We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a fantastic place. It is a medium size boutique hotel with the nicest of personalized service. We had a beautiful suite and we were steps to the beautiful ocean and a spectacular pool. The restaurant was great for every meal. We had one minor glitch with a room service order, but the management corrected it immediately and more than made up for what was something so minor. We love this place and would both recommend it highly and definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerThornhill93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    132
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
269
351
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Let me begin by saying that our group of six (3 adults & 3 children 14, 13, 10) had a wonderful time during our 6 nights at Las Terrazas. I did a lot of research before going (read a lot of Trip Advisor reviews on the different hotels in Ambergris Caye) and was impressed with the positive reviews on LT. I must say, the hotel is beautiful! We stayed in a first floor room just off the pool and it was nice to open our door and dive right into the refreshing water. The hotel has a very quiet atmosphere and a boutique feeling. So, don't expect a "bar scene" ... it really is a place for someone looking to "get away from it all." The staff was great (esply Nigel the waiter) and really connected with the kids. I agree with one reviewer who said that the beach is probably one of the best on the island. It is situated on the North side of the island, secluded from San Pedro's harbor and noise, but only a $7/person, 7 min water taxi ride away. The beach at LT is sandy white and has lots of comfy beach chairs/cabanas, under the palm trees, overlooking the beautiful turquoise water. There is indeed lots of water grass in the water, but that is pretty much everywhere on the island. But no worries... they have a pier that goes out into the bay with a roped-off swimming area at the end of it, which is completely clear of grass. We all enjoyed jumping off the pier into the water. And, as you look out from their beach, the reef is just a 10 min kayak ride or an easy Hobie Boat ride away. LT has lots of kayaks for the guests' use at NO charge. As a matter of fact, we took the Hobie and kayaks several times to the reef, tied them to one of the nearby buoys, and did our own snorkeling at the reef. If you're an avid scuba diver, like my husband and brother, then LT is also very convenient because the White Sands Scuba shop is literally on the beach, right next to the hotel. It was sooooo convenient for the guys to wake up at 8, and decide, spur of the moment, depending on their mood, if they wanted to go for a dive (Note: they dove everyday!!) By 8:30 they were out on the boat, returning just in time for lunch with the kids and me! And, we found their prices to be competitive and the service outstanding. The Shop arranged for a group of 5 divers from LT to go out to the Blue Hole, all of whom returned very pleased with their outing.
Speaking of lunch... this is the "other" side of the hotel that also warrants some commentary. Unfortunately, I can't be as positive. We arrived on Easter Sunday, just in time for dinner. We were told that they had run out of beef and ice cream, but it was a holiday wkend, after all. No biggie, right?? WRONG!! In fact, they ran out of something every, single day. The next day they still had no ice cream... then they had no hamburger buns... then they had no chicken AND fish (hope u like shrimp!!)... then they had no beef, no brownies... Well, you get the picture. We never saw ice cream, barely had orange juice, and started every breakfast by asking what they were out of that day. We always had breakfast at LT (the best meal of the day there)... we all loved their eggs, pancakes. Lunch was ok... chicken quesadillas, salad, chicken soup, burgers, pizza... nothing special, your typical American fare. As for dinner, after a couple of mediocre meals, our family ventured elsewhere (next door for Thai food, a short taxi ride away for Spanish Tapas, or a water taxi ride to downtown San Pedro). TBH, we had a hard time finding anything, on the entire island, close to the food served in Gran Case in San Maarten. Believe me, we're not snobs and heard this complaint from other guests while we were there. But, is it too much to ask for a hotel like LT to serve a nice piece of grilled grouper or red snapper and to have in stock what they've listed on the menu? The chef introduced himself and even offered to do something special for our family. He's very nice, but needs a lesson in how to keep his kitchen stocked and how to rev up the meals. We never got sick, or anything like that, we were just not impressed with the caliber of the dinners there (a 3 out of 5). And the cost - $320 dinner for the 3 adults and 3 kids (no alcohol / just entrees w a couple of desserts) made it a bit more painful.
It's for this reason that I don't give them a perfect score. But, if you're willing to venture out for some of your meals, then you'd probably leave generally impressed as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the resort, grounds and dive shop. We recognize that you had many options of places to stay while on the island of Ambergris Caye and are honored that you selected Las Terrazas Resort.

We have no excuses for the dinner experience over the Easter Holiday. We were caught short in our inventory due the number of restaurant guests who were not staying at Las Terrazas and arrived without reservations. Many items were unavailable for restocking due to vendors and shops who close for this major Christian holiday.

We appreciate that you took the time to post your comments and hope that by having an overall positive experience you will think of us again should you return to Ambergris Caye.

Regards,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort



·
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I visited Las Terrazas in March 2011. It was kinda fun getting there - fly from Detroit to Orlando, Orlando to San Pedro, a small 8 seater flight to Ambergris Caye, a van to the pier and a water taxi to he hotel. At the hotel we were greated with a refreshing drink and taken to our condo.

The condo was a three bedroom two full bathroom unit with a balcony and washer and dryer. Granite kitchen with beautiful appliances. Couldn't have asked for nicer accomodations. I would have liked it closer to the beach (beach was visible) and there was an area sectioned off by our unit that was obviously once meant for adding to the facility, but building had stopped.

The beach was beautiful and lent itself nicely to a long walk every day. Some of there areas (some were private homes) on the beach needed to be swept of dead seaweed that had washed up, but all in all it was nice.

"O" the restaurant was just OK. Pricey, food only average. The best place was the restaurant two doors down the beach - Rendevoux beach bar and restaurant. That place we fantastic!

Las Terrazas has some permanent residents and some vacationers. It is a very small and quiet place - great for couples. I am not paticularly a swimming pool person, but for whatever reason I couldn't stay out of that pool. The temperature was perfect and the water felt so "soft".

If we go back to Belize we will probably stay at one of the bigger resorts because there is more activity, but if you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you. It's not convenient to get to town - you have to take a water taxi at $25 pp each way - and the town is nothing I would go to again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padmill0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOT SPRINGS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Las Terrazas is a perfect getaway for lovely accomodations, great staff and a fabulous chef at the restaurant O. We stayed for a week and every day was perfect. The small pool is perfect for sunning and reading and refreshing yourself. The water beckons you and the dock is the best in Ambergris Caye. We rode bikes and golf carts to town or took the water taxi-- the staff has terrific recommendations. The units are huge and the ambience was surreal. The chef had a fabulous Valentine menu and you can dine on the roof under the stars and the view is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Depends if you want ocean view or not. Just ask for it. Our condo actually had 3 bedrooms, 2 baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KERRYBELLEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife & I were more than impressed with the accommodations and service provided by Las Terrazas staff members. The condo was spacious and very nice, the staffers were very helpful (special thanks to Mario, Maurice, and Ishmael for all of their good tips during our stay) and did a great servicing our room each day, and the beachfront was very clean and picture-perfect. We used the complimentary kayaks and Hobie cat whenever we wanted, which was a real plus. We had no problems scheduling our requested excursions with the front desk staff. And the seafood at the O Restaurant was amazing!! (The grouper was our favorite.) Chef Alex came out to our table one night to ask if we had any special requests for dinner and to say that he would do his best to make our meal as enjoyable as possible, which was really cool. If I had to be picky, the one thing that could have been better is to have had easier access to a golf cart, which was sometimes hard to come by. No worries, though. We were able to get to town, which is about 4.5 miles away, pretty easily using the water taxis. All in all, LT is an awesome resort. My wife & I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: #133 (patio residence) was a 3 bed 2 bath condo complete w/ full kitchen, family, and dining rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.5 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
10.4 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
8.8 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.9 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Property: Las Terrazas Resort
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,580 - ₹ 53,788
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing