We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME! A little piece of Paradise!”
Review of The Phoenix Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phoenix Resort
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

May 11th - l8th
I am a Belizean, born and raised there, who now resides in Canada. I have been back quite regularly over the years to visit my family and have always brought my children (4) and friends along on every trip home. On every trip we spend some time in San Pedro at a resort. We all (10) agree that on this trip - the Phoenix - won hands down!! The young adults loved the convenience of being in town for the night life and not having to take a boat back up north or south in the early hours of the morning or driving a golf cart after a night out!! The only negative was that we had booked a 2-bedroom beachfront ground-level condo and a 3 bedroom beachview condo, which happened to be on the 3rd Floor, away in another building (no elevators). Not recommended for older folks with bad knees or other health issues. Next trip we will be sure to book condos closer together! The Red Ginger restaurant had the best Coconut Shrimps and the Molten Chocolate dessert was to die for!! Hello to Mark, Gabriela, Mac and the rest of the staff from all of us. Thanks for everything. We will be back to stay for sure! Can't wait!! Until next time!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tlee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 673 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Everyone else has already shared the superlatives about this place, so I'll just say "ditto". What people considering Ambergris Caye should know is that most of the other resorts are North of the toll bridge and really require the rental of a golf cart to access any of San Pedro. On the other hand, the Phoenix is walking distance to anything in San Pedro.

Robbie's Dive Shop is just a couple of docks north of the Phoenix. Robbie and his crew are awesome. If you are in San Pedro and plan to SCUBA, you cannot go wrong staying at the Phoenix and diving with Robbie.

The photos attached show Robbie hugging a nurse shark and our view from our room balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miclone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at the Phoenix in Feb 2012, on the recommendation from a friend, and I agree that it is a great hotel and location in San Pedro. The only thing that would make it better was if the beach was right in front of the hotel. Truly though, it didn't make a huge difference to us as we were out and about during the day anyway and we could easily access the beach within steps of the hotel.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have HUGE wrap around decks that are great for enjoying the sounds of the waves and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Phoenix is by far the best hotel in San Pedro. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room. They cleaned it twice a day. The pool was very relaxing. We had a minor problem with a light switch in the bathroom when we arrived. They had someone to our room to look at it within 10 minutes and the guy had it fixed within a few minutes. They are located right in the downtown area. We never needed a golf cart to get around. Everything was within walking distance. The staff can arrange for any activities you want to do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coachmlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had a one bedroom ocean front condo and will just confirm the accuracy of all of the other reviews. The service is amazing, the grounds are small but beautiful (no direct beach access) and well maintained and the on site restaurant is quite tasty. The room itself is much better decorated than it appears on the website, stainless steel appliances and beautiful wood paneling throughout. The convenience of the location can't be overstated, steps from everything you'd need to see or do. I was greeted with a rum punch and there was a bottle of rum and coke waiting for me in the suite. They also offer a comp cell phone and ipads/kindles if you so desire. If you're bringing kids along, there's a respectable dvd and board game library (even Wiis) to choose from after the pool closes and dinner is over. It didn't strike me as overly family or couples oriented, a good mix (granted this was during the off-season). However, if you're not looking to splurge (and don't need space larger than an NYC apartment), many of the other hotels in the area appeared more than adequate. I also found it cheaper to set up my own tours and packages. The water taxi is a great and easy/comfortable way to get there, though the staff will recommend flying (they have a relationship with one of the airlines).

The hotel also has 2 sister restaurants in town and you get a 10% discount. I didn't try them but I recommend getting over to Estel's for breakfast (which they serve until 430). They have a couple of parrots with cat calls better than most of the men on the beach and the food (and service) is great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citymouse1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
3.2 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
5.7 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Resort

Address: Pescador Drive | San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: ₹ 20,813 - ₹ 35,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Resort is a modern and luxurious beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, and in the charming town of San Pedro. What we offer on-site: Red Ginger serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service, a pool bar and rooftop bar, Sol Spa, the island’s most popular spa, a beautiful heated saline chlorinated main pool and separate heated saline lap pool, fitness center, and business center. What’s included in our rates: Round trip ground taxi transfers, daily maid service and nightly turn down service, Keurig coffee maker and pods, bottled water, free Wi-Fi, in suite Bose wireless speakers and iPads, Aveda bath products, use of bicycles, kayaks, paddle boards, yoga classes, painting classes, chocolate tastings, wine tastings, free daily cocktail mixers from 5pm to 6pm, on-site fitness center, access to local gym and Crossfit facilities, and more. Breakfast is not included but is available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Hotel San Pedro
The Phoenix Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing