We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
23
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bear lockers vault toilets great campground the roaring fork river aspen trees bear country maroon bells hosts firewood spigot
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We were attending a show in Aspen, and wanted to stay close by for fairly cheap. This was exactly what we were looking for. Close enough to day trip to aspen for the day. Far enough to get away also. Will be staying here for any of my future Aspen trips.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ismael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This is wonderful campground! Don't come here looking to be pampered and looked after! Difficult is a great place to get away from the crowd and the busy side of town. My family and I come here every other year and stay as our basecamp to explore the areas lakes and hiking trails. NO toilets, NO electric, NO showers - It doesn't get any better than that!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful fall colors at the campground with a river to back it up. Each site has a bear safe trash bin. Lots of trees betweent you and the neighbors for privacy. There is a group site for large parties. Facilities are very basic.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank AdventureTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This was the most primitive of the three government campgrounds I used during my trip. The campground was remote and quiet, yet only 5 to 10 minutes from Aspen. No cell service and not even power to light the toilet buildings. Limited facilities were clean, friendly host and trails available right at the campground were nice (but no maps that we could find.)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank AmyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Really nice campground. Well set up and pretty good isolation between sites with separation by groves of young aspen trees. Firewood available onsite. Just a few minutes drive from aspen and Maroon Bells / Snowmass and a half hour drive to independence pass. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank LA-ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews