We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
423
28
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
423
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loved athens black orchid golf cart ambergris caye lone star grill pelican reef miles south of san pedro bedroom unit sister property pool bar granite countertops three bedroom fish wonderful week nice kitchen the security guard in town
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Athens Gate is by far one of the nicest places to stay on Ambergris Caye. The facility itself is extremely clean and well equipped if you want to cook yourself. Direct TV in each bedroom provides all of the television amenities of the U.S. The Wi-Fi is adequate but not state of the art. We had 4 people in the Condo and sometimes it worked well and others it did not. The condo has a washer and dryer set that works well and also daily maid service.
The location is perfect. The condo is a 15 minute golf cart ride from downtown San Pedro. Far enough away to be secluded but close enough to be convenient. There is a small grocery store right around the corner for last minute items. The property is maintained extremely well by "E". He is there and willing to help for anything at all you may need from booking excursions to teaching you about fishing from the pier to getting the bikes ready for you to ride. He is a fantastic property manager who seems to foresee your every need. If staying at Athens Gate we would highly recommend booking any excursions through "E". All in all we would highly recommend a trip to Belize and staying at Athens Gate.

Room tip: All rooms have GREAT views.
Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

If the goddess Athenia had wanted a home in the tropics this would have been her pleasure . The magnificent greek gables that corner the buildings make it stand out among the normal buildings seen here on ambergris caye you know just walking around the grounds from the overall ambiance of the lay out the swim up pool facing the ocean with the waterfall above you as you enjoy a cool drink in the pool you know you have arrived at a place of pure pleasure . the resort manager is commonly refered to a E { Elisar} who will act as your consierige for the length of your trip taking great care to arrange all your needs from restaurant reservations to all the wonderfull tours available like diving snorkeling zip lining mayan ruins fishing etc . But the joy is just begining because behind the doors of each unit is a beautifull home away from home with no expence spared on decor or aminitees needed for your pleasure I love the attention to detail of the units you feel you are in a conde nast condo shoot , truly a very satisying experience . we would highly recomend this for anybody that wants to be close to the action but seperated from it by a short distance we enjoyed our coctails by the beach and love the area surounding it .

Room tip: beach facing units are our choice.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best/most accommodating place that we have ever stayed. The staff, especially "E" was so helpful with information about the island and any excursions you would want to take. You would not be disappointed in a stay here.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bolo0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First time to Belize and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Such a paradise setting and the staff -- especially ' E ' is amazing! All you need to do is give him an idea of what adventure you are looking for and he arranges it. Diving here is incredible! Went fishing and caught 2.5 lbs of fish. It was cut for cooking and ' E ' gave us a short shopping list and he cooked the fish on the BBQ for us. It was as good or better than the meals in town! So much fun for the family. I would recommend Athens Gate to Everyone coming to this picturesque town of San Pedro, Belize.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Athens Gate for four nights and loved it! We stayed in Condo 5 and the view of the pool, beach and ocean was amazing. Our condo was very nice and had everything we needed. E and Javier were so great and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. The one drawback is there isn't a restaurant at Athens Gate, however we didn't have time to get breakfast before a fishing excursion so E called in breakfast for us and had it delivered! Also after our fishing excursion E and Javier barbecued our fresh fish on the beach and it was amazing! Probably our favorite meal. San Pedro in general was a really fun place to visit, and we had a great time bar hopping to different beach bars and enjoying the views with a Belikin. Athens Gate is probably 10ish minutes South of town by golf cart. The golf cart ride is a little bumpy but it's fun to drive through town and see everything. Athens Gate seems to be a good distance from town because you are close enough that it isn't a hassle to go to town, but far enough away that it's quiet and relaxing. If you go to San Pedro, I would suggest Athens Gate!

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RMG071986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews