We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Worth It”
Review of Mt. Ada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. Ada
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's Worth It”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I were looking for a memorable place to stay for our 10th anniversary. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. We've stayed in numerous B&B's around the world and can say hands down that this was the best one we've ever been too. It was a bit outside of our price range until we saw the last minute specials. Then, when you factor in all of the amenities that come with your stay, it more than makes up for the cost of the room. The staff has worked hard to maintain the historical integrity of the home by keeping it as close to what it looked like when the Wrigley's lived there as possible. They were also extremely friendly and worked hard to ensure a memorable visit. We will return to Catalina - not for the beaches, restaurants, or entertainment - but to stay at this B&B again.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. You really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Great place to stay above all the compactness of Avalon. A very short drive above Avalon, but when your there you feel as thou it's your own home with all the freedom they allow. Freedom, but with someone catering to your needs if need be. A pool would make the Inn
perfect.

Room Tip: Booking last minute offers incredible deals when you add it all up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouieGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We just stayed for the tenth consecutive year at the Inn. We have tried other hotels and B&B's on Catalina and around the country and there is no place more refreshing, relaxing, enjoyable and all-around comfortable as the Inn on Mt. Ada, thanks to the staff and Inn Keepers. The view, the atmosphere, the service and the food are excellent. The only problem we had was we booked only two nights and not our usual three nights. Won't make that mistake next year. If you stay anywhere in Catalina, the Inn is the best. Looking for exercise, a brisk walk down the hill and a slow walk back up will get your heart pumping. Overall value, with accommodations, food, beverage, snacks and cart is spectacular.

Room Tip: All rooms and great. Won't tell you our favorite as we don't want any competition for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCal-CDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I received a weekend stay as our wedding gift from his grandparents which quickly turned into the best honeymoon we could have dreamed of. The staff were incredibly sweet and accommodating, the food was wonderful and the views were nothing short of perfection. We will tell everyone how amazing the our stay at the inn was for years to come. What a wonderful experience our stay at Mt. Ada was.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walls7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We celebrated my birthday by coming to The Inn At Mt. Ada. We had never been to Catalina & I was not sure where to stay, but after reading reviews on TripAdvisor I made the decision to come here & I am so glad we did. If you like to be in the center of town there are plenty of places to stay. BUT if you want to feel like you are in another world this place is it. Yes it is a little pricey, but with fantastic views, many places to sit and relax inside or outside you will leave here feeling very calm before heading back out to the crazy world. It is worth the money at least once in your life or perhaps more than once! We certainly enjoyed the use of the golf cart which if you rent in town costs anywhere from $20-$30/hr. The lunches and breakfast, evening appetizers, and plenty of other snacks are available. We enjoyed the wine, beer, champagne, sodas, ice cream, cookies, etc. where were available all day. And most of all the staff are so warm & friendly and they make you feel so at home, you will feel sad when you have to leave, we did. This was really a very special birthday, I can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNFROST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,098 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.7 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.8 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Ada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Ada

Property: Mt. Ada
Address: 398 Wrigley Rd., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Inn on Mt. Ada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,892 - ₹ 39,964
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt. Ada 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Complimentary Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvre Reception. - Complimentary Butler's Pantry available throughout the day, includes fresh fruit, mixed nuts, soft drinks, beer and wine, ice cream sundaes, popcorn, coffee, teas, and cocoa. - Complimentary golf cart for use during your stay - VIP access to Descanso Beach Club Cabanas, Access to Tennis Courts at the Catalina Country Club and Complimentary Green Fees at the Catalina Island Golf Course. - Complimentary access to Island Spa Catalina facilities including pool, hot tub, relaxation deck. (Spa treatments are additional.) - Complimentary Behind the Scenes tour of the Catalina Casino - Private van pick up from the airport, heliport, boat terminal or other properties - Daily housekeeping, robes, nightly turndown, High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mt. Ada Hotel Avalon
Mt. Ada Avalon, Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing