We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Grand Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

The hotel called ahead of time to see if we needed anything. We asked if we could be picked up at the Aspen airport and sure enough someone was there on time to get us when we arrived.It was a short 15 minute drive to the hotel. The person who drove us took our bags up to the room for us. We had rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit for the week. The hardwood floors in the room were beautiful. There was a big coat closet when we first walked into the unit. Our bedroom with King size bed had a fireplace and a flat screen TV and a seating area with a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom had a shower and a separate bath tub, a double sink and there was a tv in the bathroom. We also had a huge walk in closet.
Our friends room had a Queen bed. They had no windows in the room and the doors to their room were like closet doors. They also had a Flat screen TV and they had a bathroom with a steam shower and a jacuzzi tub. Then in another room they had a separate toilet room with additional sink.
There was a sleeper couch in the living room with another flat screen TV and a fireplace.
The living area had 2 sets of glass doors to a walk out porch.
We had daily cleaning service that was incredible. They also replaced the soap and shampoo every day and even left us a small tube of toothpaste. Every evening they had turn down service and left us some chocolate.
They had free shuttle service from the hotel that took us to the Snowmass ski mountain and the Cross Country ski center.
The ski rental shop in the hotel kept our skis and boots for us overnight. The shuttle bus picked us up right outside the door of the shop.
We used the fitness center and it had all the machines that we needed.
Every morning there was a free breakfast downstairs.
The concierge recommended that we try the L'Hosteria restaurant and it was excellent. We were able to walk there and back.
All the shops and restaurants were in walking distance and we were also able to walk to the grocery store to get our groceries. Aspen is a cute town to walk around.
Our kitchen had all the top appliances including a wood panel fridge & dishwasher and a small flat screen tv. There were plenty of dishes and glasses and we were able to cook our own meals several nights.
We had a dining table that could seat 8 people as well as a kitchen counter that could seat 3. There was also a wine cooler near the counter.
There was a washer and dryer in our unit. Our only complaint is that the dryer did not work well but there were some washer dryers in a room in the hall that worked very well and we used those. The hotel provided the washer soap and fabric softener sheets.
The hotel also had regular and decaf coffee on the kitchen counter as well as salt and pepper.
We had a view from our window that faced Aspen mountain and we could see the skiers coming down. Although we could have just walked over to Aspen mountain to ski we took the 20 minute free shuttle ride to Snowmass Mountain where we skied off the Gondola side and had excellent conditions. Snowmass is more family friendly and less challenging than Aspen Mountain. After skiing we were able to sit outside at Sneakys tavern at the bottom of the mountain and have a beer. It was in the 30's out but they get a lot of sun in the afternoon so it was warm enough.
There was very little I could improve on at this hotel. The only thing I might suggest is that because many people do their own cooking in the units they should provide the rooms with recyclable bins. Also, the beds have pillow top mattresses, which is a little too soft for me.
I understand they charge for parking a car but we did not need a car while we were there.
We also had free internet service which was a big plus for us since we were able to do some business on our lap tops.
I give this place 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    34
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

I've stayed in one other facility that comes close to the standard of the Hyatt Grand Aspen. We drove from Denver to Aspen. It's a long drive and you must have a FWD or AWD in winter. We had a dump of 10 inches last night and have to leave this morning. I'm glad we have the AWD vehicle.

I think my favorite feature is the kitchen. All Viking appliances and laid out for people who love to cook, as we do. We didn't eat out once so I have no restaurant recommendations. The kitchen is well stocked and even has martini glasses, red and white wine glasses, etc.

We had a one bedroom unit facing the pool. I don't think there is a bad view here. The pool isn't over the top but it is heated and feels great to swim while it is snowing. The two hot tubs are great as well. You are struck by how warm the interior feels when you wall in with rich dark wood floors and door finishes and crown molding. The fireplace heats the place and we were never the least bit cold. Next to the kitchen the shower is awesome! I never used the jacuzzi but I'm sure it is great.

One review I read complained about the windowless bedroom. This is a matter of personal preference. Our unit had French doors in the bedroom opening into the great room. There was plenty of light in the BR when you opened the doors. I liked the super darkness when you close the French Doors. I had no idea if the sun was up or not. I like this, others may not. I certainly wouldn't let it ruin my day!

I used the fitness facility one time. It is well stocked but not huge. Given I was the only one in there it is certainly adequate. They do provide a free continental breakfast each morning. It's fine and the coffee is good. The location of this resort is two block from the main lift at Aspen Mountain ski resort. I don't know how you could beat it.

As far as value, we are Hyatt Vacation Club owners. I don't know what the place would cost to rent if you aren't an owner. We bought our membership in the secondary market for almost nothing so by pass any attempt to sell you a membership. Our maintenance fees are $1,400/year. I figure four nights at Hyatt Grand Aspen more than made up for our annual fee and we still have another week and four nights left for this year. If you can buy in the secondary market and you enjoy really nice accommodations when you travel, then this is a deal.

I'd come back here in a heartbeat. I might fly into Aspen next time and save the drive. I would think any time of year would be a good time to be here. There is so much outdoor activity to do and the resort is a great place to come home to.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We really enjoyed are stay here because our two bedroom suite was amazing. We expected nice accommodations, but the luxurious lodge-like look of the suite was really outstanding.

The suite was large and centered on a living area between the two bedrooms. This room had a great kitchen with full top of the line appliances, a dining area that sat six, and a living room area with multiple seating options centered toward the fireplace and TV. Each bedroom was different. One had a balcony and fireplace. The other had neither but instead had a nice bow shaped extra sitting area. Both bathrooms were very large, filled with sand colored marble and separate tub and shower. One had a TV, the other did not but had a steam shower and Jacuzzi tub. Needless to say it took a while for us to figure out who wanted which room. The overall look of the suite was rich with lots of earth tones, dark furniture, and heavy drapes. Just the kind of place you want to hang out in on a cool night in Aspen. There were lots of paintings on the walls and other items that gave the suite a complete look. The view was across downtown and to the mountain on the other side of town.

The rest of the hotel is nice, but calling this a hotel is a stretch. There is an attractive lobby area but other than that the hotel really feels more like a private condo. Breakfast is light continental fair served in a small dark wood club room with a couple of tables. The pool is in a center courtyard surrounded by the hotel. It is a black bottom pool, small but just large enough for laps, and with a waterfall cascading in. There are some lounge chairs around the pool, and a hot tub. A small but attractive gym overlooks the pool area. After a certain time, we forget the exact time, the hotel basically shuts down and you need your key to get in the front door. We had absolutely no problem with any of this, but want to point out that this hotel does not feel like a full service regular hotel which can be considered a positive for many travelers.

The staff at the hotel overall is very young. They were nice and helpful, but not as polished as you might expect at a high end hotel. Aspen is a small town so the location is good, within walking distance of everything, although the hotel will also drive you to locations nearby.

The only negative about staying here is that you need to be careful about what room you end up with. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the town as mentioned, and we were very happy with this location. There are also rooms on the first floor that look directly out onto the street or others into the pool courtyard. Some of these rooms must lack privacy and views.

If you want some extra space and maybe to cook a meal, this is the place to stay. Even if you don’t cook, still stay here and enjoy the extra space and outstanding décor and luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed here 4 days [10/10-10/14/10] in a 2 queen bed studio and it was superb. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful; they were genuinely interested in helping us have an enjoyable stay at the Aspen Grand [7,900 ft elevation]. We had no problems with the staff like some of the other reviewers had mentioned; I'd ignore their comments.

Used one of the two hot tubs two nights; was great and we were the only ones using it; room has robes and clogs to wear down to the hot tub. Beds are the pillowtop which are a little soft but still good sleep for me; my wife loved it; turndown service every evening. Daily maid service. Had a gorgeous gas fire pit with mountain views.

October is definitely the slow time of the season at Aspen. Some restaurants like New York Pizza are closed. Some restaurants that are open have discounts (Mezzaluna and La Palapa).

No crowds at Maroon Bells; did the 3.6 mi moderate roundtrip hike from Maroon Lake (9,500') to Crater Lake (10,075'); also drove up there two late evenings [6:30 PM] to get sunset pictures; a chilly 34 degrees. It's only a 30 minute drive from the Hyatt to the day use parking lot. About 1/3rd of the Aspen trees still had blazing golden leaves but the ideal time would probably be the last week of September....however it's more crowded then and you have take a free bus rather than your car. Stop at the Aspen Ranger office, 806 W. Hallam, to get maps and great info; very helpful.

Drove Hwy 82 one hour east from Aspen on the narrow two lane winding paved road to Independence Pass (12,000'); spectacular views; dress warmly; at Noon it was probably 35 degrees and a 20 mph wind; very cold. This pass closes from late October through spring snow melt. Stopped at Independence Ghost Town; you drive right by it on Hwy 82; interesting; look it up on line: http://www.ghosttowns.com/states/co/independence.html. Lots of day hikes along Hwy 82; at mile 54 we did Lost Man trail (easy 2 miles round trip).

We got a 2011 Toyota Corolla rental car from Enterprise at Denver Airport for $109 [that was the no-reservation pickup weekly rate!]; it got 35 mpg; ran great; I-70 and Hwy 82 [great four lane divided hwy] were clear so we didn't worry about chains for the 225 mile drive to Aspen; from late October through April I'd definitely carry chains in the trunk [$500-$1000 fine if chains are required and you drive without them]. Parked our car for free at the Hyatt underground parking [one car limit; more than one car they charge you]. Walked most places in Aspen as the Hyatt location is two blocks from mountain and central to the restaurants and shopping. City Market, the large grocery chain, is about 4 blocks away. The Silver Queen gondola lift is 3 blocks away [closed when we were there]; free shuttle during ski season from Hyatt to the lift or to Snowmass, Buttermilk, or Highlands. Onsite ski rental; ski equip storage in basement.

Went to a John Denver tribute concert at the Wheeler Opera House [3 blocks away] by John Adams and Friends; was terrific; played great music for 3 hours; cost $35 each. We'll go next year; John Adams has done this concert for the last 12 years; he is a highly talented vocalist (sounds just like John Denver) and guitarist along with a terrific band.

Overall: Hyatt Grand is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

The Aspen Grand Hyatt was very comfortable and well appointed. We stayed in a studio. the room and bathroom were large. The only complaint the bed was a little soft. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShariJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 km away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.3 km away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.3 km away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Grand Aspen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Grand Aspen

Property: Hyatt Grand Aspen
Address: 415 E Dean St, Aspen, CO 81611-1809
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,560 - ₹ 98,233
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Grand Aspen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Grand Aspen is a Residential property that also rents rooms as a typical hotel would. Keep in mind that as we are not a typical hotel some services are not provided such as room service, or a spa. What is provided is a first class property with beautifully appointed, immaculate rooms in a relaxed, home-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Grand Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Aspen Hotel Aspen
Hyatt Aspen
Aspen Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing