We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise in Belize” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athens Gate
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Hartington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I recently visited Belize for the first time. Through reading, Trip Advisor and Vacation Rental By Owner, I came across Athens Gate. From the first moment we landed in Belize we thought we were in Paradise however it wasn't until we arrived at Athens Gate were we sure. As other reviews have said, it was an easy process booking our condo and Rhonda also took care of making reservations for our Island Hopper to San Pedro. Our condo was on the second floor and overlooked the pool and the beautiful ocean. The balcony was huge and held a table with four chairs, which is where we ate most of our meals. We were visiting in February and the weather was wonderful with little rain and we only saw mosquitos on our last evening. The breeze kept most of them away. The inside of the condo was beautifully decorated and I found out later it had been planned and decorated by Rhonda. The kitchen, dining room and living room were open concept and wonderfully spacious. The kitchen had granite counters and all the essentials for making supper and of course, cocktails. The condo easily had enough room for four people and guests for supper. The master bedroom was huge and had a king size bed that was very comfortable. Attached was a master bathroom with a walk in shower, double sinks and a soaker tub. The second bedroom although small was big enough for two and we would have easily been happy with it. A second bathroom although smaller had everything needed for another couple. The place was spotless and added touches had been made by the housekeeper who took the time to make sure everything was perfect. The outside gardens were also beautifully kept and everyone was always at work making it the perfect spot to relax. As everyone else has mentioned "E" is the real backbone of the property. He did everything for us including making reservations for supper, renting our golf carts, booking our excursions and just spending the time to talk to us about Belize and it's attractions. It was our anniversary when were visiting and I had mentioned it to Rhonda during our phone conversation. On arrival there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us. And when we went for dinner that evening on E's suggestion we made reservations at one of the more romantic restaurants in San Pedro. Unknown to us E called ahead and told the restaurant about our celebration and they decorated the table with flower petals and gave us complimentary the most wonderful dessert we have ever had. We also ate across the street at the Lone Star which had wholesome, down home cooking (mind you the food wasn't for the calorie conscious, but then your on holidays after all). Did I also mention the snorkeling we did right off the beach down at Athens Gate's sister resort? We saw all types of fish but also some barracuda, angel fish, sting rays and eagle rays. We didn't however see the shy octopus we heard lives under the pier. I highly recommend you stay at Athen's Gate if given an opportunity. You will not regret it and please say hello to "E" from his friends in Ontario, Canada (Debbie and Greg)

Room Tip: None to add as everything was perfect...really it was paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg/Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
122
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

What I found was a little piece of Heaven when I arrived at Athen's Gate. After the easy communication and booking process by Rhonda, she offered to also book our hopper plane from BZE airport to San Pedro. She also took care of the taxi to/from the airport/condo. They even have their own golf carts for rent. The cost was simply added to our credit card upon arrival!

When we arrived, we were greeted by a big smile from a man named "E". I capitalized the letter "E" in the title, because without the owners capitalizing on this rare gem, it would just be another beautiful condo. "E" definitely makes this resort a treasure. "E" gave us valuable info, a map of the city with recommendations, booked all of our excursions, cleaned and bbq'd food for guests, bartended, arranged transportation, got fresh coconuts from trees to use for our tropical drinks, washed our dirty golf cart, and the list goes on! No matter what your desire, "E" graciously handled it with a smile. "E's" two assistant staff were exceptionally helpful and as nice as they come!

Rhonda and Joe were on site, and would always ask how our accommodations were and if we needed anything. At the same time, they kept their distance so that we felt as if the place was ours. Wonderfully nice and helpful people. Their property is immaculate, including the sand freshly raked every morning. They have housekeeping and it is a full amenity property.

It was so refreshing to stay in a location where people have an older set of values: trust, communication, and respect. My friend stayed at Xanadu the year before (for a higher $$$ and less space/conditions) & said this was WAY better and one of the best vacations she has EVER had (and she has traveled the world). I have recommended this property to everyone & I am saving my money for my next vacation to HEavEn's GatE.......THANK YOU TO ALL!!!!!!

Room Tip: The 3bd condos are in the unit closest to the sand/best view. The best view is 3rd or 4th floor abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springtwn, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I along with my sister there were 6 of us who stayed in a 3 BR condo facing the ocean. From the time we arrived at the airport all of our needs were taken care of. Our flight from Belize City was arranged by Rhonda who owns Athens Gate along with her husband Joe. Rhonda and Joe (who were from Texas and moved to this beautiful island). are both very nice and seem to enjoy making your trip to their beautiful resort and Ambergris Caye special. Elizar ( all call him "E") who has his office in the swimup bar is the go to guy for any and everything we needed. When we first got there I told him we had left a bag in Belize City. By mid morning the next day my bag was placed up on the bar by "E" fully intact. Everything he took care of for us seemed so effortless to him but was so awesome to us. From arranging for our golf cart which we had in about 15 minites to making suggestions for spa time and good restaraunts. He took care of it all with a sense of ease. All while smiling and mixing us drinks at the beautiful swim - up bar. the grounds were beautiful and spotlessly clean. laying on the beach at night was wonderful. It was so quiet and a wonderful coastal breeze. In the distance you could hear the waves hitting the reef out from the condos. The reef is the second largest in the world next to Australia. Our condo was beautiful and well appointed. Very nice Kitchen all SS appliances and everything you would need to make delicious meals. We basically did a little breakfast items coffee and snacks. On the hugh balcony at night you could see boats and enjoy just sitting and listening to the sea. The town of San Pedro was about a 2 and 1/2 mile trip on golf cart which was a lot of fun singing with the harmonca through the streets. great little shops and restaraunts in town to check out. We esepecially enjoyed Fidos which is a very large Bar restaraunt with good food and drinks and some awesome entertainment. Kelly McGuire and Dusty Barber were amazing and with the flamingo guitars. They just kept playing and the crowd was very pumped. One thing we were very impressed with the people who lived there were so friendly. It seemed like home and we cant wait to go back for a longer stay next time. Joe and Rhonda have some other condos just down the beach that are also very nice Pelican Reef Villas. We walked down several mornings for breakfast where we sat around the beautiful pool facing the beach. We had wonderful breakfast Ruthie and another lady took very good care of us and served us a most delicious breakfast. Ever since we came back we cannot stop thinkink about this beaultiful place with smiling faces that are all so ready and willing to make your stay something you will have fond memories and soooo...We Cant WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

Thanks again to Joe/Rhonda/Elezar and all the wonderful staff at Athens Gate!!

Room Tip: If you can get one that faces the ocean with the balcony it is so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Two weeks at Athens Gate Villas with wonderful friends went by pretty fast ! I had my Birthday In Belize concert/party there on the beach under a tent and it was the best one I've had in Belize! Joe & Eleazar set it up beautifully complete with a riser stage, tables & chairs and a full moon ! Big E at the bar knows everyone on the island that needs knowin and set us up with great snorkle & dive trips with pickup at the dock there..and also a visit to the Mayan Ruins... "2012 doesn't worry me..." (from my song "King of the Island"). Hanging out on their beach or pier or around the pool bar was perfectly relaxing.

PLUS.. walking across the street to 'eat at Joes' in the new LONE STAR CANTINA was a special treat. everything I tried off the menu I would and did order again ! Looking forward to next visit ! - Kelly McGuire , Redfish Island Records, www.redfishisland.com

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 467kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My family stayed there for two weeks in January 2012 and enjoyed the condos immensely. We did NOT want to leave! It was beautifully decorated and had everything. Elizar, the guy who works there, was wonderful. We enjoyed chatting with him. He is very accommodating and friendly. The condo area was always kept clean. We enjoyed using the pier for snorkeling and swimming. We will recommend this to other friends if they plan a trip to Belize!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
7.5 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.3 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.6 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
15.3 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Gate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Gate

Property: Athens Gate
Address: Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,977 - ₹ 33,586
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Athens Gate Resort. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Athens Gate blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athens Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing