We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, very good food”
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just got back from a bachelor property. Moral of the story, we had a great time. This place is mainly a fishing lodge, so it is not got a lot for frills. No Tvs in the rooms and the pillows and beds are hard. All that being said, if you are main interest is fishing, this is a great spot. Everyone there could not have been nicer, especially the bartender. He was able to remember the names all 25 of us. The food was really good, better than many 5 star places I have stayed. The resort is really close to a casino but a could ways from town. For a guys fishing trip it, gets my approval.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDUB212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 434 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

My dauhter and her husband and my wife and I spend 4 days at El Pescador and it was memorable. The lidging was very nice, we had a villa, the food good and the ambience estimable. Althogh we did not use any of the lodges guides my daughter did take one casting lesson and was much impressed. Overall I would rate it as excellent. Yes, if we return to Belize we will probably return to El Pescador and this time with tarpon in mind.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gus1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

What a great resort and location for fishing, diving, snorkeling, relaxing or a combination of all of the above. We did four days of flats fishing, a Mayan ruin tour to Lamanai and some kayaking. The resort was excellent and is highlighted by the super friendly staff and management. We plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Staying at El Pescador was delightful, relaxing, and thoroughly satisfying. The warm welcome, the lovely accommodations, the amazing meals, and the truly kind people who work at the resort made us feel welcome and well cared for. Not only were they were flexible with allowing us to get lunch after lunchtime ended (when we arrived late after a morning of scuba in San Pedro), but they accommodated our request with a smile. The resort is bursting with natural beauty and amazing wildlife (birds, geckos, iguanas, and fish.) The villa we stayed in was clean, comfortable,and the view was exquisite. One of my favorite places in the world was in the hammock on the front deck, of the villa, overlooking the clear turquoise waters. We enjoyed the dinners and eating family style with the other patrons. We made some friends during our stay over spirited dinner conversations and cocktails at the lounge, it made the trip more memorable! The resort is cozy and personable, but not crowded. The eco-friendliness of the resort appealed to us as well. The island is not littered with trash like many in the Caribbean, partly due to the efforts of the residents and resorts there to avoid disposable plastic drinkware and bottles. I would wholeheartedly recommend El Pescador. My husband and I plan to go back again!

Room Tip: The villas are amazing. Each one is a little different. The lodge is more like a hotel room. We like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCDenise2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Being non-fishers, we took the 2-for-one offer and we had one of the best vacation experiences in our life. Ed,the manager immediately presents himself and you "run into" him at least five times a day, without even mentioning a problem, it is taken care of. In seven days, we were not able to figure out how and when our dirty laundry reappeared in our closet, clean and neatly folded and our bed magically re-did itself. With exceptional attention to service, cleanliness and genuinely friendly smiles, we were really impressed.

Judy at the service desk is better than the most competent concierge I have ever met. Since we did not fish, we would briefly mention an activity to her and she would, literally within minutes come up with alternative itineraries, schedules and information. She is a literal magician and is the subject of my envy in her command of local information.

Overall, this is an experience that should not be missed and should be (hopefully) often repeated.

Room Tip: Larger (>2) groups should use the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyedidag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.5 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#4 of 55 in San Pedro
377 reviews
8.8 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
1,253 reviews
1.6 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
895 reviews
0.3 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: ₹ 11,783 - ₹ 54,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing