We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$517
Hotels.com$517
Priceline$521
Travelocity$517
Official Site$470
Agoda.com$443
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,350 results
Traveller rating
1,104
165
51
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,104
165
51
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mambo restaurant beachfront casita our honeymoon jade spa gaia riverlodge ambergris caye coconut mojito fish main building paddle boards golf cart sea grass snorkeling gear boat ride secret beach hol chan and shark ray alley nurse sharks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,350 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2022

We stayed at matachica for 1 week in one of the seaside casitas. You are about 30min from both san pedro and secret beach, so i recommend that you rent a golf cart for your entire stay.

Breakfast on-site is included and was excellent, though if you get sick of your two free options you can order additional items at a cost. There are two bars, one at the restaurant and one outside under a tree, by the pool. The outside bar closes at 5p which is a bit too early IMO.

You can get kayaks and paddle out to the reef (took about 10min) then attach the kayak to a bouy and go snorkeling. Just snorkeling off the resort we saw an eagle ray, two dolphins, angel fish, octopus, eels, etc. We also did two scuba trips with White Sands dive shop and had a blast as well, plus they pick you up at the matachica pier!

The rooms are great but dont have mini-fridges, we went and bought a cooler and some ice from the store nearby (15-20min drive) bc drinks are pricey at matachica!

We enjoyed visiting secret beach, specifically: blue bayou, swing bar, and sunset palace. Prices are more reasonable out there too.

We had excellent dinners at mambo (at matachica), portofino (fancy place just north of matachica), and carambas (amazing seafood in san pedro—our favorite place overall).

We had excellent food/snacks/lunches at the matachica bistro (served out on the pier), Capricorn, crocs, rum dog, and pur.

The best thing about matachica is the staff and the view, the worst thing is the sea grass. The sea grass coats the eastern shore of the whole island and smells like rotten fish if you get closer than about 10ft, so for our beach time we went to secret beach. If you want to relax at matachica for the day, you can sit out on the pier so the sea grass is behind you or you can hang at the pool. Im not sure when sea grass is there and when it isnt.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JLane_Perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelie Lucero, Marketing at Matachica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We appreciate the feed back and will definitely consider extending the tree bar hours until sundown. As for the seagrass, you are absolutely right and it’s awful-though fortunately comes and goes allowing us to enjoy many months without it. But when it hits, it’s awful and we do our best to clear it as quickly as we can. We are so happy though, that you didn’t allow it to overwhelm your holiday and that you were able to create amazing memories with us. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2022 via mobile

Matachica makes you feel like your home. Everyone there is impeccable professionals, from grounds crews, bartenders to front desk.

We always feel safe there. Security on site (nowhere on San Pedro seems like it needs security, but good to have). Covid-19 tests for the outbound guests.

You start your stay with a concierge boat ride to the resort, and are greeted with drinks of your choice at check in.

The food at Mamba is fantastic. The bartenders are top notch with a variety of delightful cocktails. You can’t go wrong. They have numerous golf carts available to rent for you to venture off to Secret Beach, or back into San Pedro.

This is our second stay, and I know we will be back again.

Room tip: We took Tropic Air instead of the water taxi this time. Highly recommend this approach. Killer view on the way in, and a whole lot faster.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cody98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelie Lucero, Marketing at Matachica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Thank you so much for your splendid review! We look forward to hosting you again. The entire team takes great pride in knowing that you were so pleased with our services. We always aim to provide our guests with the best and most convenient experiences at our Belizean home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2022

Matachica Resort and the management and staff that run Matachica Resort do an outstanding job for their guests. The staff is super friendly and always helpful. Everything is super clean and daily services are prompt. The restaurants and bars are well stocked and make exceptional beverages. The food is excellent with good variety. The location is perfect for Scuba, Snorkeling, sightseeing and numerous trips arranged by the staff at Matachica. All the Cabana's are air-conditioned with plenty of space and privacy. Just a wonderful destination.
FOTB

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 524NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelie Lucero, Marketing at Matachica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Thank you so much for your review! It's our pleasure to host you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team will be thrilled to know that you had a great holiday with us in Belize and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

The service was excellent. I love the cabanas by the ocean. Staff is very attentive. We were here for a week. My niece got married here at the resort. Everything went beautifully. Lovely setting by the beach. We took advantage of going snorkeling at the reef and swimming with the nurse sharks. Fantastic. I highly recommend this resort.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank andocsaszar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelie Lucero, Marketing at Matachica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to have been a part of such a memorable occasion. Hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Joelie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

Wow! Awesome! Amazing! Words cannot describe the Sunday brunch. The food was absolutely amazing and bottomless mimosas!!?! Gorgeous location and very laid back experience and excellent wait staff. Definitely recommend this place!!!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank K3386QZjenniferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelie Lucero, Owner at Matachica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2022

Dear Jennifer,

It was a pleasure having you!

Thank you for you lovely comments and happy to hear you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch.

Warm Regards,
Joelie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews