We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay, great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Sky. We were there over President's Day and I was a little nervous about the service based on some of the reviews here. However, we were far from disappointed. Let me first say that this is certainly not a 5-star hotel and if you go there expecting that you might be disappointed. The rooms are on the small side and a little dated but they were very clean and housekeeping did a great job every day. We had an outside entrance on the pool side and I was concerned about the noise level at night but we couldn't hear a thing.

The service was great from the start. Andrew picked us up at the airport and was very friendly and gave us lots of good tips and information as we drove to the hotel. Amy, a waitress at 39 degrees, was unbelievably sweet and friendly and gave us great suggestions when we ate lunch outside one day as well as later at Apres ski. The food at 39 degrees is really, really good. She suggested the tuna tacos and we were definitely not disappointed.

39 degrees gets jammed after 4pm and on Saturday/Sunday it was a little too much of a scene for us after 8pm. We were in town with family who stayed at the St. Regis. It is really beautiful and if you're looking to cozy up with a good book in front of a fire that's the place to stay. But the lounge service there was terrible. Same for the Little Nell. Ate lunch at Montagna and Ajax and the food was excellent and the service was good but the lounge service was awful. The service and friendly staff at Sky did not disappoint and was better than expected on such a busy weekend.

Last but certainly not least is location. Sky is literally at the bottom of Ajax. You can practically walk out the door and be on the snow. The entire town is easily accessible and walkable and if for some reason you don't feel like walking, their cars will take you anywhere without a problem.

Room Tip: We had an outside entrance and it wasn't terrible but an inside entrance might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    137
    63
    36
    34
See reviews for
67
171
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is not your 5 star hotel. If you're looking for the red carpet to be rolled at your feet because you're staying in Aspen, I don't think Sky Hotel (or any Kimpton Hotel) is for you. That said, this is a hip, fun, dog friendly hotel. It's a stone's throw from the mountain. This is great if you want to get out and exercise your pup or take a nice walk up the hill yourself. The pool was hopping each afternoon too if that is your thing for the summer.

Room Tip: It is a little tricky to find so keep a close out for the sign. It looks more like condos on the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Just spent a week at the Sky hotel and there are pro's and con's unfortunately greatly out number the pro's ! The room could not get any smaller even for 1 person it's tight not to mention the bathroom we both couldn't get in it at the same time, the toilet is literally on top of the door ! After doing some research here there are much better condo's and hotels for the equivalent or less money. The hotel lacks that extra service from the front desk our greeting on arrival was poor ! the breakfast staff and bar staff make it more pleasurable and more genuine. On the plus side the location is very good however the only down side to this is that it is opposite the Little Nell which is at least 3 starts above The Sky in terms of quality of room and service. If you want to ski at Buttermilk or Snowmass you need to walk round to the bus station with ski's catch the bus then after your day if your going back the next day you can
leave your gear but at $10 a night. Disappointing that you have to walk to the bus station as other hotels offer the hotel mini bus direct to ski areas.
Aspen ski lift is just 5 mins walk round the corner from the hotel.

The hot tub is an experience as a couple of times I was in it people who were not staying at the hotel took a dip so you can imagine it got crowded !
Tom in the ski shop downstairs is great, good advise and service really looked after the ski's and told us the set up around the place, you can ski in but there is a little walk over the road to the hotel.

Best food was the L' Hostaria, Hickory House and Little Annies for the more American feel generally good food everywhere !
Would recommend Aspen for the skiing it's the best I've ever done as far as the Sky re think if you like 5 star !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieannetincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I grew up in Aspen and during our engagement party there was no room in the house for us, so we decided to get a room at Sky. Very large beds that are comfortable, great climate control and large bathrooms. We had the front room over looking the pool on the second level, and during the summer the patio is regularly rented out for parties, so if you hate noisy rooms stay away from the pool! Speaking of the pool, it is a main attraction for locals to hang out and eat the amazing Truffle Fries!!! There is nothing like a froufrou cocktail in the hot tub, or take a dip in the year round heated pool! All of the food at 39 degrees is spectacular.

One of the most notable features of the hotel is the crazy, extravagant decor. They have giant white chairs with soaring backs and interesting light installments. Passing through the lobby is 39 degrees lounge, bar and restaurant. They have a cozy bar area with booths, loungers, and action-sports films to entertain you. In the winter it is lovely to curl up next to the fire with a Snuggler (peppermint schnapps and hot chocolate.) This is a boutique hotel and the service is exemplary. Sky is located at the base of Aspen Mountain and you can ski-in/ski-out to the Silver Queen Gondola. They provide robes for all ages in zebra and leopard patterns! They are also pet-friendly with in-house dogs to great the guests!

Room Tip: If you desire relaxation and peace, avoid rooming by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccallud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thanks so much for the great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait for you to come back and visit the family again and stay with us. Thanks for the great feedback and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

As a family of 2 adults and one 12 year old the Sky Hotel exceeded all our requirements. The room was spacious, warm, and very clean.Tom and Matt at the downstairs Ski Hire were fantastic. The boys knowledge and friendly personality made us feel like friends, not customers. Parker,the night manager, has had such an amazing life, and was happy to share his knowledge of Aspen history with us.
We will be telling our friends what a fantastic time we had a the Sky Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thanks for your excellent review of the Sky Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait for you to return to stay with us and please do bring your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 km away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.5 km away
The Limelight Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.6 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
2.2 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 709 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-2037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#6 Green Hotel in Aspen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,328 - ₹ 60,414
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing