We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apalachicola River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Room 8 is so funky and cute! They allow dogs yet it doesn't smell "doggy" and is very clean! The room was quiet, the bed comfortable and the proximity to everything perfect! I would highly recommend this place. It is a little damp in the room because the room sits over the water but who cares? It's clean, comfortable and cute. The breakfast is huge. We could not believe the quality! It's seriously gourmet! The front desk staff are "florida tough" but don't be dismayed by that. The "place" is very welcoming and wonderful. You gotta try the oyster omelet. It's great!

Room Tip: Well, we loved room 8 a lot. I assume most of the rooms are uniquely decorated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    110
    41
    15
    14
See reviews for
38
199
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I recently spent a night at the Apalachicola River Inn and impressed with the entire experience. The hotel has an old time charm complete with old time service and friendly staff.

Both restuarants were excellent and the lounge was full of interesting guests both local and tourists. Breakfast in provided at no charge and it was fantastic. Not your usual continental affair but rather a full assorment of wonder meals you order from the menu.

I highly recommend the Apalachicola River Inn when you plan your next trip to the Florida pan handle.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is a rustic, Old Florida property much appreciated by a rustic old Floridian like me. Set over the water, it reminded me of my childhood summer "camp" at Horseshoe Beach. Great value, very clean, and a delight for those who know how to appreciate great local seafood at either of two adjoining restaurants, beautiful views, fresh salty air, and a nice, comfy room in Apalachicola.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank igitaround27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Best thing I can say about the River Inn is that "you pay your money and you take your chances." The staff and food at Caroline's is wonderful but the motel is aging & average (at best) and the front desk staff, save a wonderful young lady on nights named Angel, are less than hospitable. For the top shelf price they charge, the amenities are decidedly lacking (no operable Wi-Fi, no laundry room or room refrigerator/microwave) and their supposed "recent room renovations" are beginning to show decided wear & tear. To start, my wife and I had made reservations back MONTHS ago. This was our 2nd trip to Apalachicola and the original reservations were to begin Thursday 9/29 through Saturday 10/8 but when we checked in on Friday morning 9/30 (front desk was closed when we got there Thursday night), the front desk clerk, Beverly (more about her later), attempted to get me to say that we were checking out on Friday 10/7! At that point, my wife and I both corrected her, saying, "No, we are staying until Saturday the 8th." to which she verbally agreed. Little did I know what problems were going to result from that seemingly innocent conversation!

In any case, we had a great week in Apalach until the next Friday, 10/7. Great food, nice scenic drives up & down Hwy 98 and just being able to relax. Friday morning arrives so we decide to eat breakfast & go grab a good workout at a nearby health club. When we returned to the room sometime after noon, to our shock, ALL of our belongings had been dumped (and I do mean DUMPED, as in crammed) in garbage bags outside our room and down at the front office. Obviously a misunderstanding as to our check out date, I immediately called the front desk to find out what was going on and Beverly starts SCREAMING at me "You only had reservations through today and you were supposed to be out by 11 o'clock!!!" I absolutely could not get a word in edgewise for this person yelling at me! Unbelievably professional, don't you think? Even though we had already spent $1300+ at this property, there was no "Maybe there's been a misunderstanding, let's see what we can work out", no apology, no nothing except "Get your stuff and get out!” Believe me, there's absolutely nothing like ending your long-awaited vacation by being made to feel like yesterday's garbage.

We eventually figured out (actually were told by some of the other hotel staff that felt sorry for us) that since they were having the Oyster Festival over at St. George Island that weekend, Beverly had double-booked the room and needed us out so they could book the room for the entire weekend as opposed to just Saturday night.. Needless to say, this debacle put an absolute damper on our entire vacation and although we may go back at some point, we definitely won't be staying at the River Inn. Make no mistake, Apalachicola is still a great place to get away and relax, just be aware there are other nice options such as the Best Western Apalach Inn, the Buccaneer Inn over on St. George, The Consulate, The Gibson or The Witherspoon Inn. Future travelers don't deserve the treatment we received and do deserve to know that the River Inn is FAR from being the end-all/be-all for lodging in Apalach.

P.S. I do want to add that the head chef at Caroline's, John, is incredible and the morning wait staff including Charlotte, Dawn & Dallas are great. Don't let the fact that the motel is lacking keep you from experiencing Caroline's great food & hospitality. Also, it seemed to us that the Boss Oyster appears to be coasting on its reputation these days. At least during our stay, the oysters were fresher & better at Hole in the Wall and Up the Creek.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SteveD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Simons Island, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was our third visit and we can't say enough good things. My husband and I took our three grandsons on all our visits. We stay in the River Cottage and it is bright, clean and very happy. The front desk staff is always welcoming and very helpful. The cottage consists of two bedrooms, one bath plus a huge jacuzzi room, kitchen and large living room. The bedding and furniture are colorful. Caroline's for breakfast has a lot of variety, perfectly executed and it comes with any room. Once you try their breakfast you only want to eat at Caroline's. Boss Oyster has the best oysters in town. The wait staff in both restaurants were very friendly and professional. Almost forgot, the cottage has a deck that overlooks the river.

Room Tip: All rooms are riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.8 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
32.4 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
29.8 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Property: Apalachicola River Inn
Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,822 - ₹ 10,847
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing