We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
122
34
14
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
34
14
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family cottage taco shack private beach garden cottage bunk room minute boat ride water beds diamond members beach beds empanadas british colonial aerial yoga dirty martini gyoza martini bar the cottages rent a golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to the resort. Previously we had brought our 2 boys with us but this time we came with another couple. The family cottage was perfect for us with separate bedrooms on each side of the cottage with dinner and living room in the middle. We had a fantastic breakfast in the big house and top notch sushi at the restaurant right there on the property. The hands down best part of our stay was the newly opened private beach especially since it is on the leeward side of the island so we didn't smell sargassum seaweed that had collected on the beaches on the wayward side. We walked out in waist deep crystal clear water for 100 meters. There were tons of activities like kayaks paddle boards cornhole volleyball floating hamacks snorkeling or chilling in the raised cabanas over the water. They had a full bar and kitchen serving snacks. It requires a free 10 minute boat ride to get there and back but is well worth it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank kmcolorado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear kmcolorado1

As this was your 4th visit to Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club, I think you are now part of the family! We are very, very honored to have your support and thank you for your support and also for your kind words. It means the world to the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

As a well traveled, dedicated Diamond member this Hilton property did not disappoint and actually raised the bar on what a top tier Hilton brand experience should be. From the dedicated staff at dinner (thank you Maria) to the boat and house keeping employees, the service at this private resort is some of the best. I especially appreciated the diligence to every detail from George in concierge services as he helped with all excursions even as changes were made day of.... everyone was extremely accommodating. As for the resort itself, this is a very exclusive part of the island and I appreciated that the design of the property was blended into the natural landscape including the beach club which is truly a slice of paradise. The Family Suite was a welcomed complimentary upgrade which was very well constructed and detailed in local mahogany craftsmanship. Beds were comfortable, rooms were cold, and the occasional light rain on the tin roof was actually extremely peaceful. I would recommend a golf cart to get around and the lobster spearing excursion as musts. Other highlights included the Executive Chef and staff that prepared our daily seafood catches perfectly, and with creativity. The day beds at the Beach Club are spectacular with paired with a handcrafted Mai Tai from the bar. Overall, I can’t say a single negative thing about the entire experience except for make sure to bring your eucalyptus oil rub or insect spray as you are in the tropics and bugs are part of this beautiful habitat. This is not your typical Hilton resort as attention to all detail is noticed and very much appreciated. This property I must say with confidence will only get better with time and truly appreciate being able to experience Belize with Mahogany Bay for the first time. This property did not feel like Disneyland, instead embracing both natural and native surroundings while paying homage to Colonial British architecture. I will definitely be recommending this to friends and family along with a return trip sometime down the road. Enjoy!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank jmsanchez85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is new and beautiful and the private beach is clean and offers many amenities. The boat ride to and from the beach is pleasant. There are many positives to mention about the hotel; however, there are no perks whatsoever for gold members. No complimentary room upgrade, even when the hotel must be sitting at about 10% occupancy.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank NeverWantToGoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear NeverWantToGoHome

Thank you for visiting Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club on your recent trip to Ambergris Caye, Belize. We appreciate your visit and glad that you enjoyed the resort. I will check with the team on the upgrade as to my knowledge, the upgrade for Gold is to an Exec level room, which is a type we don't feature. We are sorry for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Let me start by saying that should anyone have any desire to visit Belize, a stay at the Mahogany Bay Resort is a must!!

The resort is stunning and the service delivered by the amazing and friendly staff is first class from the moment you arrive. Every single staff member encountered will go out of their way to ensure that you are made to feel special.

The resort itself is so amazing that its only flaw is that you might not want to leave at any point and spend your entire stay in Belize at the resort. The pool is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful and clean, and the shops, cafes and bars all in close proximity to the resort are a pleasure to visit also.

Everything and everyone associated with the Mahogany Bay Resort is wonderful and I urge anyone reading this review to make plans for a stay at the resort at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Get yourself over to the private beach and enjoy a day of laziness in the day beds in the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

As a general statement, our trip was outstanding. The resort is well appointed and is staffed accordingly. The accommodations are comfortable and retain colonial island charm. Although construction of all the improvements is not yet complete, the staff managed to make every effort to make our trip perfect. Maria was a joy in the dining room and George’s attention to our special requests was second to none. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mcdonaldshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear mcdonaldshelton

Thank you for selecting Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club as your resort on your recent visit to Ambergris Caye. We very much appreciate that and also for your kind words. We will ensure that Maria & George know that they had a positive impact on your visit.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews