We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mata Rocks Resort
Nearby Hotels
Royal Caribbean Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Isla Bonita Yacht Club(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
US$ 143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Tang Inn(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 247
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel del Rio(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$ 44
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 359
US$ 345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
US$ 1,848
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 2,163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
217
160
45
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
160
45
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquirrel's nestbeach barsmall hotelcontinental breakfastjunior suitesea grassambergris cayejerk chickengolf cartrobin's kitchenfree bicyclessmall poolin townother guestsfresh fruithotel dockevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We just returned from MataRocks and had great stay!! The service was amazing. Everyone worked so hard to keep this small resort in tip top shape. The beds were probably the best I've ever slept in including Ritz , Westin and other "luxury" brands.. the pool area was small but perfect to enjoy a drink in after day of activities

Its small enough that you get to meet the fellow travelers and enjoy drinks over happy hour...

The only complaint as others mentioned is the Sea Grass but obviously unavoidable during this season.

I think you pay bit more here than some of the other resorts but the service and cleanliness make it worth it.

We loved the drinks !! And used the golf carts and enjoyed take out from restaurants next store. The ceviche was the bomb

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JDlovestoviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czar12, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for staying at Mata Rocks Resort. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Nice quaint retreat. Great ocean vires. Lean pool and good drinks at the bar. There are a few restaraunts and markets within walking distance. Nice to have security in the evening on the beach. Crews cleaned up the seaweed on the beach each morning. Staff was super friendly and helpful.
Make sure to take mosquito repellant as they come out like crazy after it rains.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CherylHotchkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czar12, General Manager at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank You for staying with us.

Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We just returned from a week stay at Mata Rocks. We remembered Mata Rocks from a previous trip when we stayed further south down the beach. We're very glad we booked here as we felt at home from the first minute. Irma and Elliot in the office were great as well as the very friendly crew working the grounds and rooms.

Our room had a great balcony view of the pool and ocean. The room was modern and very clean with a very comfortable bed.

We walked to town a few times and found it to be an easy walk along the beach. The pool was perfect for cooling off and the tiki bar, the Squirrel's Nest, is a great place for a cold one. Leo does an excellent job behind the bar.


We found Mata Rocks to be the perfect blend of everything we look for in a hotel and can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Balcony Rooms have a great view of the pool and ocean
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibby701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czar12, General Manager at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us.


Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

My wife and I just got back from wonderful week in San Pedro and Mata Rocks. Our stay in Mata Rocks was superb. We were able to get the suite over the water and the views every morning and evening were wonderful, but the reason to stay at Mata Rocks is for the value and service. You are right on the beach, Irma and Elliott your host's at the front desk are amazing and will see to all your needs. They booked us a snorkeling tour with a pick-up and drop-off right from the dock at Mata Rocks. (They use a first class operator for this!) Housekeeping is fantastic, I thought our room was actually getting cleaner each day and it was immaculate when we checked in. The remainder of the staff was top notch as well. The complimentary on-site bikes for use was a big plus for us as we used them every day. Happy hour nightly at the Spider Bar with Leo was great. He provided us nightly with a to-go drink as we either hit the beach in search of dinner or retired to our room. Each morning, Endeara had coffee and a nice breakfast to begin our day.
While you may find more upscale properties around (definitely a lot worse), you wont find a cleaner room or better staff with a lot of extra's as Mata Rocks provide. (They also provide transportation to/from the airport). Mata Rocks has everything covered, the big things and the small during your stay--we won't be going anywhere else when we return for our next dive adventure in the fall.

Room Tip: Suite S-3, Overlooks both the beach and pool. Book your snorkeling adventure with Mata Rocks and ask for Eddie Love.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Our first time in San Pedro, La Isla Bonita. We enjoyed our stay at this great little gem. The front office staff, Irma and Elliot were very informative and nice as well as rest of the staff. Our room was clean. Leo, the bartender let us use some wine glasses which we appreciate. We would definitely stay at Mata Rocks Resort again.

Be advised, the rooms have thin walls, we could high our neighbors talking and laughing. This did not bother us.

Room Tip: I would recommend the second floor rooms, they have a private little balcony area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alimar745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czar12, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for staying with us at Mata Rocks Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews