We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamplighter Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 142
US$ 131
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 135
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Inn of Alamosa(Alamosa)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Motel(Alamosa)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
4
12
12
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
12
12
9
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I decided to stay at the Lamplighter to get a flavor of the 50-60s style places that I use to stay at on my travels to and from Phoenix. The room was clean and everything worked well. It is not fancy motel, more of a Motel 6 style room. The price was decent and the free breakfast the following morning was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringo515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the Lamplighter numerous times but not for several years. This was our last stay. The towels were thin (Bounty paper towels absorbed more - and that's what I used!) and 1 bath towel was totally ragged along the edge. The owner should be embarrased to have them in the room. Splotchy paint or spackle covered cracks in the bathroom and the carpet was threadbare.
The other problem is you have to leave the wall switch in the ON position for the fridge to work, and turn individual lights on/off. That wouldn't have been a problem except the chain to turn the light on over the table was so short I had to climb on a chair to reach it - and I'm 5'8". We found this out immediately upon checking into the room and went to the office for a fix. A piece of chain or string would fix the issue. The clerk contacted the owner and we never heard from anyone again. So much for service!
We won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

For an inexpensive motel, you can't ask for much more. No, not a luxury place, but the rooms are clean and it's actually pretty cool how they have the cool old light fixtures over the beds. The rooms are nice, with a fridge and a microwave. Everything you really need. The AC units work, though it's pretty cool at night there most of the time. I'm really glad we took the advice of other posters and stayed there.

But, the great part! The people are awesome. We stayed on a Thursday and returned on our way back home on Monday. I'd left a prescription bottle in the room. I was sure that was the last I'd see of it, but I asked at the desk when we came back and they had it there waiting for me! Really awesome.

Oh! And the free breakfast!! Wow! That beats the heck out of a mini-muffin and instant coffee. That's a real meal that gets you down the road on a full belly and plenty of coffee. You really have to factor that into the cost, and when you do, it turns a good deal into a smokin' deal!

We'll make this trip once a year, and I guarantee the Lamplighter will be our stopover point.

Room Tip: They'll put you in a first floor room if they have one. Makes it easier to load in. We stayed in the main building. Don't know what the other building is like, but it has the pool. We'll try it when my daughter makes the trip with us.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked two rooms for two nights so we could ride the Rio Grande Scenic Railway's concert train. We loved the fact that after parking our car at the motel Friday evening, we didn't need it again until we checked out Sunday morning. The railroad was just two blocks away, a top-rated restaurant across the block, and the scenic riverwalk along the Rio Grande was just a few minutes' walk.

Yes, the motel is old and showing wear. But it was built to last. The brick and concrete block walls mean the rooms are quiet. The mattress looked new and felt great. Downsides are that the towels are small and thin and that you have to be careful with the light switches not to cut power to the mini fridge and microwave, but there is clear signage in the room to that effect.

The clerk in the office was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised that the tickets for the free breakfast next door actually provided a well-prepared, substantial meal: two eggs; ham, sausage, or bacon; hashbrowns, toast, and coffee.

There are many newer motels on the outskirts of town, but none that provide the Lamplighter's combination of value and location for people who plan to ride the train.

Room Tip: If you want access to the swimming pool, get a room in the annex, which is four or five blocks west of the main location.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This motel is an old-fashioned place. It is not modern or fancy, but it was clean, friendly and well worth the price. We stayed in 'the annex' so we could be near the pool (which was cold but clean). The breakfast in the restaurant was top shelf, and the restaurant was friendly and cozy. We're glad we chose this motel - we were able to walk to downtown restaurants and loved them. With the money we saved from the motel, we could splurge. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose the annex to be near the pool. Stay in the main motel to be near the restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews