We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
461
263
116
58
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
263
116
58
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san pedro golf cart swim up bar water taxi bedroom villa main pool secret beach sea grass nice resort ceviche convenience store resort restaurant north side palm trees cave tubing sunset cruise just returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The resort is beautiful, the staff is great, but management is MIA. Most of the resort, including the restaurant and activities, were closed but nobody told us beforehand. Management dodged us all week. Nice bar!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bbbbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We appreciate your feedback from your time at Captain Morgan’s as it always helps us to improve our guest experience. Due to a last-minute maintenance issue, we had to close our kitchen, which required a reduced menu for a few weeks. It is our pleasure to report everything is now open. While our goal was to notify all our guests, we are sorry to hear this wasn’t what you experienced. We are glad you were still able to enjoy our wonderful location and that our staff offered great service. Once again, we thank you for offering us the opportunity to improve and hope if you are ever back in Belize you will come see all the positive updates at Captain Morgan’s Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

If you go make sure you are on the updated side. Some of the rooms are dated. The staff though is amazing and friendly. I loved them. The resort itself has multiple pools. I loved the beach view. They were under renovation when I went and the kitchen was closed but they made accommodations for food. It is a little far from the city so be prepared to rent a golf cart so you can get around.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank j0naem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you kindly for your review of Captain Morgan’s Retreat. We appreciate your kind words about our staff – they were well-received. It is our pleasure to report our restaurant is now open with exciting new options and local favorites. Many positive updates are currently being made to all our units. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Recreation activities were quite limited at the resort. There were very few guests. Resort restaurant was closed for part of our stay. Roads adjacent to the resort were marginal. They had a few old bicycles for us to borrow. I think the resort may be starting some renovation.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidduba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are indeed in the process of renovating and upgrading Captain Morgan’s Retreat. Apart from the work we’re doing on our rooms, casino and general store, we have purchased new paddle boards and kayaks (which are free to use), new bikes, and we have snorkel equipment for use on day trips free of charge. We do however regret our kitchen having to be closed. We were taken by surprise by a maintenance issue at our restaurant, and unfortunately this forced us to reduce our kitchen service. But we’re happy to say we are very close to re-opening! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The cabin we rented was nice, clean and close to the beach. All downhill from there. A week before we were set to leave we recieved a notice that there kitchen was good to be closed during our stay. On such short notice we could not find other accommodations so we stayed there anyway. A ride into town for meals was offered on THEIR tight schedule. So much for a relaxing vacation. We opted to rent a golf cart from them at triple the going rate for golf carts on the island. They definitely take advantage of you being so far from town. If you do stay there also beware of the towel cards. If misplaced they are an added 25.00 dollars each. ( for something that we never used). There are many great places to stay in San Pedro unfortunately this is not one of them.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rickh523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank-you for your feedback
We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your beach cabana during your stay.
We do however regret the issues you encountered as a result of our kitchen having to be closed. We were taken by surprise by a maintenance issue at our restaurant, and unfortunately this forced us to reduce our kitchen service, as well as some of our weekly events.
While breakfast, lunch and dinner options were still available for our guests, (as well as free shuttle into San Pedro for the dinner), we do wish there was more that we could have done.
Our golf carts are provided for the convenience of our guests so they do not have to go into town and rent one from a private operator. Ours also come with gas and insurance, and a guarantee that we’ll pick you up if something goes wrong with the unit.
Our towel deposit is only a deposit and is returned upon check-out, or whenever you bring the towel back to the front desk.
We hope you might reconsider and come and visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Our experience at captain Morgan's was amazing. We were there during the "slow" season and it was great. There were not very many people so we were able to get a very personalized and individual experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brad_quiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you kindly for your recent review of Captain Morgan's Retreat. From all of the staff, we want to once again congratulate you on your honeymoon! We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our peaceful retreat. Our goal is to always provide a unique experience for each of our guests and we are happy you were able to experience this first hand. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews