We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“‘Know Thyself’”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casa Caracol

Let's start with the view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Let's start with the view
Casa Caracol Downstairs Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Let's start with the view
Casa Caracol
Downstairs Living
Downstairs Dining/Kitchen
Downstairs Bedroom 1
Downstairs Bedroom 2
Downstairs Bedroom 3
Downstairs Bathroom (1 of 2)
Upstairs Living
Upstairs Kitchen/Dining
Upstairs Kitchen
Upsairs Bedroom 1
Upstairs Bedroom 2
Upstairs Bathroom (1 of 2)
Upstairs Balcony
Downstairs Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheryl V
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and not so good......”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I believe our expectations were higher due to the many good reviews of Casa Caracol. We recently rented the downstairs of this property.
Phil (the owner) was excellent in his correspondence and assistance upon our arrival.
The cleaning lady was excellent too. The AC and showers were great. There is a nice flatscreen TV. The kayaks and loungers were free and accessible.
BUT
the accomodations are getting dated including things like a poorly working dishwasher, microwave and toaster and improperly fitting or no sinkstoppers. A couple of these things were mentioned upon leaving.
The sand inbetween the property and water is always busy with golfcarts, bikes, local people/tourists and occasional sellers.
The biggest turnoff is that there is a bar next door which blares music from 11- midnight-ish and then their guard dogs continue the noise intermittently throughout the night.
Also, the seagrass in all the surrounding island water is not so pleasant for beachlovers.
All, in all, we made some vacation memories including meeting lots of very friendly people in San Pedro.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The noise of the bar and their guard dogs next door.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissPJ092...
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“‘Know Thyself’”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Know thyself is a touchstone for western philosophers and the key for all world travelers. When you know the type of traveler you are, you find the right places to call home on vacation.

The Casa Caracol came highly recommended from an acquaintance that traveled to San Pedro with her family earlier this year. After hours of on-line research, I was buggy eyed. Her wisdom was as good as any anonymous blogger. I looked at the website and thought the property was acceptable. I will concede that the photos are extremely well done and accentuate the positive. They were taken at an earlier time and the angle of the lens makes everything look larger than it is. But one only needs to be in Belize half a day to realize what a great find this place is.

We booked the upstairs front bedroom fully expecting to share the common area with another couple but were pleasantly surprised to have the entire house to ourselves. The bedroom has a private bath and faces the ocean though we kept the curtains drawn to keep the morning sun out. The bed is large and comfy to our standard, as we prefer a firm mattress.

The kitchen is fully equipped with all the things you need for preparing meals. The most we did was cut up local fruit that you can buy everywhere. If you don’t partake of the local produce, you are missing out. The living room is nicely apportioned and the TV works great. Wi-Fi is available and we were able to access it throughout the upstairs and on the front deck where we spent most of our time relaxing. Mid-day we’d take a short walk along the beach to find a meal at one of the local eateries. We did our research and picked a few highly recommended restaurants within walking distance. Everything is in walking distance. There are kayaks on the property, we did use them and they are in good condition.

Phil the proprietor lives in the house behind the guesthouse. He welcomed us, laid out the parameters of the services, and offered his help and guidance as needed. I emphasize as needed. When we needed him, he was available but for the most part invisible. We used his expertise to arrange two fantastic tours. Phil only uses the tried-and-true. We took a sailing and snorkel tour with Searious Adventures to the Hol Chan Marine Reserve (excellent way to go). On another day we flew back to the mainland and toured the Lamanai ruins with the only archeologist/tour guide (Mark McField). The best part, Phil booked and we paid him for everything at the end of the trip by credit card. It was efficient, tidy and memorable. A word about getting to San Pedro – I booked a water taxi there for two. It was 90 minutes on a boat filled with 100 tourists and locals and the cost was $118.00 USD. Phil booked the Tropic Air back to Belize City, 15-minutes, 14 people and the cost was $166.00 USD. Note to self, trust the expert.

Photos on the internet are timeless. In reality one must accept that Paradise exacts a cost. Humanity, salt, sand and the jungle all wreak havoc on hardware. It takes vigilance and money to keep everything looking picture perfect. If you require perfection keep touring the world on-line. But if you’re real, Casa Caracol is a little bit of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: Municipal mosquito spray one night without warning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLovesWin...
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome hosts, and overall wonderful experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband stayed at Casa Carocol 10 years ago and after a lot of research into other places in San Pedro we decided to stay there again and I’m sure glad we did. Phil and Marie were very helpful through every step of the process. They booked our flights from mainland Belize to San Pedro, answered all my questions (I always have a lot), and gave great advice about local tours, groceries, etc. Even after our return home, they mailed me a bracelet I had left! The dive shop they recommended, Patojo’s Scuba Center, was awesome and easy going. Transpiration to/from the airport to the house is included and when we arrived our driver was waiting for us.

We had a group of 10 people, so we rented both the upstairs and downstairs. The upstairs deck is wonderful to hang out and enjoy the view over the Caribbean turquoise water. If you are deciding to rent one vs. the other I would definitely recommend the top floor. Phil and Marie live in the house behind Casa Caracol so if you ever have questions or need something they are close by and ready to help. Each floor is cleaned every other day and the woman does a very good job and brings fresh, clean towels. The tip to the cleaning woman is not included in the house fee, so plan on leaving a little extra for her. We left her $100 US for the week, but of course this is up to you and there is no pressure.

There are plenty of places to eat nearby or short walk down the beach, I don’t think we were ever disappointed in a meal while in San Pedro. My number one breakfast recommendation is a small fry jack hut on the street that is behind the high school a short walk from the house. Local women fry up amazing breakfast fry jacks for $2 BZE, can’t beat the deal and the authenticity. There is also a local grocery on the street in back of the house that is convenient for ice, sodas, and such. As far as pubs to visit, there are too many to count but all are fun. One of our favorites that we found on the last day was Crazy Canucks. This is a bit of a longer walk south down the beach, but a great little destination and friendly bartenders. The Palapa Bar and Grill to the north about 1.5 miles is fun, but a little pricey. Worth a visit on a hot day, but besides the Palapa Bar I would not visit any of the pubs north of the bridge as our experience was the service was less friendly and prices were higher.

The water is beautiful in front of the house, but not really suited for swimming as it is only about knee deep until you get out further (~50 yards), but further out there is a lot of boat traffic. We did go swimming/snorkeling off the doc at Wet Willies and that was lots of fun. The house has lounge chairs you can bring out to the water’s edge and enjoy the sun and view, but it isn’t your typical sandy beach. Plenty good for us, but if you are a lounge on the beach sand lover, this isn’t the best spot. Sandy beaches on San Pedro are limited, but the big resorts seem to have built up their sandy beach experience if that is what you are looking for.

We did several dives with Patajo’s dive shop and also did a private group snorkel trip to ray and shark alley. This trip is not to be missed while on San Pedro and Patajo’s did a great job of avoiding the crowds. They don’t bring huge groups, so the experience is much more personalized. You can rent everything you need for them as reasonable prices.

We hope to return to San Pedro in the future and look forward to staying at Casa Caracol again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The beach area.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy G
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic House on the Beach”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This has been the most rewarding vacation I have ever had and a great amount of credit has to go the Phil and Marie and this house right on the beach. It is close to town, all activities, good food close, bars next door, or down the beach a couple of properties. Phil looked after the plane ride from Belize City and a number of other things extremely well. House is absolutely the cleanest place I have ever stayed at, no exception. The house keeping friendly, as everyone is in Belize, but perfect in every way.Had a great time and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molmaxmom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful vacation home.”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Caracol and owners Phil and Marie are wonderful. The house is just 35 steps to the waters edge. Beautiful clean beach and clear water. Phil is a great host and was most helpful and flexible in planning outings/excursions. This was by far one of my most favorite and relaxing vacations ever. Phil arranged our flights to San Pedro and met us at the airport with a taxi. I could never ask for better service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 540
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing