We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$176
Hotels.com$176
Priceline$176
Travelocity$176
Agoda.com$176
eDreams$176
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
261
171
51
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
171
51
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel ambergris caye golf cart free bicycles in town every morning taxi ride quiet location worked great beach area south of san pedro belize city other resorts secret beach dive shop elliot ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2021 via mobile

I had a fabulous stay at Maya Rocks. My room was big and had everything I needed and a great view. The bar/restaurant served delicious food, and the breakfast was filling. They had free on-site bikes to use and you can text a golf cart right there. The people were so friendly and accommodated all my questions with a smile! I’ll be back!

Room tip: They have bikes and golf carts to rent. Plus, they’ll book trips!
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LKMSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Thanks for choosing Mata Rocks Resort, we can wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Mata Rocks was beautiful, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were some of the first people to stay at Mata Rocks after new ownership and we could tell that each staff member took the time to make us feel so special and welcomed even while they were still trying to set up and while construction was going on. Anita, Elliot, and Jose helped us plan our trips and get the necessary equipment (arranging taxis, golf carts to Secret Beach, bicycles to go further in town, etc.). The breakfast every morning and the drinks at the bar were delicious. The location was perfect too: far enough away from the main town but still close to a lot of really great restaurants that were in walking or biking distance. We definitely recommend Mata Rocks to anyone looking to have a beautiful stay in Belize with very friendly and welcoming hosts!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah52h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hi Sarah,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We love hearing that our staff is incredible, makes us feel like we're doing something right!
Your endorsement of our resort is much appreciated! Hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Very nicely kept hotel with attentive staff right on the water. Yummy breakfast, nice bar. Pretty beach. Nice, little pool. The only reason I didn't give them a 5 was because they are a bit far from the main part of town and the bicycles they have for borrowing were rusted so that you could not adjust the seat. Overall, I was really happy with our stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Hi Kimberly, thank you for your feedback!
We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable.
Apologies on the bike front, we are addressing this issue so that rust does not stand in anyone's way of getting around! We hope that next time you stay with us we'll be worth of that 5th star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2020

We went to Belize in late November/December 2019 and stayed at Mata Rocks Hotel. Elliot and Staff are incredible. Welcoming and happy to assist in any way possible. The rooms are spotless. Cute beachside bar where early morning continental breakfast was served and open for evening cocktails with TV for game style viewing. It was a great place to meet the other guests and exchange tips on where to go on the Island. The pool is small but fine for a dip to cool off. The Beach beside the Hotel has easy access to the ocean. We did not experience much sargassum during our visit. The best way to get around it to rent a golf cart although you can easily get to town by walking. Great local restaurant across the street called Robin's Kitchen. Stewed chicken, beans and rice a local specialty was $5 US. Secret Beach is a much do. The water is incredible. We also took the Ferry to Quay Caulker. It was a great day trip. I can't wait to go back again.

Room tip: Ocean view/pool deck but all rooms are nice and have an ocean view.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smilelysusieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2020 via mobile

The views here were amazing. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was small but very attentive. The have bicycles you can take to town. Town is close so this very nice. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because they are doing an upgrade on the water system so the water was not potable from 5 pm to 8 am. The water had a very strong sulfer smell. I would definately stay there again, but I will call to make sure the water has been fixed.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dvdv6n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews