We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THE BICYCLES”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, AL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOVED THE BICYCLES”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first trip to Apalachicola and it was like stepping back in time -- a quaint, small fishing town and very laid back. We stayed at the Coombs House Inn in the Sandpiper room for three nights. Our room was on the second floor at the end of the hall, which was a good location. There is a moderate amount of traffic around the inn and I think it was a little more quiet on the 2nd floor. There are a couple of nice porches on the back of the house with plenty of comfy furniture. The room itself was about average for a B&B, but we felt a little cramped as the room has lots of furniture and not much available space for guests to use. The bathrooom had no space at all for our toiletries, so we ended up keeping them in their cases and keeping the cases on the floor. There was no bathtub, but the extra-sized shower was nice. The A/C had a main control for the second floor, and they kept it on 72 degrees (no thermostat in the room). The inn offers freshly baked cookies, coffee and tea in the afternoons and has a wine reception on the weekends from 6-7 p.m. The breakfasts were nice, with the typical continental offering of cereals, store-bought muffins and bagels, yogurt, etc. Each morning we were served a casserole-type food. We loved the bicycles, which were always available when we wanted to use them. They also have a tandem bicycle, which was a lot of fun. There are beach towels and chairs available (free) for trips to St. George Island. The staff was friendly and helpful. The inn is within walking distance to all the town's restaurants and shops, so we only used our car to go to St. George Island. There is a Piggly Wiggly grocery store a couple of blocks away, if you need to purchase wine (a nice selection) or picnic provisions (they carry Boars Head meats and cheeses). We would return to the Coombs House on a next trip to Apalach. The best alternative I saw around town was the Waterfront Marina - but it is a totally different type accommodation. I would def. choose the Coombs House over the Gibson Inn because of the location - the Gibson is right at the bridge to St. George's Island, where there is much more traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna9197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    264
    105
    63
    32
See reviews for
103
801
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A quaint B&B but perhaps did not quite come up to our expectations. We had 2 nights there in different rooms, the one we wanted was only available for the first night. The room on the first night was much better, more spacious and quieter with a walk-in closet, the bathroom was large and with natural light and had a bath, separate shower cubicle and twin sinks. The second room the following night was a disappointment, on the 1st floor right by the front door, the bathroom looked like it had been a former closet, tiny! Breakfasts were good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room no.8 was very good, on the 2nd floor, quite spacious with a large bathroom and separate shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mare47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Loved the home cooked breakfast instead of the cardboard waffles and rubber pancakes served in all the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a gost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We celebrated our anniversary several years ago at another B&B in Apalachicola and this far surpassed it! The town has grown and there is more shopping and eateries. I loved this location (convient walk to amenities and much quieter), the amenties and cleanliness. Staff was ever so friendly and the decor is excellent for the period of the home!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great old home with easy access to everything. Yellow bikes were fun and free. Well appointed, but needs maintenance in the broken tile and grout department and seamstress area. As usual with older homes, access to outlets involved a bit of crawling around, moving furniture. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.3 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
378 reviews
0.7 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
388 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
188 reviews
29.3 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
272 reviews
32.0 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,995 - ₹ 13,862
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing