We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Terrazas Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azul Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
734
148
37
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
148
37
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef papydive shopwater taxifishambergris cayegolf cartfull kitchenplunge poolin townthe white sandshobie catdestination weddingthree bedroomthe general managerwasher and dryerboat captainour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Let me begin by saying that our group of six (3 adults & 3 children 14, 13, 10) had a wonderful time during our 6 nights at Las Terrazas. I did a lot of research before going (read a lot of Trip Advisor reviews on the different hotels in Ambergris Caye) and was impressed with the positive reviews on LT. I must say, the hotel is beautiful! We stayed in a first floor room just off the pool and it was nice to open our door and dive right into the refreshing water. The hotel has a very quiet atmosphere and a boutique feeling. So, don't expect a "bar scene" ... it really is a place for someone looking to "get away from it all." The staff was great (esply Nigel the waiter) and really connected with the kids. I agree with one reviewer who said that the beach is probably one of the best on the island. It is situated on the North side of the island, secluded from San Pedro's harbor and noise, but only a $7/person, 7 min water taxi ride away. The beach at LT is sandy white and has lots of comfy beach chairs/cabanas, under the palm trees, overlooking the beautiful turquoise water. There is indeed lots of water grass in the water, but that is pretty much everywhere on the island. But no worries... they have a pier that goes out into the bay with a roped-off swimming area at the end of it, which is completely clear of grass. We all enjoyed jumping off the pier into the water. And, as you look out from their beach, the reef is just a 10 min kayak ride or an easy Hobie Boat ride away. LT has lots of kayaks for the guests' use at NO charge. As a matter of fact, we took the Hobie and kayaks several times to the reef, tied them to one of the nearby buoys, and did our own snorkeling at the reef. If you're an avid scuba diver, like my husband and brother, then LT is also very convenient because the White Sands Scuba shop is literally on the beach, right next to the hotel. It was sooooo convenient for the guys to wake up at 8, and decide, spur of the moment, depending on their mood, if they wanted to go for a dive (Note: they dove everyday!!) By 8:30 they were out on the boat, returning just in time for lunch with the kids and me! And, we found their prices to be competitive and the service outstanding. The Shop arranged for a group of 5 divers from LT to go out to the Blue Hole, all of whom returned very pleased with their outing.
Speaking of lunch... this is the "other" side of the hotel that also warrants some commentary. Unfortunately, I can't be as positive. We arrived on Easter Sunday, just in time for dinner. We were told that they had run out of beef and ice cream, but it was a holiday wkend, after all. No biggie, right?? WRONG!! In fact, they ran out of something every, single day. The next day they still had no ice cream... then they had no hamburger buns... then they had no chicken AND fish (hope u like shrimp!!)... then they had no beef, no brownies... Well, you get the picture. We never saw ice cream, barely had orange juice, and started every breakfast by asking what they were out of that day. We always had breakfast at LT (the best meal of the day there)... we all loved their eggs, pancakes. Lunch was ok... chicken quesadillas, salad, chicken soup, burgers, pizza... nothing special, your typical American fare. As for dinner, after a couple of mediocre meals, our family ventured elsewhere (next door for Thai food, a short taxi ride away for Spanish Tapas, or a water taxi ride to downtown San Pedro). TBH, we had a hard time finding anything, on the entire island, close to the food served in Gran Case in San Maarten. Believe me, we're not snobs and heard this complaint from other guests while we were there. But, is it too much to ask for a hotel like LT to serve a nice piece of grilled grouper or red snapper and to have in stock what they've listed on the menu? The chef introduced himself and even offered to do something special for our family. He's very nice, but needs a lesson in how to keep his kitchen stocked and how to rev up the meals. We never got sick, or anything like that, we were just not impressed with the caliber of the dinners there (a 3 out of 5). And the cost - $320 dinner for the 3 adults and 3 kids (no alcohol / just entrees w a couple of desserts) made it a bit more painful.
It's for this reason that I don't give them a perfect score. But, if you're willing to venture out for some of your meals, then you'd probably leave generally impressed as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the resort, grounds and dive shop. We recognize that you had many options of places to stay while on the island of Ambergris Caye and are honored that you selected Las Terrazas Resort.

We have no excuses for the dinner experience over the Easter Holiday. We were caught short in our inventory due the number of restaurant guests who were not staying at Las Terrazas and arrived without reservations. Many items were unavailable for restocking due to vendors and shops who close for this major Christian holiday.

We appreciate that you took the time to post your comments and hope that by having an overall positive experience you will think of us again should you return to Ambergris Caye.

Regards,

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort



·

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I visited Las Terrazas in March 2011. It was kinda fun getting there - fly from Detroit to Orlando, Orlando to San Pedro, a small 8 seater flight to Ambergris Caye, a van to the pier and a water taxi to he hotel. At the hotel we were greated with a refreshing drink and taken to our condo.

The condo was a three bedroom two full bathroom unit with a balcony and washer and dryer. Granite kitchen with beautiful appliances. Couldn't have asked for nicer accomodations. I would have liked it closer to the beach (beach was visible) and there was an area sectioned off by our unit that was obviously once meant for adding to the facility, but building had stopped.

The beach was beautiful and lent itself nicely to a long walk every day. Some of there areas (some were private homes) on the beach needed to be swept of dead seaweed that had washed up, but all in all it was nice.

"O" the restaurant was just OK. Pricey, food only average. The best place was the restaurant two doors down the beach - Rendevoux beach bar and restaurant. That place we fantastic!

Las Terrazas has some permanent residents and some vacationers. It is a very small and quiet place - great for couples. I am not paticularly a swimming pool person, but for whatever reason I couldn't stay out of that pool. The temperature was perfect and the water felt so "soft".

If we go back to Belize we will probably stay at one of the bigger resorts because there is more activity, but if you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you. It's not convenient to get to town - you have to take a water taxi at $25 pp each way - and the town is nothing I would go to again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padmill0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Las Terrazas is a perfect getaway for lovely accomodations, great staff and a fabulous chef at the restaurant O. We stayed for a week and every day was perfect. The small pool is perfect for sunning and reading and refreshing yourself. The water beckons you and the dock is the best in Ambergris Caye. We rode bikes and golf carts to town or took the water taxi-- the staff has terrific recommendations. The units are huge and the ambience was surreal. The chef had a fabulous Valentine menu and you can dine on the roof under the stars and the view is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Depends if you want ocean view or not. Just ask for it. Our condo actually had 3 bedrooms, 2 baths and great living area, patio and kitchen. Walk 2000 feet and you are at the ocean side.We were by the spa and never heard a sound.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KERRYBELLEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife & I were more than impressed with the accommodations and service provided by Las Terrazas staff members. The condo was spacious and very nice, the staffers were very helpful (special thanks to Mario, Maurice, and Ishmael for all of their good tips during our stay) and did a great servicing our room each day, and the beachfront was very clean and picture-perfect. We used the complimentary kayaks and Hobie cat whenever we wanted, which was a real plus. We had no problems scheduling our requested excursions with the front desk staff. And the seafood at the O Restaurant was amazing!! (The grouper was our favorite.) Chef Alex came out to our table one night to ask if we had any special requests for dinner and to say that he would do his best to make our meal as enjoyable as possible, which was really cool. If I had to be picky, the one thing that could have been better is to have had easier access to a golf cart, which was sometimes hard to come by. No worries, though. We were able to get to town, which is about 4.5 miles away, pretty easily using the water taxis. All in all, LT is an awesome resort. My wife & I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: #133 (patio residence) was a 3 bed 2 bath condo complete w/ full kitchen, family, and dining rooms. Plenty of space for a couple or even a family!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Las Terrazas San Pedro Belize, mixed feelings about this hotel. The installations are beautiful, the rooms are very well equipped and comfortable, and it’s like being in your own home.
We are a group of 14 adults and 6 children; we travel often together and have a great time. The down side began with our first meal experience at the O restaurant. The kids ordered something very simple, 3 pizzas. The result, one hour later was very disappointing, also the fact that sodas were ordered and never delivered. We found out that O had been closed for several days before our arrival because they were training a new chef. Well our experience that evening made us decide not to eat at the hotel, and it worked to our advantage. That same night we enjoyed dinner at Aji and also breakfast the next day.
Las terrazas has great people working at the pier,beach and pool bar, very friendly and attentive. There is a variety of sport equipment at your disposal, kayaks, hobie cat, and stand up paddle boards; we really enjoyed kayaking out to the reef and snorkeling.
The cleaning ladies were very friendly, but I think they are under staffed, we would leave early in the morning on our excursions and when we would return after three o clock, they were still working on our rooms. The floors were not mopped every day, the ceiling fan blades looked dirty, and in the shower the metal fixtures are beginning to rust. On the better side, TV, AC, kitchen equipment, washer and dryer, beds, sofas, are all good.
Help at the front desk was not too friendly and very ineffective; they were never able to resolve the problem of not having WiFi up and running in two of our villas. Also they messed up with our golf carts arrangement; we asked upon arrival that we wanted five carts for the entire stay. But they took the liberty of not reserving them for our last night and day, which put a damper on our previously arranged plans and reservations. Luckily Rendezvous restaurant next door attended too us and had a good dinner
On april 6th, my wife and I ventured and decided to have breakfast at O, the waitress was very attentive but, when I asked for huevos divorciados she explained to me that there were no plantains, ok bring them any ways, I just expected to be awed and impressed with our breakfast, but we were let down with the wait on our food.
This mourning april 8th , since we didn’t have our carts we decided to have breakfast at O, we sat down and after 40 minutes of waiting to be attended we had to get up and leave, not even one menu was taken too us. Luckily we all had a little left over food from our three villas and cooked up a very nice breakfast. The waitress after she refused to attend to us later asked us if we were ready to order, she made a pretty rude face when we explained to her that we prepared our own breakfast. We ordered some juice and sodas to have with our breakfast and they were comped, wow!
Well, we had fun in the sun, slept comfortable but service at Las Terrazas and O restaurant let us down.

Room Tip: Our villa 229 was wonderfull.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ralacayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasTeam, Director of Sales at Las Terrazas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you and your family for selecting Las Terrazas Resort while on the island of Ambergris Caye. We recognize you had many lodging options and are honored that you selected us during the Easter Season. Comments such as yours allow us to improve upon the guest experience and further train in our staff.

We are not certain as to the comment regarding the kitchen being closed. Chef Alex joined us last year and the restaurant has not been closed at any time. As you noticed, we were not prepared for your party of 20 or other large groups that arrived without advance notice in the restaurant and therefore we fell short on service. We have no excuses…..just an apology for our shortcomings which are certainly not the norm for O. We have addressed this with our restaurant team to ensure we are better prepared for busy times or large groups. Our General Manager expressed his regrets that he did not learn of your dissatisfaction while at the resort as he would have certainly tried to redeem the situation for you.

Our daytime housekeeping staff works from 7am to 4 pm daily. There will always be units completed near the end of the shift on any given day. We also will clean rooms earlier if there is a request. We rarely have a complaint with the unit cleanliness and will look into the problems mentioned. Additionally, we have recently received new fixture parts and are addressing the rust issue. Rust is an on going issue on an island due to the high humidity.

As you probably noticed in other comments posted on this site, we rarely have negative remarks on our Front Desk personal being inattentive (quite the opposite). The WiFi problem was a technical issue that is being addressed with the service provider and beyond the control of our Front Desk team.

In regards to the Golf Cart, in researching your reservation, the cart was reserved for a week (7 nights) and you actually enjoyed 8 nights with us. The reservation quote you received via e-mail indicated 7 day rental. This should have been corrected with our Reservations Manager prior to your arrival or with our Front Desk Team at check in. Due to the island being at high occupancy for the Easter Holiday period there were in fact no carts available. The rental company picked up the cart at 6pm on the 7th day as it was already rented to another customer. Our General Manager personally attempted to find a Cart for you, but again, due to high occupancy, was not successful.

Again, we sincerely appreciate not only your recent stay with us, but also your comments. If I can personally be of assistance to you in the future, do not hesitate to contact me at our Reservations & Sales Office in the U.S.

Carolyn Stone
Director of Sales
Las Terrazas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews