We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
880
141
38
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
141
38
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront casita our honeymoon jade spa view suite gaia riverlodge water taxi ambergris caye fish paddle boats coconut mojito mosquito netting sea breeze minute boat ride turn down service shark ray alley snorkeling gear thatched roof
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Matachica Resort is truly a divine resort that looks like the picture when you arrived. The staff is always welcoming. Actually, we had been there 10 years ago. We were also amazed by the coral reef and all the sea life just 15 minutes way from the shore by paddling boat.
That’s why we booked again 6 nights in spring 2018.
The big disappointment was the stinking seaweed. In addition, it made the sear water brown within 100 meters from the shore. Unfortunately, most of the sea life was gone. The staff tried to collect it in part from the sand on the beach. Note that in other resorts it was not the case and the smell was unbearable. That’s why the nearby resorts had next to no guests and there was no alternative for restaurants between Matachica and San Pedro. Unfortunately there’s no free shuttle boat to or from San Pedro in the evening. Therefore, we had dinner every night at Matachica. Food was excellent but did get a little repetitive, they have the same menu every night.
Another big nuisance was the sandflies: they always will find you and bite, no matter what and how much insect repellent you put. After a couple of days, the repellents and anti-itching creams do not seem to work anymore.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RSF_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Nice get away. Don't get turned off by having to take the boat. Nice scenic ride, only approx 10 mins from town. Nice quiet resort away from the noise of town. Great staff, great grounds, nice pool. Will return

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We recently visited Matachica for our honeymoon and were blown away at how easy it was to enjoy our experience!

The staff did everything they could to make our trip one of a kind. Coordinating activities, dinners, and drinks by the pool were a breeze.

If you happen to stay at the bar one night, be sure to have Adam show you the blind folded bar puzzle or ask Gilly to tell a joke. All wait staff knew us on a first name basis and were fantastic.

Do yourself a favor and see what it’s all about, or don’t since we would like to keep this place a secret!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank FlipNKelley2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Went there a while ago and I can say with certainty that I miss it A LOT! That place was amazing, wow! That strawberry milkshake is absolutely to die for! If I could drink it for breakfast every day I would...

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We spent 4 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer. There were a few hiccups because they were remodeling, but the staff and owner took care of everything for us. The rooms are just lovely, and the staff is just about perfect. The food at the restaurant is great, and you can rent a golf cart for a reasonable price if you want to go elsewhere. They took great care of us from the moment we arrived at the airport. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews