We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My husband and I visited Catalina for the first time and absolutely loved it! We didn't know where to stay and saw some good reviews for El Terrado and so glad we stayed here! Spacious rooms, great bathroom and an entire kitchen! We would have packed way more food and maybe even cooked one night if we would have realized. The staff was great as well. Very accommodating, we got in around 10:30 in the morning and were able to check in early. Our boat didn't leave until 4:30 on Sunday and the staff sent our luggage down to the docking area for us to pick up later. It was nice to spend a whole day not worrying about our luggage. We are already planning another trip and look forward to another stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    110
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
125
172
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at El Terrado Terrace mid week in May 2012. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a quiet and functioning air conditioner and a kitchen. The "mini suite" is really only one large room with a kitchen. The only sitting area in the room was a small kitchen table with two wooden chairs; there were no couches. I always wake up before my husband in the morning, so I had to remain in bed to read comfortably.
The bathroom was small and had only a shower. The shower had no ledges to place soap or shampoo, so everything had to stay on the floor; annoying to say the least. The vanity was well lit, but was too small to place the personal effects of two people, so those items went on the floor for storage. There was only one bar of soap in the bathroom on our first day, so it had to serve for the shower and the sink/vanity area.
The hotel is located on a hill approximately 5 min. walk from the downtown. Plan on wearing good walking shoes!
There is a small office that says " Manager", but there was never anyone there during our stay! There is a red phone on the wall that connected us to someone, presumably the Manager. Since the room had no phone, it was necessary to go outside and use this red phone to request things like extra pillows etc.
Overall the Terado Terrace is a decent value for the money, but don't expect frills.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holymolyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just got back from Avalon and stayed at the El Terrado Terrace. The room was clean and it was a good deal for the price. The walls are very thin and there was music blaring when my husband and I were trying to take a nap. I don't mind music, but this music probably could have been heard at least a block away. I had read reviews on the hill that you have to walk up to get back to your room from Downtown. We hiked it a couple of times late at night and it is very steep! Wouldn't mind staying here again, but I think next time we would rather just stay in town for convenience. Make sure that you have your bags delivered to the port on the day that you leave so you don't have to carry them around town if your boat leaves later on in the day. It was only $3 a bag and well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPalmer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here because it was the only hotel that was available, and because they had a king size bed with a mini kitchen for a great price. When we arrived for check-in, the manager said that they did not have the room that we booked available because someone punched a hole through the door. At first, I was really disappointed, but he gave us at least $100.00 off on our stay. He gave us room 119 which was at the top floor of the hotel. It was very quiet there, and the views were amazing. The next day, transferred us to room 104, which was originally what we had reserved with amazing ocean views. Someone complained about the nasty roof view next door in one of the reviews, but that is really something the management at el terado terrace can't do anything about. We didn't mind the walk up hill at all. It was good to burn down all the calories from eating. It's a nice location as well because it's quiet and in the morning you can hear the birds chirping. Overall, it was an excellent stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MouseNoNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in Room 108 and found it large, clean and comfortable. This room had a full kitchen with a view of the ocean. The public patio around the corner was a great place to relax and meet fellow travelers. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The walkway in front of the room was narrow and passersby were often tempted to look in our window. All was a short walk away. We would definitely stay here again. Great value, as well.

Room Tip: The first floor has easiest access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,788 - ₹ 21,073
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Avalon, Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing