We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
416
28
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
416
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loved athens golf cart lone star grill black orchid ambergris caye pelican reef bedroom unit sister property flights of stairs dinner reservations miles south of san pedro fish pool bar granite countertops the security guard in town washer and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

I just visited Belize with two girlfriends and Athens Gate was perfect. It's a very short ride to town on the quieter south end. The condo was spacious, clean and overlooked the water. E and Ruth were the most friendly and helpful hosts. They make your stay and planning as easy as possible.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kbpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

I'm a local photographer specialized on vacation photos and I can say Athens Gate is one of the most photogenic resorts I've work with. Once in a while,even if I'm a local, I escape and stay at different resorts from Ambergris Caye just to experience what my clients do... and this one is a "ah-mazing" as my son said. Great staff, Beach BAR is "whoa!" The pool is lovely! Very clean resort and great location (not far from town, but not too close) a definitely WOW place!
Definitely recommended by a local!

Room Tip: Love the rooms with the the view of Carribean Sea!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverarusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Athens Gate is by far one of the nicest places to stay on Ambergris Caye. The facility itself is extremely clean and well equipped if you want to cook yourself. Direct TV in each bedroom provides all of the television amenities of the U.S. The Wi-Fi is adequate but not state of the art. We had 4 people in the Condo and sometimes it worked well and others it did not. The condo has a washer and dryer set that works well and also daily maid service.
The location is perfect. The condo is a 15 minute golf cart ride from downtown San Pedro. Far enough away to be secluded but close enough to be convenient. There is a small grocery store right around the corner for last minute items. The property is maintained extremely well by "E". He is there and willing to help for anything at all you may need from booking excursions to teaching you about fishing from the pier to getting the bikes ready for you to ride. He is a fantastic property manager who seems to foresee your every need. If staying at Athens Gate we would highly recommend booking any excursions through "E". All in all we would highly recommend a trip to Belize and staying at Athens Gate.

Room Tip: All rooms have GREAT views.
Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

If the goddess Athenia had wanted a home in the tropics this would have been her pleasure . The magnificent greek gables that corner the buildings make it stand out among the normal buildings seen here on ambergris caye you know just walking around the grounds from the overall ambiance of the lay out the swim up pool facing the ocean with the waterfall above you as you enjoy a cool drink in the pool you know you have arrived at a place of pure pleasure . the resort manager is commonly refered to a E { Elisar} who will act as your consierige for the length of your trip taking great care to arrange all your needs from restaurant reservations to all the wonderfull tours available like diving snorkeling zip lining mayan ruins fishing etc . But the joy is just begining because behind the doors of each unit is a beautifull home away from home with no expence spared on decor or aminitees needed for your pleasure I love the attention to detail of the units you feel you are in a conde nast condo shoot , truly a very satisying experience . we would highly recomend this for anybody that wants to be close to the action but seperated from it by a short distance we enjoyed our coctails by the beach and love the area surounding it .

Room Tip: beach facing units are our choice.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best/most accommodating place that we have ever stayed. The staff, especially "E" was so helpful with information about the island and any excursions you would want to take. You would not be disappointed in a stay here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank bolo0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews