We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday with the girls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th birthday with the girls”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

La Perla Del Caribe, one of our group members describes the location and the view, as paradise. I called it the Corona commercial, 2 people sitting on the beach just soaking in the beauty and peace of getting away from it all. There was no noise, no vendors, no cars, an occasional boat, (Perfection). We had a great time on vacation and great stay as La Perla. To continue the villa, the front porch of the villa, the staff, the location, the view, the breeze, the coconut trees swaying in the wind, Daniel bringing us coconuts daily it was a perfect way to celebrate my birthday with my partner, and 2 great friends. If you are looking to relax, forget about work, forget about stress this is the place. Villa Amber on San Pedro. From the first step off the water taxi where we were greeted by Amanda and Daniel to our last day when Amanda walked us to the end of the dock to the waiting water taxi this was a great vacation and perfect location 6 miles out of town where you could just sit back and enjoy.

We recommend that you purchase your snacks in the US and take with you, also purchase your alchol in the US in the duty free shop and take to San Pedro. You will have sticker shock in the markets there.

Room Tip: Stay in Villa Amber, the view cannot be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    22
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was planning and organizing our honeymoon trip to Belize and to stay at the La Perla. Ms. Hart and her staff were amazing to make this as easy as possible! We stayed at the La Perla Del Caribe, Amber Villa. When we arrived the staff was there waiting for our arrival and to take our luggage to our villa. The staff provides, coffee, water and the basics. The villa was ready for us upon arrival, there was a bottle of champagne being chilled with a congratulations note for my wife and I. There were rose pedals leading into the bedroom which was very nice!!!
They had kayaks you could use for free to row out to the reef. You could sit and watch the waves break at the reef all day. At night it was very relaxing just to hear the waves crashing.
We actually had the run of the resort except the last two days of our stay. It was very quite, relaxing and really everything we could have asked for. The one thing that we were alittle surprised about was, there wasnt really a "beach" to lay out on and get in the water. You could get in the water at the end of the deck, but they have sea grass. Similiar to sea weed but not as thick. So we spent most of our time laying out at the pool with bottles of wine and relaxing.
With food, we picked up food at the grocery store before coming to the resort. Really didnt pick up much except for some chips, cereal, milk, juice and a few other snacks. You really have to check the expiration dates on the food, the milk already expired and the juices were within a day or two of expiring. The cost of just a few groceries was almost triple compared to grocery stores back in the states. So be ready to spend a little money unless you know of a local store before you get on the boat to the resort. The resort itself doesn't have any restaurants on site. You have to walk about 1/2 mile to the left or right to go eat at another restaurant. We went into town and at a local restaurant and it was actually pretty good food and service. Portifino resorts food was ok, nothing to write home about. I do know the night we got there is was a holiday and I ordered the Turduken, actually wasnt to bad. Their food does lack seasoning though. The resort Matachica was actually wonderful. We went down there several times for drinks and food. We basically became known down at the resort and one the second day we went there and ordered to bottles of champagne and sat in their hot tub. Word of advice, heat from the hot tub and champagne great buzz haha! One the second day we realized a guy rode on a beach cruiser selling homemade burritos and tamales. Fairly inexpensive and the food was delicious!! The hot sauce he gives you with the food has a kick, but very good on the food!

So all together, we had a great time in Belize. Overall the staff did a GREAT job in making sure we had everything we needed and it was taken care of. We just didn't like the fact there wasn't an actually beach. Make sure you have mosquito spray, and utlize the flashlight you give you. At night you can't see anything and the only light is the light from the moon shining down. The resort didn't have their boat running during our stay there for travel in and out of town. So we had to depend on the taxi which was between $20-$30 dollars each way if I remember correctly. We had a great stay and a great honeymoon!!

Room Tip: The Amber Villa is right on the sand looking out at the ocean. Beautiful view from your bedroom. I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The staff awaited us as the water taxi pulled up to the dock. From that moment until a week later when we left our stay could not have been better. If we needed to relax we were not bothered, if we needed to eat out, great suggestions were made and if we wanted an adventure all the arrangements were taken care of. The villa could not have been better!
Steps from the ocean, clean, very comfortable with huge bathrooms and screened porches. Nothing in the world is as relaxing as sleeping in a comfortable bed with the screen window open and tropical breezes blowing the through the bedroom. This is really a place where you can get away and enjoy the beauty of Belize and Ambergris Caye.

Room Tip: Any viila would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family stayed in Villa Emerald June 5-14, 2012 and had an amazing experience! Enrique and the entire staff went out of their way to ensure that we had an unforgettable stay. From meeting us at the airport, to arranging our excursions and dinner reservations, to sadly returning back to the airport. Everything that we asked for was taken care of - no problem! My son brought his good friend on the trip, and they bonded with Toshiba first thing. He was so kind and patient with them. La Perla is 6 miles north of San Pedro, so it is much quieter than staying in town. That was exactly what we were looking for. I think that most of the villas were full, but we felt like we pretty much had the place to ourselves. The views from the villa were magnificent - the ocean couldn't have been more than 30 feet from our deck! We had the kitchen pre-stocked, so we had many meals right there, soaking up the gorgeous tranquility. Enrique arranged for us to have private chefs on the night of my son's birthday. That was a really special treat, and they even baked a birthday cake for him. We especially enjoyed fishing with Alex, which Enrique arranged for us, as well. The kindness and friendliness of the people of Belize still makes me smile. this was our first trip to Belize, but definitely not our last - and we will most certainly return to La Perla!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed last month at La Perla for 7 wonderful, relaxing days, as a special birthday trip I had been planning for months. We traveled with our 9 year old daughter, and rented the 2 bedroom Villa Sand. I spent hours researching different accommodations on the island and found La Perla had everything we were looking for. There is the wonderful pool, just steps from the white sand, and clear blue water and they do a fantastic job of keeping the beach clean. We were never disappointed; it always felt like our own little piece of paradise. Enrique took good care of us and made sure we were enjoying every minute of our vacation. The Villa and entire property was clean, comfortable, and welcoming. We had groceries delivered from Mata Grande before our arrival and La Perla provided water, coffee, and the basic provisions. I cooked in the Kitchen most of the week, and that worked out great for us, but next time we will be using the 3 Sisters services. We did go to town and restock on a few items throughout the week. I had originally looked at getting a golf cart for the family but after reading some posts from people that told me it was too far we just bought a weekly pass on the Coastal Express. It was $200 for the three of us with a discount for a child’s fare. It paid for itself since went to town at least every other day. We used the Kayak to go out to the reef one morning, but could not find the mooring buoy to tie too so the waves kept moving us and we did not attempt to go out again instead we just paddled between the docks and that was fun. Enrique planned a 1/2 day trip for us to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley and it is a must for anyone visiting the island! My husband even had a wonderful time snorkeling under the dock looking at small fish and crabs. The free wifi was nice to be able to check in on our computer since our phones did not work. The other little bit of advice is carry a small flashlight with you for walking along the beach. We walked up to Rojo one evening for dinner and forgot our flashlights, so by the time we were done it was getting dark and we still had a ways to walk. We are planning another trip soon, this time with another couple and we will not be staying anywhere but La Perla!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookeB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
6.5 km away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
11 reviews
5.6 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.5 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Indigo Beach Homes
Indigo Beach Homes
#11 of 31 in San Pedro
47 reviews
1.5 km away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Property: La Perla Del Caribe
Address: 6 Miles North of San Pedro | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#30 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,763 - ₹ 70,849
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Perla Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
La Perla Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing