We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gibson Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Apalach Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coombs House Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$ 217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 380
US$ 306
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(St. George Island)
US$ 194
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St George Inn(St. George Island)
US$ 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
US$ 129
MainStaySuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Inn(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
US$ 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
223
134
35
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
134
35
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysteryhistoric hotelwrap around porchblack catcoffee cakeno elevatorold floridarocking chairsrooms are smallthird floormodern amenitiesoystersfront porchstep back in timeclaw foot tubcontinental breakfastthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 4 day weekend at the Gibson Inn. The location was great located close to the bridge and being able to sit on the beautiful porches and watch everyone pass by, or just relax in the shade and meet other guests. The staff was fantastic, friendly and made us feel at home. We had never been to the area and were impressed by the condition and cleanliness of the outside and inside of the hotel. The rooms were quaint and charming, furnished with antique and transitional decor. The bar was easily accessable and always staffed by friendly bartenders. We rented a golf cart next door and took in all the local attractions, which were just within blocks of the hotel, which you could easily walk to as well. Our daughter, who was in a wedding on St. George Island stayed at another hotel close to ours and was happy to move to the Gibson for her last night in town, she said it was "night and day" compared to the staff and charm of the other hotel and wished she had been with us the entire time! We highly recommend the Gibson Inn to anyone looking for a wonderful staff to make you feel like you are welcome and appreciated. Thanks to Sue and everyone for putting up with our crew!

Room Tip: We styed in room 205 and were extremely pleased, it was to the side street and not noisy at all, to the left side of building from the front entry. The right side would be somewhat noisier.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

On a recent visit to Apalachicola, I stayed at this hotel. It is a charmingly restored early-20th. century hotel, with a cosy lobby and bar, and a wonderful wrap-around verandah. The owners have done a nice job in up-dating the hotel without sacrificing its nostalgic charm. The regular rooms are a bit small, but the suites are great, and the location (easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants of this charming little town) cannot be beat. I would stay here again if I were to revisit the area.

Room Tip: Splurge and pick a suite.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Gibson Inn is an old-timey hotel that has been renovated-- like a previous reviewer said, it's like riding in a time machine. The rooms are well-maintained and clean, the service is great, and having a drink in a rocking chair on the porch there is the definition of laid-back. The bar there is said to be a good time, but we never went in there. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is a little sketchy, but no problem really because 3G service in Apalach is fine.

Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairlane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Took the long way to get from Pensacola to Orlando and spent a saturday night in Apalachicola and stayed at the Gibson Inn. Wanted to get away from the spring break crowd, T-Shirt shops, and condos. Found the place in Apalachicola. As soon as I arrived, I knew I found it.

Gibson Inn was perfect. You feel like you went back in time 100 years while sitting on the porch and enjoying an adult beverage in the evening or your coffee in the morning.

The staff is very gracious and helpful.

Walked around downtown until dark. The most relaxing place I have visited in a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stopped by this inn for an overnight stay on our way through town. Based on a review on this site, did not make a reservation (a bit of a risk, but it's off-season). We did get a lower rate than what is advertised. The front desk clerk was very nice & let us look at two rooms, a queen and a king, and allowed us to choose.
We selected the king size room on the third floor as it was a bit larger, and the bathroom was much larger with a claw-foot tub (great way to relax after spending hours on the road).
The house is over 105 years old and has it's share of creaks and a distinct smell (like my grandmother's house). It is conveniently located and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the water. The inn has a great wrap-around porch. While we were sitting on the rocking chairs enjoying a glass of wine, the locals would stop and chat with us asking about where we were from and offering recommendations of what to see and do.
Great place to spend a day or two to just relax and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Not sure what the rooms were like on first & second floor, but thinking with the creaks in the floor the third floor (top floor) may be a bit more quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews