We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot wait to go back”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Apalachicola, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gwen C
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The word charming is often overused, but definitely not in this case. We arrived at this little jewel of a cottage late in the evening and it was the perfect introduction to Apalachicola. We were smitten from the moment we walked in the door, and that feeling only deepened with each of the four nights we spent. The property is whistle clean, very comfortable and oozes all the sweet details of a coastal cottage built in the mid 1800s. We started and finished each perfect day sitting out on the porch. In between, we were able to walk just about everywhere. Raney Cottage and Apalach exceeded all expectations!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy and clever interior
Liked least: Maybe the mattress could be a little more comfy, but everyone likes something different
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynew
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely House”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a great position, only a couple of minutes from the town with its fantastic Oyster bars, yet very quiet.
Was clean and tidy.
However, i think it was over priced for the facilities.
A large porch but cheap uncomfortable seats with an excuse for a table - really should have something more in keeping with the style of the property.
Instructions to get they were good, however pinning down the agent to pay was not so easy and was becoming a bit of a drag on our last day with the exchanges of emails.
Oh - beware the insects

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Lack og good outdoor furniture
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
While every attempt is made to ensure our cottage guests enjoy their stay, apparently, on the occasion of your visit, we did not fully succeed in that endeavor. Thank you for your observations.

Neddy Sumners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsgooch4...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One wonderful month spent in Apalachicola”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Over the past 20 years we've made it a point to spend time in Apalachicola. Our favorite place to stay is the Raney Guest Cottage. It's within walking distance to everything in town and within easy driving distance to some of the best kept scenic and historical secrets of the "forgotten coast". We expect to return again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: most all the comforts of home
Liked least: the queen mattress, it's getting a little too soft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan I
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Even lovelier than the photos!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Charming, historic guest cottage in charming, historic Apalachicola. Only 15-20 minutes to the beautiful beaches of St. George Island, a bit farther to the equally gorgeous beach at St. Joseph Peninsula. There's also plenty to enjoy in Apalachicola, with great restaurants and shops.

Quite possibly the best-stocked rental house I've ever visited; the only thing missing was wine! The owner and rental manager were both a pleasure to work with. I wish I was still there!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing