We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 423
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 503
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$ 346
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
621
69
8
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
69
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondrooftop deckcraftsman stylecatalina islandwrap around balconysea salt scrubcontinental breakfastbeach bagcomplimentary snackshumming birdsfire pitmemory foamgarden viewboiled eggsbath productsbottled waterlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This little hotel is unique and cozy, with beautiful views from every room, and the rooftop access being tough to beat. I really loved the bath robes, and there was something so relaxing about drinking a glass of white wine while sitting on the balcony. I would love to return to Catalina, and would definitely book my stay at Avalon again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Koi greet you in the charming garden where breakfast is served. Staff is warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. Hotel is half block from heart of Avalon's beach/marina/restaurant row/shopping and just around the corner from the Catalina Island Museum with the amazing not-to-be-missed Chihuly exhibit. Loved our third floor balcony room, but remember there are no elevators!

Room Tip: Stay on first floor if have trouble with climbing stairs; otherwise don't forget to enjoy rooftop garden!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Randall, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked our continental breakfast served in our garden patio! Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback. We do love our location, and I'm happy you got to see the Chichuly Glass Art Exhibit at our museum, it's only here until early December. We'd love to see you in the future!

Happy travels,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

I was planning a surprise birthday visit to Catalina Island for my husband. Based on excellent reviews, I took a chance on booking two nights at the Avalon Hotel. Upon arrival at the Island, we took a short cab ride to our hotel. The Avalon provides a voucher for the taxicab to and from the dock area. This is a lovely bonus, especially if you have extra luggage, although it is a nice 10 minute walk if you choose the exercise.

We were thrilled with the location of the hotel, which is in the heart of Avalon, just steps from wonderful restaurants, beaches and shops. We were greeted by very friendly staff members who held our luggage until our room was ready. We spent a few hours at Descanso Beach Club enjoying a beach-side lunch, sunning and snorkeling. This lovely beach is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, although there are places to swim and small beaches right off the boardwalk by the hotel.

When we returned from our day at the beach, we were shown to our room. Our luggage had been taken there for us. We stayed in the garden view room #204 which had a nice view of the patio, gardens and koi pond. It also has a peekaboo view of the ocean harbor! The room is smallish but very adequate for our needs. The king sized bed was very comfortable with lovely premium bedding. There is a large flat screen tv opposite the bed also. The hotel provides water and juice and snacks in the small refrigerator in the room. The white tile beach themed bathroom was large and beautiful. The room and bathroom was very clean and absolutely spotless!

Our 2nd floor room was adjacent to the garden so it was very quiet. Each morning, the staff sets the tables in the garden and provides a delicious continental breakfast. We enjoyed choices of fresh baked sweet rolls, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereals, orange juice and of course, coffee.

There is also a wonderful roof top patio with comfy chaise lounges, towels, and bistro tables, which are perfect for sharing wine and cheese or just enjoying the sweeping views of the harbor and beaches.

For our excursions, we took the 3 hour Eco Jeep tour of the island the next morning which we highly recommend. We also had fun on the Flying Fish tour which is a night time experience. The Catalina museum is not to be missed, and is a short walk from the hotel. Currently they are hosting a wonderful display of Gihuli glass creations which are magnificent. It is also a good place to learn more about the history of Catalina.

We would like to thank our hosts at the Avalon for all the recommendations of things to do and see, and also for making us feel pampered throughout our stay. Even our taxi driver, who has lived on the island for 40 years said that we were at the best hotel in his opinion! We agree. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

MaryAnn, thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are happy you were pleased with our location and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing all the fun activities you enjoyed while here! I'm glad you got to see the Chihuly Art Glass display at the Museum, as it is here until early December this year. We're happy to host you any time at all, and we appreciate the feedback. You make our job easy!

Best,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. The room was clean (BUT) we were on the street side and it was very noisy with the golf carts zipping by all day. The sliding glass door did cut down the noise quite a bit though. The front rooms are the one with balconies.The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was my husbands birthday and he got a yummy bottle of wine given to him. My calves hurt like heck from walking up and down the hill. Breakfast is on the beautiful patio next to a coy pond and fire pit. Cozy! We will definitely be back but will stay on the other side of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Cheryl, thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. It means the world that you all chose to provide us with some feedback -- it sounds like your stay was a great one. Those five stars are the best compliment, and would love nothing more than to have you all again in the future.

Best,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed for the weekend recently and we loved the property. Paul was amazing and he was able to recommend several restaurants and activities that ended up being just wonderful. Friday nights they have wine and cheese on the rooftop deck which was a great way to see the bay and relax. The deck was a great place to just relax during the day rather than fight the crowded beach! Fair warning, the rooms are all the same size, very compact unless you are in a suite. We were not in Catalina hanging out in the hotel room so not a big deal for us. The hotel is a couple hundred feet walk up a hill. Highly recommend Steves Steakhouse and Portofino for lunch or dinner, thank you Paul for the great reccommendation. We will definately be back to stay again!! Josi and Erik

Room Tip: Great location, staff was excellent. Great breakfast buffet too!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Josi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Josi, we can't thank you all enough for choosing to stay with us. Excellence is definitely what we aim for from beginning to end. It sounds like all around, your stay was a great one. Thanks for giving us the chance to serve you all, including Paul (we will all call ourselves Paul this week, since we don't have a Paul on board) and we hope you'll come back our way soon.

Best,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews