We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the River be Your Guide with Captain Gill”

Capt. Gill's River Cruises
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Captain Gill performed a miracle for our family trip and convinced my mother to board his boat! I couldn't be MORE grateful for the two-hour cruise he arranged, for four of us, to celebrate my parents' birthdays. This captain is knowledgeable, personable, talented, articulate, and genuinely hopes that you have a good time! Gill is a friend and steward of the Apalachicola River and knows where its eagles land, herons take flight, and gators rise to the surface of its muddy waters. Don't forget to ask him to slow down, so that you and your entourage can climb atop, "Lily," and take photos out over the reeds for as far as you can see!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank jenninparadise32320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour trip"
in 3 reviews
"take photos"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable boat"
in 2 reviews
"laid back"
in 2 reviews
"lily"
in 6 reviews
"enclosed"
in 3 reviews
"eagles"
in 4 reviews
"wildlife"
in 7 reviews
"capt"
in 11 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 hour boat tour with Captain Gill. He is very knowledgeable about the ecology, the geography and the history of the area. We highly recommend this if those are your interests. The Captain is also very entertaining and enjoys his "job". And he let us bring our dog!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank DaveyCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Fabulous outing!! We cannot recommend Capt. Gill highly enough! His boat, Lily, is the perfect way to experience the river. Gill is filled with knowledge of the river and area history. Such a fun guy to talk to, we felt as if we were friends after just a few moments into the trip. We had perfect weather and it was a great afternoon!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank DawnandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

If you're wondering what's beyond that bend in the river, book a trip with Captain Gil, if you want to learn a little about what this area was like aways back, book a trip with Captain Gil , if you just want to spend a few relaxing hours out on the water , book a trip with Captain Gil. We booked a trip and were we ever glad we did. His boat is ideal, totally enclosed if you want out of the sun or breeze but plenty of room outside fore and aft and even on top if that's your pleasure.
It was my husband and me, our daughter and son in law and their 3 kids..13, 9 and 7. Each one of us took away something a little different but memorable from the trip. I highly recommend you try it too and make your own memories on your 3 hour tour.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Lkcoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015

My wife are from Southern Illinois and I contacted Gill for a river cruise up the Apalachicola during our stay on St. George Island last month. Neither of us are fishermen so we weren't up for a fishing trip but we enjoy nature and Captain Gill did a great job of making us feel comfortable with his knowledge of the region and his humorous stories. We will definitely return in the near future, next time with some of our kids and grandkids so they can have the same experience. One of the best days of our whole two-week trip!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt. Gill's River Cruises also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Capt. Gill's River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing