We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This truly IS the best hotel on Catalina Island! Beautiful hotel, friendly staff”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We felt like guests at a large house or a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel. They have not left a detail out in setting up this establishment for guests. From the rooftop deck overlooking the inlet, to the lovely outdoor breakfast dining area with the koi pond. The folks that run the hotel live on-site and could not have been more pleasant. Rooms are lovely (with robes), and free drinks and snacks available all day,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your support. We're so pleased you're a fan of what we do here, Deborah. It's all in the details, and thanks so much for noting our Innkeepers, we have a great team. We have added many touches we have enjoyed on our travels around the world and we strive to have that bed and breakfast feel. We were honored to have had the opportunity to serve you during your visit and hope to get the opportunity when you travel our way again.

Best,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This little hotel is unique and cozy, with beautiful views from every room, and the rooftop access being tough to beat. I really loved the bath robes, and there was something so relaxing about drinking a glass of white wine while sitting on the balcony. I would love to return to Catalina, and would definitely book my stay at Avalon again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Koi greet you in the charming garden where breakfast is served. Staff is warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. Hotel is half block from heart of Avalon's beach/marina/restaurant row/shopping and just around the corner from the Catalina Island Museum with the amazing not-to-be-missed Chihuly exhibit. Loved our third floor balcony room, but remember there are no elevators!

Room Tip: Stay on first floor if have trouble with climbing stairs; otherwise don't forget to enjoy roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Randall, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked our continental breakfast served in our garden patio! Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback. We do love our location, and I'm happy you got to see the Chichuly Glass Art Exhibit at our museum, it's only here until early December. We'd love to see you in the future!

Happy travels,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

I was planning a surprise birthday visit to Catalina Island for my husband. Based on excellent reviews, I took a chance on booking two nights at the Avalon Hotel. Upon arrival at the Island, we took a short cab ride to our hotel. The Avalon provides a voucher for the taxicab to and from the dock area. This is a lovely bonus, especially if you have extra luggage, although it is a nice 10 minute walk if you choose the exercise.

We were thrilled with the location of the hotel, which is in the heart of Avalon, just steps from wonderful restaurants, beaches and shops. We were greeted by very friendly staff members who held our luggage until our room was ready. We spent a few hours at Descanso Beach Club enjoying a beach-side lunch, sunning and snorkeling. This lovely beach is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, although there are places to swim and small beaches right off the boardwalk by the hotel.

When we returned from our day at the beach, we were shown to our room. Our luggage had been taken there for us. We stayed in the garden view room #204 which had a nice view of the patio, gardens and koi pond. It also has a peekaboo view of the ocean harbor! The room is smallish but very adequate for our needs. The king sized bed was very comfortable with lovely premium bedding. There is a large flat screen tv opposite the bed also. The hotel provides water and juice and snacks in the small refrigerator in the room. The white tile beach themed bathroom was large and beautiful. The room and bathroom was very clean and absolutely spotless!

Our 2nd floor room was adjacent to the garden so it was very quiet. Each morning, the staff sets the tables in the garden and provides a delicious continental breakfast. We enjoyed choices of fresh baked sweet rolls, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereals, orange juice and of course, coffee.

There is also a wonderful roof top patio with comfy chaise lounges, towels, and bistro tables, which are perfect for sharing wine and cheese or just enjoying the sweeping views of the harbor and beaches.

For our excursions, we took the 3 hour Eco Jeep tour of the island the next morning which we highly recommend. We also had fun on the Flying Fish tour which is a night time experience. The Catalina museum is not to be missed, and is a short walk from the hotel. Currently they are hosting a wonderful display of Gihuli glass creations which are magnificent. It is also a good place to learn more about the history of Catalina.

We would like to thank our hosts at the Avalon for all the recommendations of things to do and see, and also for making us feel pampered throughout our stay. Even our taxi driver, who has lived on the island for 40 years said that we were at the best hotel in his opinion! We agree. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

MaryAnn, thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are happy you were pleased with our location and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing all the fun activities you enjoyed while here! I'm glad you got to see the Chihuly Art Glass display at the Museum, as it is here until early December this year. We're happy to host you any time at all, and we appreciate the feedback. You make our job easy!

Best,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. The room was clean (BUT) we were on the street side and it was very noisy with the golf carts zipping by all day. The sliding glass door did cut down the noise quite a bit though. The front rooms are the one with balconies.The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was my husbands birthday and he got a yummy bottle of wine given to him. My calves hurt like heck from walking up and down the hill. Breakfast is on the beautiful patio next to a coy pond and fire pit. Cozy! We will definitely be back but will stay on the other side of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Cheryl, thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. It means the world that you all chose to provide us with some feedback -- it sounds like your stay was a great one. Those five stars are the best compliment, and would love nothing more than to have you all again in the future.

Best,
Kathleen, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
300 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: ₹ 14,302 - ₹ 20,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing