We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
456
261
113
57
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
261
113
57
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san pedro golf cart swim up bar water taxi bedroom villa main pool secret beach sea grass nice resort convenience store ceviche resort restaurant palm trees just returned from a week rum punch fish recommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

My boyfriend and I planned a 10 day trip to Belize, with the last 5 nights at Captain Morgan's. Over the trip he became my fiance (!) and we spent our last 5 days on Ambergris here, and it felt like a honeymoon. It was low season so it was quite tranquil, but we had a lovely time. The entire staff, from the concierge to bartenders to bellhops to waitresses, were lovely. We were accommodated entirely and made to feel like we were at home.

The facilities are lovely and well-kept, with every room being an ocean view. We were left to want for nothing, my only suggestions would be longer rental times for bikes (need to return by 5pm).

While everyone was great, I would really like to spotlight the staff: Anna and Bonifacio who were kind, friendly, and always helpful, and the Caribbean bartender whose name I can't remember but who talked with me and my fiance often, was incredibly accommodating, and taught us so much about the country!

Highly recommend, and expect we'll be back eventually to celebrate an anniversary :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

First, we would like to extend our congratulations to both of you. What an exciting time – we are honored you chose Captain Morgan’s! Thank you for your sweet words, we will certainly pass them along to our team. It is wonderful to hear you learned so much about Belize, while also enjoying our romantic retreat. We can’t wait to greet you again for your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

My Fiancé and I were super lucky to have randomly stumbled upon this place. We were only going to stay one night but ended up extending our stay for a whole week. Customer service has got to be one of the greatest experiences I have ever witnessed. The rooms are stunning, a couple different pools, bars and even a casino. There are the sweetest people at the front desk that helped us plan out our day activities. Ana and Greg, we can't thank you guys enough for making us feel at home. It will be a trip never forgotten and you will be seeing us very soon 100%! Thank you guys once again ❤️

Jacklyn and Erica Braun

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jacklynbraun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your very meaningful review. We love hearing that you took full advantage of the resort. Our staff do a great job and want to make your stay as comfortable as possible, so we’ll pass along your kind words. Nice to hear you’d like to come back and we certainly hope you will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We had to move from a property in town due to some detoured street work that sent town traffic right in front of our beachfront condo all day. We decided to move after day 2 and discovered Captain Morgans. They were extremely helpful in finding us a gorgeous connecting suite and we much enjoyed the peace and quiet. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and accommodating. The pools were great and the activities desk worked with us at the last minute to book some fun adventures. We are so grateful for everyone at Captain Morgans that saved our trip from disaster!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

We appreciate the thoughtful review of your time at Captain Morgan’s. It was our pleasure to assist you in finding just the right room. We’re glad you could take full advantage of our peaceful retreat and even some excursions too! We look forward to a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We loved our trip to Captain Morgan's! Staff were very nice and willing to help with everything we needed. The atmosphere was relaxing yet fun. I loved all the palm trees for shade when laying by the beach. Bartenders were the best on the island!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smoody987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you kindly for your recent review of Captain Morgan’s Retreat. Your comments were well-received with our whole team. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our relaxing location and we sure agree that the palm trees can’t be beat! We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in captain morgans.......lots of activities, beutiful place, super nice staff, everybody was so kind and nice, our casita was perfect. I highly recommend you to rent a golf kart so you can get around to the town, to the secret beach... pluss Greg the guy in charge of the renting is super nice.
They picked us up at the boat terminal, took us to the hotel.... anna was at the front and was so patient and kind with us for the check in..we got our amazing welcomen drinks and relaxed after the trip, the all thing was so smooth. Stay there!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ricavelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for staying with us. From the time you sip a cool welcome drink, to the time you check out, we want your experience to be complete, and we’re glad to hear that our team played such a big part of your overall enjoyment. We will pass along your kind words and hope that we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews