We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$150
Priceline$150
Hotels.com$150
Travelocity$150
Trip.com$151
Tripadvisor$150
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
265
172
51
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
265
172
51
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel ambergris caye golf cart free bicycles in town every morning taxi ride quiet location worked great palapa bar beach area south of san pedro belize city scuba diving other resorts secret beach dive shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

This was truly a hidden gem of Belize! A small boutique hotel right on the water. Beautiful views of the ocean. Best of all you could get this view from a very great bar that serves a host of truly delicious drinks and food. As for the rooms, they are state of the art and offer a nice familiar vibe that makes you feel at home. Just an overall fantastic experience. I would recommend this place to anyone who asks!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2022

What an amazing resort. The staff is very personable and friendly. The rooms are very spacious with great views. The bar/ restaurant are quaint. The best part of the resort is the two pickleball courts. What an amazing way to wake up and break a sweat!! The staff was very helpful in accommodating various excursions and helping direct us to great local restaurants. 10/10 plan on going back as soon as possible!!!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zacka212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2022 via mobile

From the moment you enter the property you feel the serenity and beauty of your surroundings- the staff greet you with a complimentary welcome drink and you know that your vacation has truly begun. The rooms are all fresh and well appointed.. the design and decor is warm and tasteful - every room looks out onto the bright blue water - the bartenders at the traditional palapa bar are you instant friends and confidents - the chef prepared bites and meals are fresh and indulgent..
looking around the beach the next challenging decision is complimentary hammock , lounge chair , paddle board or kayaks- I’ll take one of each please.
The staff offer to book any excursions that we want - they make suggestions on things that we haven’t thought of , the golf cart rentals available on property are really convenient, they come with a full tank of gas and are serviced weekly so we have no fear of them
breaking down ( we had heard from friends before arriving that some of the rental cart companies that that advertise cheaper rates are very unreliable)
An added bonus for us when we arrived were the new Pickleball courts that have been added to the property - as avid players it was quite an unexpected treat to be able to play while on vacation - they have paddles and balls to rent and the use of the courts are complimentary for hotel guests
A truly great vacation in a beautiful setting ..

Room tip: Rent your golf cart at the resort
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 806gerardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2022 via mobile

A cute and smaller resort, rooms are steps away from the beach. Quiet location close to local amenities. Rooms are reminiscent of a higher end B and B super cute, compact and very clean! Air conditioning works phenomenally well. Nice pool barely used! What makes this site so valuable is the dedicated local team who are honestly invested in making sure all visitors enjoy their trip to their country, they go over and above to make you feel welcome. The bartenders attracted locals and residents from other resorts due to their personable and high quality service. The food was well made and reasonably priced everything from local dishes to one of the most delicious pizzas I’ve ever eaten. Drinks were well made, bartenders knowledgeable however a slight decrease in price and a wider variety of products and I probably would not ventured elsewhere as the ambience and environment was enough to keep me content to spend all my time in the evenings there. A dedicated security team makes this site super secure. I can honestly say without this service I probably would not of enjoyed my stay as much as I did. I never go to the same place twice but for this quality of service I am considering returning to San Pedro and this site. In all my trips around the world this is service like no other!
Marsee to the amazing crew at Mata Rocks!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Thank you for the review Michelle! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on customer service and guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2022

We joined some friends in Ambergris Caye, Belize over Spring Break but due to our last minute decision to actually go we were not able to stay on the same property as them. So we did some searching and found Mata Rocks.

We had a terrific time and really enjoyed this property. It's got a great vibe and has a cool, modern look to it. Many properties on Ambergris Caye in this price range are old but Mata Rocks is either relatively new or has been refreshed recently. It feels like a boutique hotel.

The bar area outside (where you can get breakfast, lunch, or dinner) is setup well with your options of bar seating or tables and chairs (or out on the beach). The bartenders are all super nice and friendly. They were quick to get our drinks or food but just as quick with suggestions on where to dine in town. We even saw locals (girls from a nearby dive shop) after work and non-guests-but-clearly-tourists quietly having drinks there so, in the evening, there is a small "buzz" about the place. It's a nice place to chill out, have a drink, and enjoy the sea breeze.

The hotel serves free breakfast at the bar so guests would gather in the morning for coffee and whatever was on the free menu. You can also buy breakfast items or get the free breakfast and pay for something additional if you wanted.

Our room was great and had a balcony with a view over the pool and out over the ocean. In addition to curtains that let in diffuse light through the balcony slider, there was a shade that you could drop down to ensure your room stayed dark and had absolute privacy.

The room came with a (I think) king bed with two nightstands. Tip: if the plug next to your bed doesn't seem to work, it could be controlled by a light switch next to the sliding door. This is notable in case you are trying to charge your phone and are wondering why it's not charging.

The bed was comfortable with good pillows. We also had a bunk in our room that could accommodate another person but we just used it to lay out clothes. Housekeeping refills a plastic bottle/jug of water in your room fridge everyday so you have free water if you don't want to take a chance with the local water.

The bathroom was not huge but plenty big for one person to use at a time. It was clean, updated, and the shower had GREAT hot water. It was hot and it stayed hot.

The location is a bit south of San Pedro but you can walk to town on the beach or on the road. We would generally walk into town for dinner to meet our friends but take a taxi back to the hotel. Taxis were consistently $5 US from town back to the hotel (but always ask the driver first).

Overall, we really liked this place. It was priced reasonably for the location and the quality of the rooms/property/amenities, it had a cool look and vibe (i.e. not dated or old), and everyone was super nice and responsive.

One nitpick was the fact that Wi-Fi was spotty in our room. It worked great just outside the room and at the bar. I understand that the management is working on making sure Wi-Fi is solid in all the rooms. The other nitpick was the fact that they apparently have courtesy bikes available for guests. We were never informed of this and only knew because we passed by them and inquired about them in the office. If you are so inclined, it seems you could ride a bike into town and save the walk and/or the taxi ride.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scratch_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

Thanks for the review!

We are so glad that you had such a nice stay with us.

I do apologize that the WiFi was not the best, it's something that we've been working on and struggling with since we opened for the rooms. The WiFi in the bar/restaurant area does work quite well so if you need to work while on vacation that's where we recommend you go and sit. Also with the bikes, you absolutely should have been informed about them at checkin, we will fix this training issue with our staff immediately.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews