We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
269
172
51
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
172
51
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel golf cart ambergris caye small pool beachside bar free bicycles in town every morning laid back taxi ride quiet location cleaned daily beach area worked great south of san pedro belize city scuba diving
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

10 of us ladies from the USA stayed at Mata Rocks for my bday celebration. The place was lovely, and the staff members were phenomenal!

We're pretty much in love with this place and the incredible people that work there. Relaxing in the hammocks at sunrise was icing on top.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 157ranam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thanks for the review!

Everyone at Mata Rocks takes great pride in what we do and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay,
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022

The staff here are spectacularly helpful and kind. They really go above and beyond to make you feel at home. Breakfast is included and varies each day. You can also order off the menu if you choose. I enjoyed the steak and quesadilla but every entree that was ordered in our group was impressive.
Our room looked exactly like pictured on the website. It was cute, comfy beds and stayed cool. The hotel rents golf carts or you can find one in town. I’d suggest when shopping around asking the total price. We were quoted $35/day then after insurance, it was $63. The hotel has a small pool and there’s a dock where excursions can pick you up from. Overall, we loved Mata Rocks. It was a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MeganinCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thanks for the review!

As we are a family owned business its great to hear that you felt at home with us.

We completely understand wanting to shop around for other golf cart options, however we recommend that you choose our carts because some while some place offer better prices that does not necessarily mean better service.
Golf carts are prone to break down when not maintained properly and some of the cheaper options do not have the best reputation for answering the phone when such an event occurs. We do warn guests to be careful when choosing another company to rent from.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2022

The staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating. Mata Rocks is a small hotel but if doing excursions or have activities planned, this is the place to stay. The rooms are well maintained, cleaned daily. The beds are very comfortable and linens are fresh! Bar area and food service is great! Prices are very reasonable compared to the bigger resorts on island. Pool is small and could use a bit of sprucing up. Didn’t care about pool area spent time diving, snorkeling and Secret Beach area on island.
The price was just right for an island adventure for a family who wanted to spend less money on big resorts but more on daily water trips; boats from other companies can pick you up at Mata’s dock. Easy access to town by walking beach front. Other resorts close by if wanted to check out different food/bar areas. Transportation to and from hotel.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 June 2022

We fell in love with Mata Rcoks. The welcome drink of rum. punch was refreshing and. made our welcome feel so special. The place is very well kept. It is clean and very safe. The staff are beyond helpful and very friendly. We made quick friends with each of the staff and found them to be so helpful and welcoming. The pool pump was broken when we arrived but the staff did everything they could to get it fixed and us in the pool as quick as they could. The bar staff was helpful with recommendations and history of the island. Breakfast was the perfect way to start each day, made fresh and even brought to our room when we were moving slow. The balcony is a great place to spend the evening. The bikes were a great way to get around town, I liked them better then driving the golf cart, makes for a better way to experience the island. The hotel arranged for a golf cart for us and that was fun as well. I can't say enough of how much we enjoyed our time here. It is the perfect distance from everything to enjoy but still be peaceful. The food and drinks are top notch.

Room tip: All the rooms have great views
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 June 2022

It is hard to put into words what a great experience we had staying at Mata Rocks. To start I want to recognize Harry and Javier for being exemplary employees. There wasn't anything they wouldn't do to make our stay the highlight of our trip. I also want to mention Giselle, Gustavo and Maricela. Every employee walked around with a genuine smile and everything they did to support us in having a memorable stay at the resort and on the island was commendable. I felt like I was visiting family. I highly recommend staying at this sweet boutique. The location is a perfect to everywhere and the food is so outstanding that if you choose to remain on the site you won't be disappointed. I am looking forward to returning next year. Simply the best.

Room tip: They are all excellent.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townsendTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews