ahead of time, but the information didn't get passed on, so it took a couple of days to get things the way I could eat them.

Our first room smelled like raw sewage on and off, so they moved us to another room on the opposite side of the resort, which did not smell, and we were much happier with. Unfortunately this took 3 days, and they don't seem to be able to find what the issue is. They tried telling us it was stinky seaweed smell, but there is no way, it actually woke me in the middle of the night one night because it was so strong.

The staff is generally nice, many of them have been there long term, like so many other resorts. There was one staff member at the dive resort that particularly rubbed us the wrong way, Carlos, just rude and sags his pants, so constantly bending over with his boxers on full display. We had an issue while we were under water with the groups personal items being thrown around, including 2 pairs of prescription sun glasses... we are not sure which staff member did it, but it was incredibly rude, inconsiderate and many customers were upset.

If you are looking to sit on the beach, the loungers were nice and the resort wasn't too crowded.

COVID testing is available at the resort, but it is a little pricey compared to other resorts. Most resorts charged about $20, this one charged $65 per person for Rapid, and $220 for PCR. We felt they were taking advantage of the situation.

Room tip: Sewage issue was on the North East side of the resort.
Date of stay: April 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FisheyeScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

All the staff was extremely friendly and super helpful; especially Jose Gomez at the front desk. Any issue or concern we had, was taken care of addressed promptly. Looked at other places on the island and none of them have the same accommodation, friendliness, and cleanliness as Ramon’s. Will definitely be staying here again!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexasL2058SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ramon's Village Resort, Other at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2022

Thank you for staying with us and this great review! We agree Jose does a wonderful job making our guests feel welcome and at home. Ramon's is definitely one of a kind and we can not wait to have you back with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2022 via mobile

We went for breakfast at Ramon's Village Resort thinking this was an old time classic restaurant in San Pedro. While the sea view is breathtaking, the service was poor and the quality of the breakfast very very poor. We ordered a Belizean breakfast and eggs with Chaya and fry jacks. Presentation was inferior and taste was of very poor quality. 4 small fry jacks. The beans tasted like can beans. There was no fresh OJ and only artificial OJ was available. The coffee was bad so I ordered a capuchino. Still bad. Price was expensive and not worth it.

Room tip: Dont do breakfast at this resort. There are better options on island.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tortravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ramon's Village Resort, Other at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

We are sorry that you had this experience, we will bring this to the attention to the restaurant management. We do hope you would come back and try our breakfast again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2022

This was a hidden gem to escape from the bustling little city of San Pedro. The grounds felt like you were walking into Jurassic Park… very cool! The staff were so accommodating and friendly!
I do have a few grievances though. One being that the wind was so bad for our 3 days there which brought up near 4 feet piles of seaweed. I know that’s nature and time of year and out of their control. But, they had guys cleaning the seaweed from morning to night. There are rakes and machines for that. Also, I know that the employees get good money to do that. But, it left the beach unusable because they guys were working from sun up to sun down, while a rake machine would have allowed people to actually enjoy their beautiful beach. We paid good money for beach and pool accommodations . Since we couldn’t use the beach, we headed to the pool where the water was extremely cold. No one could go in this beautiful pool because it was too cold. I’m from Minnesota and I know cold. Technology with solar heaters could help warm the pool enough for guests to actually be able to use it. So we had no outdoor water entertainment access.
Our room was a bit outdated and had more 80s furniture than needed. They had a huge entertainment shelving unit with a CD player… no CDs or TV. This gigantic shelving unit, along with 2 huge desks, took up space that could have made the room feel very spacious. But, we had a beautiful deck that faced the ocean! We spent our time on that deck! The view was incredible!

Room tip: Presidential Suite has a beautiful deck overlooking the ocean… actually, right on the ocean!
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 842KathyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ramon's Village Resort, Other at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Thank you for staying with us at Ramon's Village. Love the Jurassic Park reference (that's a new one)! Our staff does a great job making our guest feel at home. We will take into the consideration your suggestions and thank you for those. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews