We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
880
141
38
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
141
38
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront casita our honeymoon jade spa view suite gaia riverlodge water taxi ambergris caye fish paddle boats coconut mojito mosquito netting sea breeze minute boat ride turn down service shark ray alley snorkeling gear thatched roof
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Just spent 7 nights in the Aqua room. Resort staff were great - especially Archie. Our room was ridiculously large and right on the water. Unfortunately the sea grass was bad during our stay which made the room location less appealing.

The restaurant was great. Fabulous food and cool breeze.

I only had two complaints. The first was serious. The music was just awful. For some reason they played Buddha Bar CDs morning, noon and night. This is terrible jazzy type covers of real music combined with techno repetitive poorly played “Muzak.” Such a simple thing to fix. I hope they take this feedback seriously.

The other frustration was more mild and related to the sea grass. Our room was at the end of the property. The staff diligently collected the piled up sea grass and carted it off the property. But they would frequently not clear in front of our room. A tad frustrating since Aqua is one of the priciest rooms on the property.

Despite these annoyances , we had a grand time. Don’t miss carting to Blue Bayou on Secret Beach for an all day hang in the water drinking and eating. And have dinner at the Sun Deck. Dan, the owner, will feed you a Jamaican jerk feast.

And when in San Pedro eat at Elvi’s. Can’t beat the Mexican tacos.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sallybshepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We were treated like royalty at Matachica. Within 10 minutes of our arrival everyone knew our names. The nicest, most incredible, helpful staff ever - they can’t do enough for you and are just really pleasant people. It’s not forced, they are all just really, really happy to be there. The resort is gorgeous, serene, private, well maintained and very quiet. The room was basically a luxury hut in the beach. Very nice. We did snorkeling which the hotel arranged (Hol Chan and shark alley) which was awesome! We also rented a golf cart one day to see more of the island, which was fun. The restaurant is very good (better than we expected)- although we also tried some places in town for variety which were also very good (Elvi’s Kitchen was great). You must try the lobster BLT for lunch at the hotel, it’s insane! Seaweed is a problem on the beach everywhere on the island. No exception here, but they do a good job clearing it. Loungers on the dock are very relaxing. Also the snorkeling on the reef right in front of the hotel is great! You need to take a kayak to it, but it was very good (corals, tons of little colorful fish, sharks, sting rays). Matachica is paradise.

Date of stay: July 2018
3  Thank 905jeffreyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Been on many Game and National Park trips. This was by far the most adventurous and exciting. We spent a significant amount of time planning and researching. The one thing we didn’t realize was how much the guide makes or breaks the trip. We had an excellent tour guide and would highly recommend him. Ahimidiwe Mkonyi, he usually goes by Mkonyi. He worked really hard and we saw all kinds of predators and animals, it was really top notch! Thanks Materuni and Mkoyni.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Derick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We didn't stay here but came for the massages since our resort couldn't fit us in. We had the couples massage and it was amazing. The massages were perfect and would recommend. Secluded resort and very quiet.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We recently returned for our second trip to Matachica after a wonderful stay last year. We loved it so much that we convinced 60 of our friends and family to fly to Belize for our wedding. Matachica and Belize exceeded our expectations and memories from last year in every way. The staff not only made our wedding perfect for us, but hosted an amazing, relaxing get away for our friends and family. They worked tirelessly (until 2AM on our wedding night) to ensure that everyone was properly fed with 5-star food and drinks for 3x nights. The rooms are a perfect blend of luxury with a laid-back vibe and the beds are the like sleeping on clouds. Seagrass and seaweed is a problem across many Caribbean coasts; however, Matachica dedicates multiple guys (8-10 people daily) to rake, clear, and haul away any seaweed making it the cleanest beach on Ambergris. A huge thanks to everyone at Matachica from the boat captains, restaurant, kitchen, bar staff, the front-desk crew, housekeepers, grounds keepers, and beach staff who made our wedding even more perfect than we could imagine. Extra thanks to the kitchen, restaurant, and front-desk staff, who always had a smile on their face and greeted every single person by name, which is not an easy feat with a full resort. We are eternally grateful to Robin, Archy, Jose, Adam, Alejandro, Amy, Abbey, Godwin, Edwin, Gilbert, Mayra, Emil, Anita, Mansel, Jorge, Charlie, Henry, Chef Reynaldo (and anyone else, whom I might have forgotten.) And HUGE thanks to Burga, who planned and executed a 3-day party that we will never forget! We can’t wait to come back again soon!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews