We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
416
28
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
416
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loved athens golf cart lone star grill black orchid ambergris caye pelican reef bedroom unit sister property flights of stairs dinner reservations miles south of san pedro fish pool bar granite countertops the security guard in town washer and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2014

If the goddess Athenia had wanted a home in the tropics this would have been her pleasure . The magnificent greek gables that corner the buildings make it stand out among the normal buildings seen here on ambergris caye you know just walking around the grounds from the overall ambiance of the lay out the swim up pool facing the ocean with the waterfall above you as you enjoy a cool drink in the pool you know you have arrived at a place of pure pleasure . the resort manager is commonly refered to a E { Elisar} who will act as your consierige for the length of your trip taking great care to arrange all your needs from restaurant reservations to all the wonderfull tours available like diving snorkeling zip lining mayan ruins fishing etc . But the joy is just begining because behind the doors of each unit is a beautifull home away from home with no expence spared on decor or aminitees needed for your pleasure I love the attention to detail of the units you feel you are in a conde nast condo shoot , truly a very satisying experience . we would highly recomend this for anybody that wants to be close to the action but seperated from it by a short distance we enjoyed our coctails by the beach and love the area surounding it .

Room Tip: beach facing units are our choice.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best/most accommodating place that we have ever stayed. The staff, especially "E" was so helpful with information about the island and any excursions you would want to take. You would not be disappointed in a stay here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank bolo0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First time to Belize and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Such a paradise setting and the staff -- especially ' E ' is amazing! All you need to do is give him an idea of what adventure you are looking for and he arranges it. Diving here is incredible! Went fishing and caught 2.5 lbs of fish. It was cut for cooking and ' E ' gave us a short shopping list and he cooked the fish on the BBQ for us. It was as good or better than the meals in town! So much fun for the family. I would recommend Athens Gate to Everyone coming to this picturesque town of San Pedro, Belize.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Athens Gate for four nights and loved it! We stayed in Condo 5 and the view of the pool, beach and ocean was amazing. Our condo was very nice and had everything we needed. E and Javier were so great and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. The one drawback is there isn't a restaurant at Athens Gate, however we didn't have time to get breakfast before a fishing excursion so E called in breakfast for us and had it delivered! Also after our fishing excursion E and Javier barbecued our fresh fish on the beach and it was amazing! Probably our favorite meal. San Pedro in general was a really fun place to visit, and we had a great time bar hopping to different beach bars and enjoying the views with a Belikin. Athens Gate is probably 10ish minutes South of town by golf cart. The golf cart ride is a little bumpy but it's fun to drive through town and see everything. Athens Gate seems to be a good distance from town because you are close enough that it isn't a hassle to go to town, but far enough away that it's quiet and relaxing. If you go to San Pedro, I would suggest Athens Gate!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RMG071986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Athens Gate is small, but wonderful in every way. The service here is impeccable! The staff will arrange anything you would like as far as restaurant reservations, excursions, fishing, you name it. The beach is private and serene. The pool is very nice. Our condo was nicely furnished & in perfect condition. Here is a picture from our living room. What a view!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jennifer N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews