We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay, won’t be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Pros - easy to find 3.5 miles north of the city, friendly staff, design was great.

Cons- paying the toll every trip to town as they had no restaurant up, (they did offer a bus ride for breakfast and dinner, tried it and they were extremely late picking us up so a no go with that again)just a small gas grill on the deck by the pool. 1 bartender with an empty bar all week as the owner wanted to sell all beer and liquor before re-stocking.
A great restaurant from in town Elvi’s will start cooking here 30th of September.

All plates, glasses, etc must be washed by yourself or 75$ fee assessed , not a problem cleaning up after myself. Last day of the trip there was a TIP ENVELOPE, for what I’m not sure making my bed and giving two new towels a day ?

Air-Conditioning was way to small, temp never got below 80 inside, staff is aware

Water whether open cold or hot in shower was SCALDING HOT. Management did nothing to adjust or repair after speaking in person at the front desk twice . Easy fix turn the water on for an hour to empty the tank to take a ambient temp shower.

Was definitely a learning trip, unfortunately will not be staying here again. There are tons of great other options in the same vicinity and in town so don’t waste your time/money.

Room Tip: Stay at a different resort for quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicholasbrown281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We really appreciate your thorough review of your time at Captain Morgan’s Retreat and for the mention of our staff – it’s appreciated. Unfortunately, the toll is a fee that everyone must pay, including the locals. As you detailed, we are excited to announce our work with Elvi’s kitchen has officially begun. We are also in the process of replacing, renovating and refurbishing some of those items you pointed out, so we thank you for your patience. Our maintenance team has confirmed everything is fixed. We hope you might reconsider and visit us again to see all positive updates we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The resort is beautiful, the staff is great, but management is MIA. Most of the resort, including the restaurant and activities, were closed but nobody told us beforehand. Management dodged us all week. Nice bar!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bbbbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We appreciate your feedback from your time at Captain Morgan’s as it always helps us to improve our guest experience. Due to a last-minute maintenance issue, we had to close our kitchen, which required a reduced menu for a few weeks. It is our pleasure to report everything is now open. While our goal was to notify all our guests, we are sorry to hear this wasn’t what you experienced. We are glad you were still able to enjoy our wonderful location and that our staff offered great service. Once again, we thank you for offering us the opportunity to improve and hope if you are ever back in Belize you will come see all the positive updates at Captain Morgan’s Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

If you go make sure you are on the updated side. Some of the rooms are dated. The staff though is amazing and friendly. I loved them. The resort itself has multiple pools. I loved the beach view. They were under renovation when I went and the kitchen was closed but they made accommodations for food. It is a little far from the city so be prepared to rent a golf cart so you can get around.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Jonae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you kindly for your review of Captain Morgan’s Retreat. We appreciate your kind words about our staff – they were well-received. It is our pleasure to report our restaurant is now open with exciting new options and local favorites. Many positive updates are currently being made to all our units. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Recreation activities were quite limited at the resort. There were very few guests. Resort restaurant was closed for part of our stay. Roads adjacent to the resort were marginal. They had a few old bicycles for us to borrow. I think the resort may be starting some renovation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidduba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are indeed in the process of renovating and upgrading Captain Morgan’s Retreat. Apart from the work we’re doing on our rooms, casino and general store, we have purchased new paddle boards and kayaks (which are free to use), new bikes, and we have snorkel equipment for use on day trips free of charge. We do however regret our kitchen having to be closed. We were taken by surprise by a maintenance issue at our restaurant, and unfortunately this forced us to reduce our kitchen service. But we’re happy to say we are very close to re-opening! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The cabin we rented was nice, clean and close to the beach. All downhill from there. A week before we were set to leave we recieved a notice that there kitchen was good to be closed during our stay. On such short notice we could not find other accommodations so we stayed there anyway. A ride into town for meals was offered on THEIR tight schedule. So much for a relaxing vacation. We opted to rent a golf cart from them at triple the going rate for golf carts on the island. They definitely take advantage of you being so far from town. If you do stay there also beware of the towel cards. If misplaced they are an added 25.00 dollars each. ( for something that we never used). There are many great places to stay in San Pedro unfortunately this is not one of them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rickh523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank-you for your feedback
We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your beach cabana during your stay.
We do however regret the issues you encountered as a result of our kitchen having to be closed. We were taken by surprise by a maintenance issue at our restaurant, and unfortunately this forced us to reduce our kitchen service, as well as some of our weekly events.
While breakfast, lunch and dinner options were still available for our guests, (as well as free shuttle into San Pedro for the dinner), we do wish there was more that we could have done.
Our golf carts are provided for the convenience of our guests so they do not have to go into town and rent one from a private operator. Ours also come with gas and insurance, and a guarantee that we’ll pick you up if something goes wrong with the unit.
Our towel deposit is only a deposit and is returned upon check-out, or whenever you bring the towel back to the front desk.
We hope you might reconsider and come and visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
9.6 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
12.0 km away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
238 reviews
6.5 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,063 reviews
0.6 km away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
888 reviews
0.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Morgan's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Morgan's Retreat

Address: 3 1/2 Miles From San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#26 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range: ₹ 10,398 - ₹ 20,990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Morgan's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a private 1,100-ft. beach, first-class accommodations, unforgettable tours, activities, and all the amenities you could ask for, Captain Morgan’s Retreat is a Belize resort worthy of consideration for your next Caribbean vacation. Located just a short boat ride north of San Pedro Town on the island of Ambergris Caye, Captain Morgan’s Retreat offers cozy thatched beach cabanas, spacious villas, and luxury condos, combining comfort perfectly with paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Morgan's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Morgan`s Retreat Hotel San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing