We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$204
Priceline$204
Hotels.com$204
Travelocity$204
Trip.com$204
eDreams$204
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
484
295
125
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
484
295
125
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart san pedro swim up bar bedroom villa main pool secret beach nice resort other resorts convenience store relaxing vacation lobster pools concierge belize island ocean accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2021

I will be going back to Captain Morgans Retreat. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff was amazing!!! I did not want to leave, lol. The only disappointment was that the casino was closed, but I will return in a post-covid world to check it out:)

Date of stay: October 2021
1  Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2021

We are so happy to read these wonderful words! It really is a pleasure to see when our efforts are recognized by our guests, so thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience at Captain Morgan's. We sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

We traded into Captain Morgan's Retreat for a week in Ambergris Caye. The front office staff were very nice and accommodating. Andrew who is the North American Concierge was fantastic and very helpful over the phone and email. Anette and Nigilly in the dining room were so sweet and helpful always with a smile on their face. The room was great overall.

The resort however as a whole was in disrepair and in need of a pile of maintenance. The website was actually inaccurate. They boasted of a swim up bar. They indeed had a swim up bar but it hadn't been open in about three years (pre-Covid). They boasted a Casino, not open... The outside of the different buildings were outdated and the bamboo siding they had on the buildings was falling off and just looked worn. While many other resorts on the island used the time during Covid to do a deep dive into maintenance and updates the owner of this property certainly did not. Simple things like the fans in the palapa bar had all of the blades warped and hanging down like a limp noodle. The "grocery store" on property was not even fit to be called a convenience store. Barely any stock on the shelves disorganized.

The only redeeming thing about the entire resort, was the staff and the room. It was easy to see the potential of this property and what a fun place it must have been in its heyday. A lot of TLC is needed to bring this resort up to standards because what a place it could be (again).

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are committed to providing a fantastic guest experience, and while it sounds like we exceeded your expectations in some areas, primarily with our staff and customer service, unfortunately, we fell short in some other areas. We hope you'll give us the opportunity to make a better impression during a future stay. We are currently working on many esthetic upgrades to the resort during our annual two-month closure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2021

Hotel grounds - clean but lots of seagrass/seaweed on the beach. Nice stretch of beach and the main pool and salt water pool was nice. However, I did not see anyone swimming in the sea due to all of the seagrass.

Hotel room VC22 - The balcony view was amazing, the room furnishings were okay and the shower and air conditioning was great. There is a stove, microwave, mini fridge, blender, coffee maker, and toaster. This room is definitely meant for only sleeping and is not a plush room by any means which is why we rate this room average.

Rose Spa - So we spent most of our time enjoying massages and spa treatments at Rose's Spa. We had hot stone massages, deep tissue massages, aromatherapy massages, candle waxing, reflexology, which were all good. Rosita, Flora, and Rose were great and we were able to have services in our room and in the new spa room, all were amazing so don't miss on pampering yourselves.

Restaurant - We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and we enjoyed the lobster, fry jacks, and the Belizean breakfast.

Bar - Ronald made a great coco loco drink and cocktails at the saltwater pool.

Front Desk - The staff in the main office was always helpful and informative

Golf Cart Rental - You must rent a golf cart to get around the island which was helpful to dine at restaurants and Secret Beach.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Thanks for your review of Captain Morgan's Retreat. Mitigating the sea grass issue in Belize can be challenging, but we feel our newly constructed seawall that covers the entire expanse of our beach does a great job of keeping the sea grass from washing up on our shore. Unfortunately, sea grass impacts the entire Caribbean region and is a major environmental issue.

It seems that other than the issues with the sea grass, your stay was otherwise quite good and so we are happy to hear that. We certainly hope you'll return to Captain Morgan's next time you wish to vacation in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Our family of 3 stayed at Captain Morgan's retreat in March 2021. We had a wonderful vacation and there were lots of things to love about this resort.
The best thing about Captain Morgan's Retreat is the people who work there. Everyone was so friendly and ready to help with whatever we needed. Joelle at the front desk was so warm and helpful and Ingrid, at the bar was fun and treated you like a lifelong friend. The security guard ( sorry, didn't get his name) was also very nice and helped me make a call into town one morning when the power was out briefly on the island.
We really love the location of this resort. It seems to be about at the halfway point between San Pedro and Secret beach and it is close to The Truck Stop and other fun places on the North End. We like the peaceful ambiance outside of town, but we took the golf cart to San Pedro every day and always enjoyed the brief (15 ish minutes) ride.
I can't rate this resort with 5 points because I feel they are in a transitional period. We arrived at the beginning of a return to tourism in San Pedro. The grounds were not as manicured as some of the pictures I've seen on Tripadvisor. I saw things like, grass coming up through the sand on the beach and when you go to your room you walk/drive through some messy areas at the back of the resort, but I imagine they have been dealing with a smaller staff through the pandemic and I saw groundskeepers working very hard every day. Overall, this resort is less polished than some of its neighbors, but the price point is excellent with the promotions they run and it has beautiful views of the Caribbean sea.

They say that you can tell more about a business when things go wrong than when everything goes smoothly. When there was a misunderstanding, this business totally stepped up to the plate. On Tripadvisor, you will see pictures of a curvy pool and when I booked the room, the hotel listed 3 pools on their website and had a video with the pool. When we arrived we were told that this pool right next to our room was only for Timeshare owners. When I complained about this, they immediately upgraded our cabana to a deluxe Villa. We had a beautiful room with an excellent balcony and view and plenty of room for us all to relax in. I was skeptical whether this was a misunderstanding, but sure enough, the next time I went on the resort's website, the content had been updated. This really showed integrity and I appreciated it. I will say, the room spoiled us and now we will want to book it next time we visit :)

All in all, we had a wonderful, relaxing vacation and we're already dreaming of going back. Captain Morgan's will definitely stay on our list of resorts to consider when we come back. It is an excellent value and you won't find friendlier people on Ambergris Caye.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolynmH9549ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

What a detailed, thorough review -- thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about Captain Morgan's! We appreciate your understanding with pandemic-era changes and are happy you felt taken care of and satisfied with your stay. We hope to see you again next time you visit Ambergris Caye!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2020

Had only briefly been to San Pedro in 2008 on a snorkelling tour. This time stayed here at Captain Morgan's and was a wonderful choice. Staff were absolutely amazing and friendly (and are now friends). Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Food was great and reasonable prices. Also was impressed with the efforts to keep the sea grass under control as best as they could. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consuelor984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. From your friends at Captain Morgan’s, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews