We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay in this historic hotel”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fine stay in this historic hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the Gibson Inn for two nights while visiting Apalachicola and the beaches of St. George island. The historic hotel with the wrap-around porch and the restored interiors and rooms exudes the charm of the early twentieth century. Next to the lobby is a small watering-hole for the evening which doubles as the breakfast area. The rooms are a touch small, but clean and with indirect porch access.
Apalachicola has a number of good restaurants and is the center of the Florida Oyster industry, so it is worth staying for a night or two. A few historical bulidings along the waterfront have been refurbished into restaurants and shops.
The Gibson Inn is well worth a second look. Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    109
    29
    21
    18
See reviews for
42
215
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 4 day weekend at the Gibson Inn. The location was great located close to the bridge and being able to sit on the beautiful porches and watch everyone pass by, or just relax in the shade and meet other guests. The staff was fantastic, friendly and made us feel at home. We had never been to the area and were impressed by the condition and cleanliness of the outside and inside of the hotel. The rooms were quaint and charming, furnished with antique and transitional decor. The bar was easily accessable and always staffed by friendly bartenders. We rented a golf cart next door and took in all the local attractions, which were just within blocks of the hotel, which you could easily walk to as well. Our daughter, who was in a wedding on St. George Island stayed at another hotel close to ours and was happy to move to the Gibson for her last night in town, she said it was "night and day" compared to the staff and charm of the other hotel and wished she had been with us the entire time! We highly recommend the Gibson Inn to anyone looking for a wonderful staff to make you feel like you are welcome and appreciated. Thanks to Sue and everyone for putting up with our crew!

Room Tip: We styed in room 205 and were extremely pleased, it was to the side street and not noisy at all, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

On a recent visit to Apalachicola, I stayed at this hotel. It is a charmingly restored early-20th. century hotel, with a cosy lobby and bar, and a wonderful wrap-around verandah. The owners have done a nice job in up-dating the hotel without sacrificing its nostalgic charm. The regular rooms are a bit small, but the suites are great, and the location (easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants of this charming little town) cannot be beat. I would stay here again if I were to revisit the area.

Room Tip: Splurge and pick a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Gibson Inn is an old-timey hotel that has been renovated-- like a previous reviewer said, it's like riding in a time machine. The rooms are well-maintained and clean, the service is great, and having a drink in a rocking chair on the porch there is the definition of laid-back. The bar there is said to be a good time, but we never went in there. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is a little sketchy, but no problem really because 3G service in Apalach is fine.

Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairlane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Took the long way to get from Pensacola to Orlando and spent a saturday night in Apalachicola and stayed at the Gibson Inn. Wanted to get away from the spring break crowd, T-Shirt shops, and condos. Found the place in Apalachicola. As soon as I arrived, I knew I found it.

Gibson Inn was perfect. You feel like you went back in time 100 years while sitting on the porch and enjoying an adult beverage in the evening or your coffee in the morning.

The staff is very gracious and helpful.

Walked around downtown until dark. The most relaxing place I have visited in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
13.5 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
0.8 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
32.3 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
0.3 km away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,718 - ₹ 10,655
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing