We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous week in the sun!”
Ocean View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean View
Casita outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
62 reviews
Ocean View
Casita outside
our beach
beach view from Casita
Bedroom
TV area
ocean right in front
Outside, driveway
our beach
perfect swimming conditions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Debbie115...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Title: Casita Buena Vista doesn't live up to its advertising.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This place is o.k. at best but generally I'd describe it as run-down and in need of cleaning and repairs.
1. Bathroom has significant grout missing between floor tiles, mold in shower stall, cracked tiles, sloppy patching, cracked toilet bowl, worn ugly sink counter/cabinetry, and it smells bad.
2. Dishwasher never cleaned the dishes adequately and so we ended up doing them by hand to ensure they were clean.
3. Rust stains on floor tiles.
4. Venetian blinds throughout rental had broken and missing slats. Many of them couldn't be raised evenly and so were often hanging on an angle.
5. Two windows could never be raised, even after bringing it to the owner's attention.
6. One blind broke in half when we tried to simply raise it. Another one fell out in one piece when we tried to raise the slats.
7. Vertical blinds at sliding glass door wouldn't open or close - just stationary
8. Freezer had a lot of rust in it.
9. Ice machine didn't work and when brought to attention of owner, no effort was made to repair it.
10. Disposal didn't work when we first arrived. Brought it to owner's attention and it was repaired.
11. Bedroom had windows on 3 sides. Looking out the windows on two of those sides resulted in a view of major construction debris - cinder blocks, old plywood, blue tarp covering something, wheelbarrow....
12. The owner has said that he inspects the property each time the housekeeper has cleaned it. Not true. We were often en suite and he didn't come to inspect. If he did, he should have had the housekeeper clean off the cabinet near the dishwasher that she continually missed - some kind of white substance all over it. I cleaned most of it off myself after 1.5 weeks. Likewise, she shorted us on either wash cloths or towels several times.
12. Contrary to what the advertising for this property states:
a) There was no cold water dispenser unless you want to call the regular tap that.
b) There was no hair dryer.
c) Ice maker didn't work.
d) No restaurant guide unless you count the odds and ends business cards and restaurant flyers stacked there.
e) The washer and dryer were locked up except for the housekeeper's use on the days she was there, so they're not freely available for guest use. I was allowed to use them once in an emergency, but the groundsman had to set them and turn them on for me. I wasn't allowed to touch it.
f) There was no tub in this bathroom. Just a shower stall.
g) There was no DVD player. How were we going to use his "video library?"
h) The owner really pads the outside amenities, listing "barbeque," "Outdoor Grill," and "Outdoor Grill Charcoal." Also states he doesn't provide charcoal for the grill, so it seems like he's listing a grill 3 times. The "patio" was a slab of concrete outside the sliding glass door - about 4' x 6'. The "Lanai" was even smaller and was not adequately screened, though this is something that was re-screened for 3 days during our stay - most of the day - giving us little peace and quiet for those days.
i) One airplane travel size shampoo was provided for our 2.5 week stay. Same size for shower gel, and a 1/4- full 8 oz. liquid soap dispenser. Bought more of our own
j) Garden? Deck Wood? No idea.
k) Garage? We didn't need this, but we never saw one. There was a utility/supply shed that might have once been a garage..... but it seemed awfully small to fit a car in.

My point in all this is that the property wasn't entirely what the owner advertised. The property looks good in the pictures and description, but there are no close-ups to show the real condition of the place. At the price the owner's charging, this property doesn't stack up.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: nice sand area next to ocean with palm trees and lounge chairs
Liked least: Property was old, run-down, and a bad deal
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2012
You gotta be kidding !

The guests vacationed 17 nights during prime season/Easter at a discounted, very competitive rate.

The Casita is over 1000 sqft with 19 windows, has ALL brand new furniture and a brand new bed; the kitchen has been remodeled just about a year ago with nearly all new appliances; though the stainless steel fridge is old . . . 5 years old !!!
Blinds can be raised evenly if both strings are used; not too well if you use only one string.

The outdoor seating/porch area is all nicely tiled; there are no slabs of concrete anywhere!!! The porch had been re-screen but only during times when the guests were on the beach or on a trip.
Yes, the bathroom is a little outdated, but functioning very well with all new fixtures; certainly no cracks in the toilet and absolutely no mold.
We are very proud of our cleanliness and I do a thorough inspection each time new guests arrive.

If the water dispenser (the blue button inside the fridge), the DVD (built into the bedroom TV) and the hair dryer cannot be found . . . . just ask !!
If the garbage disposal does not work, maybe it has been filled with things (metal) not belonging in there.
Oh, to mention the missing big shampoo, the body lotion etc. . . . . it's a vacation rental not the "4 Seasons" . . . . have you ever compared pricing ?

Inside the Casita you will find about 5 books about Belize and the island . . . it's hard to provide a restaurant guide if such does not exist.
In general, we are very proud of our customer service; if there should be a problem, we will solve it right away. We provide plenty of towels, beach towels, even shampoos if requested.
The laundry room will remain locked with access only for the maid and the groundskeeper . . . for obvious reasons.

This spring we also had the honor of hosting a Senior VP from Tripadvisor/Flipkey at Buena Vista who had a fantastic vacation and left us a 5 Star review.
That should say it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funsmith1
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous week in the sun!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This place is very special. Impeccably maintained. The best beach and privatte snorkeling reef right out front. Better than the luxury hotels. Wolfgang, the owner, points out the best local restaurants and gives a private tour on the first day. Very helpful. Felt very safe and secure at this wonderful place! We'll be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed 3 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DCNemesis
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable, Affordable, Best Vacation EVER!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011 for a stay in April 2010

Casita Buena Vista was the perfect place to stay in San Pedro, Belize.

The home itself is located just a couple of minutes outside of the town center, which made it quiet and secluded.

The home is beautiful, clean, comfortable, and very private. We had everything that we needed, and in case we needed anything else, Wolfgang and his staff were always available.

The private beach is gorgeous, with all of the water toys that you can think of at your disposal. The private dock was very convenient for our water activities. Each day we got picked up and dropped off for our snorkeling, diving, and fishing trips just feet from our front door! We enjoyed walking along the beach and viewing all of the beautiful homes that dot the coast line.

Wolfgang was the best host that we could have hoped for. He picked us up at the airport and gave us a brief tour of the island, stopping to show us the best places for food and entertainment. His staff kept the property clean and comfortable, and even prepared coconuts and other goodies for us to enjoy!

Every aspect of this trip was a dream come true. I would recommend it to ANYONE without hesitation.

Thank you, Wolfgang, for being such a great host! We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property and amazing service.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing