We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antonito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Trout Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I took my daughter back to Rainbow Trout this Summer. Once again, it was a wonderful experience! The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The food was healthy, great variety and delicious. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The owners go over the top to make all feel welcome and happy. They bring in all the cousins, aunts and uncles to round out the staff.
The horses are well trained and familiar with the trails and the wranglers were great guides and knowledgeable horsemen and women.

Do I sound pleased with my experience? I hope so...I would absolutely recommend this as a wholesome family experience or a great get away to anyone who loves the outdoors, beautiful scenery and horses.

Plenty of options for non-riding guests as well!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

We visited our son who is working at this ranch this summer and it was fabulous! The location in the mountains in southeastern Colorado is so beautiful. The lodge was built in the 1920's and is original to the property. The ranch is a guest ranch that has many activities available to the guests including horseback riding and trail rides, fishing, swimming, and white water rafting. The staff were so friendly and we enjoyed meeting all of them. The ranch is owned by a family who have been running this business for over 30 years! They seemed to have perfected the experience for their guests and their service provided is exceptional!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is the third summer in a row that our family (including kids ages 10 and 13) has spent a week at Rainbow Trout Ranch and the experience gets better and better. Its a place where adults can unwind and kids can have freedom. The accomodations are authentic - multi-room cabins with fireplaces and huge log lodge; the food is hearty; there are a multitude of activity options - from riding and fishing to hiking and white water rafting; and the scenery is spectacular. Most of all the hospitality is genuine - the Van Berkum's treat you like family and they hire and engaging and intersting staff of young men and women each summer to watch after guests.

My family enjoys riding horses and we are always paired with great horses each visit. The kids love the freedom and being involved in the "Cowpoke" and "Teen" counseled groups.

Some of the things we like most about Rainbow Trout Ranch:
- Guided small group rides to suit your riding level - and not nose to tail moseys.
- The location is a bit remote (but only 2.5 hours from Santa Fe and 3.5 hours from Albequerque) but that means you have the National Forest trails almost to yourself the entire week - it seems as if you have 1,000 acres of forest to yourself.
- Fantastic food and coffee
- Line dancing and square dancing nights.
- Falling to sleep at night because your physcially tired from all of the fun activities.
- Off the grid - no TV's, no cell service - limited internet connectivity.

The only downside is that it takes us about a month to get over missing the horses, being in the mountains, the food etc. . . We will return next year for sure.

If you are serching for the right Vacation (Dude) Ranch for your next vacation - then stop your search, call Jane or Linda and RTR and make a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lawblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Our family of 6 (kids ages 12-17) just finished a week long stay at RTR. We have been fortunate enough to travel many places, but we have never experienced anything quite like this ranch. For those interested in horseback riding, there is outstanding instruction and ample opportunity to ride a variety of trails in a beautiful setting. But the ranch also offers so much more. We enjoyed fishing, hiking, white water rafting, and interacting with an amazing staff of young adults who were personable, interesting, and engaging. The ranch is owned and operated by an impressive family who make all the guests feel welcome. A highlight for us was the 2 evenings of country dancing. The young staff made sure all the kids had dance partners and helped everyone learn the steps. This trip offers a rare opportunity to experience a true family vacation in beautiful southern Colorado. Thank you, RTR!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rr922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The best dude ranch we have ever visited, staffed by the nicest collection of people we could ever hope to meet. Nestled in the quiet Conejos River Valley and in the shadow of three titanic rock outcrops named Faith, Hope, and Charity, the huge Old World style lodge took us back to the Old West. The riding excursions were led by enthusiastic and skilled wranglers, leading us into the local hills where we spotted elk, coyote, and mule deer. It was a vacation where even the kids put the electronics away and reconnected with the world the old way. No TV's, no cell service, no internet, and it was perfect.

Room Tip: The cabins are very rustic, dating to the 1920's. Do not expect a luxury hotel. It is a dude ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antonito hotels
33.5 km away
Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn
33.7 km away
Steam Train Hotel
Steam Train Hotel
#4 of 4 in Antonito
83 reviews
33.8 km away
Indiana Jones Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Trout Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Trout Ranch

Address: 1484 Fdr 250, P.O. Box 458, Antonito, CO 81120-9303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Antonito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Antonito
Price Range: ₹ 89,172 - ₹ 1,14,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular guest ranch set at 9000' in the southern Colorado Rockies. Superb riding and fishing, fun kids' and teen programs, evening activities, trapshooting and more. The adventure of a lifetime. Share our special brand of western hospitality and see why folks keep coming back for more! Member of all accredited associations, Horse Safety certified. Top Ten Dude Ranch. Signature Ranch. All-inclusive, and exclusive. Wonderful experience in every way. Come share it with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Trout Ranch Hotel Antonito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing