We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit more than we bargained for, but fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 March 2012

How would you know in advance that your hotel is main host for Aspen Gay Ski Week if they didn't tell you in advance? We were only there for half the week that the frivolities kicked off - the spirit was definitely increasing over the week. We joined in the fun but it absolutely took over the hotel so is worth knowing about this if you are considering to go to Aspen over MLK weekend.
Limelight Hotel is actually a great spot. We had a personal situation while we were there and the staff couldnt have been more sympathetic and pleasant.
The rooms are all brand new- great standard- we chose one w/ patio doors and a fireplace- the latter definitely recommended.
Breakfast was satisfactory- not fantastic, but there is food enough to line your stomach for a day's skiing. The evening bar menu was perfect for après ski.
For skiing, the hotel is great. They have a mini 4 Mountain Sports and ski concierge on site w/ ski storage. Hotel has complimentary shuttle to the slopes, and the public ski bus stop is a 2-3min walk.
We had a fabulous trip!

Room Tip: We had a slightly upgraded room from the basic, with fireplace and small balcony. You can set the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,003 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just returned from five days at the Limelight...rooms are immaculate, well-maintained and very attractive.....if you are a skier, take advantage of the Limelight's free ski transfer and guest transport to the local slope of your choice............particular kudos must go to the superb services rendered consistently by the staff, especially Jacqueline and Elizabeth at the front desk. We will return to this well-located and beautifully decorated property.

Room Tip: overlooking Wagner Park is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kenneth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Bait and switch – reserved a wheelchair assessable room and had the paperwork to prove it. Yet, upon check-in, the handicapped rooms were on a different, more expensive floor. Also, the bathrooms in the available rooms had grab bars, but were not able to accommodate a wheelchair. The front desk staff wasn't apologetic about the “mix-up” (their word) and could not have cared less about the situation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limelightlodge, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Jsam J,

Thank you for bringing this experience to our attention. I am disappointed to hear our staff did little to rectify the "mix up" where you were left without an accessible room that met your expectations within the price point you desired. We have seven rooms on property that are wheelchair accessible in five different room types (in a range of different price points), including a luxury room with a fireplace on our top floor. All of our rooms meet ADA requirements and are spacious enough for a wheelchair to function within. Railing and roll-in showers are available in each of the handicap-accessible rooms.

We currently have no record of your stay or this incident in November, and I would love to speak with you further and find out more so I can address the situation more clearly. It looks like from your other TripAdvisor reviews you've had similar experiences at properties around the country, and I'd appreciate your personal feedback about accessibility at The Limelight. Please feel free to reach out to me at 970-925-3025.

Best,
Richard Stettner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Limelight Lodge is absolutely amazing. The perfect location, paired with the most friendly and knowledgeable staff in Aspen. Customer service is flawless. The place is fun, exciting, and beautiful. This is one of those rare places perfect for a couple's getaway or a family vacation. I would not stay anywhere else in Aspen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limelightlodge, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

DannyMI,

Wow! Thank you so much for the fantastic comments about your recent stay with us! Our staff works very hard to ensure that all of our guest's have the kind of stay that you did. This past week has been a fun filled week from the live music programs, to the food and most of all the snow that we have received!

I will make sure to pass your comments along to our entire team! We all look forward to having you come back and stay with us again!

Richard Stettner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our stay at the Limelight Lodge was wonderful. The pleasant drivers, waiters /waitresses, and front desk staff made our trip. Loved coffee service in room, thick towels and wonderful robes for hot tub. Loved walking to restaurants,shopping and of course skiing. Other ski areas are just a bus or car ride away. Room was very comfortable. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.4 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
516 reviews
1.6 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
3.8 km away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611-1846 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: ₹ 13,528 - ₹ 61,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing