We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture perfect setting and so relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Terrazas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Terrazas Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Picture perfect setting and so relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family and I spent 6 relaxing days at Las Terrazas. Our 1 bedroom suite was modern, clean and spacious, with all the amenities you would expect. The pool was fabulous. The food unfortunately was average. We tried O once for dinner and were disappointed. Over sauced, North American style entrées. The breakfast menu was better, especially the fry jacks ... The best we had in Belize. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Manuel at the front desk. Keep in mind that this hotel is 5 miles from San Pedro. The hotel rents golf carts but none were available, during our stay. We opted for bicycles - they need a few kids bikes. It was quite the trek to San Pedro with our 10 yr old on the handle bars. 40 minutes on a dirt road ..... On day 3, we rented a cart from Island Adventures, in San Pedro and had fun riding back and forth to town. It was great to have the White Sands Dive Shop, next door. We booked several trips with them.

Room Tip: Ground floor, garden view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    132
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
263
346
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Traveling by myself I found the prefect place to relaxe. Feeling The Warmth of a well trained staff. The comforts of a maintained resort. My expectations where more than met. Being from new York i never felt as though i was settling. I would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived on Monday March 12th for spring break with our 15 year old and his 14 year old buddy. Our good luck was taking the hotel boat from the San Pedro dock when we arrived with the Chef, Alex. He is affable, wanting and passionate about the staff, menu and facilities he runs. While the food is expensive, the menu has choices for everyone - and if you don't like whats on the menu, Alex will try to make anything that will make you happy - can't say enough about him!

The hotel has an intamicy that worked for us, the suite was spacious and pool is truly beautiful. Everyone from the front desk staff, housekeeping, to the wait staff, we're outstanding.

The bad - there is no real swimming beach. Lots of toys and a place to swim off the dock, but you are not going to walk off the beach and swim. Dining: who makes you pay for water at meals? We visited three other resturants on the strip (cheap to expensive) and all serve water. It's a beautiful hotel, but making you buy water for meals takes away from the experience. Especially, because the food service is aganizingly slow, the hours are inconsistent and lite food service is not throughout the day. The boys ordered nachos one day, and it took almost two hours to deliver - we had many an hour plus wait times for the delivery of food. It maybe island time in Belize, but the wait time forced you to think of going off-resort...instead of enjoying Alex's fine kitchen. This is not a complaint about the staff, they were attentive - as best they could be.

Will we go back again - yes, but next time we'll rent a golf cart, go to town/fill-up our kitchen as well as make lunch and dinner reservations around the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Winner of Belize's Best Resort in 2011, its easy to see why. Fabulous friendly services, outstanding luxury apartments, a lovely little restaurant and great dive services - what more could one ask for. Special call out to Sully on reception, Carlos, Alex The Awesome Chef, Boat Captain Mario, Ismail the wonderful waiter and Mr. Mohito, you each made our stay the highlight of our journey to Amergris Caye. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerScientia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our first trip to Belize and we couldn't be any happier with our stay at Las Terrazas. Bored of the Caribbean, we were looking for an alternative sunny spot to spend Presidents Day weekend. Ambergris Caye and Las Terrazas was just that, offering the perfect mix of luxury, relaxation and adventure.

Friends of mine had recommended staying at Mata Chica and Victoria House but both resorts were sold out. We visited both for meals while we were on the island and after seeing both are SO happy we stayed at Las Terrazas. I was a little hesitant to believe all the raving reviews on TripAdvisor but when we arrived I instantly could see what all the hype was about. The rooms are HUGE, modern, and new. The staff is warm, welcoming and attentive. And most importantly the Pina Coldas are AWESOME. Instead of recounting our experience day by day. I'll leave a couple useful travel tips from our trip.

1. Call Lorraine (1.800.447.1553) in the Houston Reservations Office to book your stay. She spent around an hour answering all of my questions about the resort, the island and walking me through the different rooms that were available during our stay. We choose a Garden Terrace Room and were able to take advantage of the 4th Night Free promotion featured on Trip Advisor.

2. Ask for Room 220. This was not a Room, this was an entire 2 stories of a townhouse featuring a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and 2 terraces. The terrace connected to the master bedroom is where we spent ALL of our downtime. None of the buildings are more then 3 stories high on the island, so from the terrace you can see the ocean, the lagoon and the beautiful sunrise and sunset. The terrace is outfitted with two lounge chairs, a day bed and a built in banquet. This was a great place to read and enjoy occasional visits from the hummingbirds that roam the property.

3. Order fish at "O" Restaurant. Living in New York we are a little spoiled when it comes to food. Admittingly, we found the food at "O" nothing to write home about. The only improvements the resort could make is with the food. The traditional breakfast dishes are probably the most exciting thing on the menu and the fish entrées and burgers are done well. It’s the American dishes need help - think canned jalapeños and microwave cheese.

4. Do the Lamanai Tour run by SEAduced. Maurice at the front desk will book all of your tours for you, so no need to do so before you arrive. We wanted to visit the Maya Ruins and could not be more happy with the Lamanai river adventure guided by Ricky and Leon from the SEAduced team. The tour was small, less then 20 people, and there were NO KIDS. The whole team is very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. The team picks you up at ~6:45am and you take a 1 hr boat ride to the mainland, where you eat breakfast and then take a van to the New River. During the boat tour up the New River we saw 2 packs of monkeys one with a baby on its back and a bunch of crocodiles and birds. The ruins were beautiful and our guide did a great job getting us to the sites before the other groups so we could take pictures and explore without a ton of other people. Make sure you DO NOT do any these tours when cruise ships are at port or if its raining.

5. Eat at Victoria House. The Victoria House resort is on the other side of the island but if you make a reservation you can take the water taxi to town and then a member of their staff will come pick you up in a golf cart and take you to dinner. The food is exceptional and the service is great. Despite being a "white tablecloth" type restaurant, the atmosphere is laid back and fun. Guest were wearing sandals (not flip-flops) and island casual clothing. The resort grows a lot of its produce onsite and tries to use the freshest produce available. Again, we both got fish and LOVED it. We were expecting to pay over-the-top island prices, but were pleasantly surprised when we saw that the bill was comparable to a nyc dinner.

6. Walk or take a golf cart over to the Mata Chica Resort bar. Mata Chica is about a mile away from the resort and has a really cool, funky restaurant and bar. We walked over for lunch one day and had drinks and ceviche. We really enjoyed the relaxed vibe and enjoyed hanging out by their water front bar that has pool table and good music.

7. Visit Hol Chan Marine Reserve. The snorkel tour run by the dive shop next door is great. The equipment was new and clean and the tours are small. Our guide did an excellent job identifying all of the fish for us, and let us explore a bit on our own. We saw so many amazing animals, 2 sea turtles, sharks, rays, eels, and tons of beautiful fish. They bring water and fresh fruit to enjoy at the end of the tour. Was a great way to spend a morning.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 220! It isamazing has 2 patios, 1 that opens up from the master bedroom and is enormus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crisanta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
10.4 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.7 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
2.3 km away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Terrazas Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Terrazas Resort

Property: Las Terrazas Resort
Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,168 - ₹ 39,071
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Terrazas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest luxury properties on the island of Ambergris Caye, Las Terrazas is a Preferred Boutique Resort and the only member of Preferred Hotel Group in Belize. Located just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Las Terrazas Resort invites you to experience exceptional, spacious townhome-style accommodations and gracious Belizean hospitality at our oceanfront retreat. Situated on one of the most beautiful and secluded private beaches, our Ambergris Caye resort is an exhilarating tropical playground where you can discover Belize; "Mother Nature's best kept secret." Experience world class attractions such as diving and snorkeling, the lavish Serenity Spa and Wellness Center, fishing, zip lining and cave tubing, Mayan Ruins, or relaxing on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Las Terrazas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Terrazas Hotel San Pedro
Las Terrazas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing