We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Best!!!”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Avalon Hotel with my girlfriend, as part of a romantic weekend getaway to Catalina. We were both extremely impressed - this is definitely one of the nicest places I've ever stayed, and I've stayed in a lot of hotels that were pricier than this. The building itself and the neighborhood as a whole are absolutely charming, and from the moment you walk inside, you can tell that a great deal of thought has been put into the decor and layout of the hotel. The desk staff were friendly and very helpful. They were also really, really nice about my unintentional late arrival!

The wooden trim and furnishings throughout the hotel were finished in a warm, inviting shade, which was accented by paint colors and detailing subtly evocative of the island's historic glazed tiles. This, along with custom designed lighting sconces featuring an outline of the island's profile, really tied the various spaces of the hotel together, and created a distinctive feel that was purely Catalina.

We stayed in room #103, which was on the ground floor toward the rear (inland) portion of the building. We booked a little too late to get a room facing the ocean - totally our own fault - but the mountain view we had was quite lovely, and the room also featured a private balcony from which the ocean could be seen. The hotel also offers a fabulous roof deck, open to all hotel guests, that offers not-to-be-missed views of the entire town, the ocean, and surroundings. Based on these factors I would not hesitate to book *any* room in the hotel.

The room interior was very well appointed, and though it was a bit on the small side, it more than made up for this with a well-thought-out layout and furnishings which echoed the design themes present in the hotel's common areas. It was also quiet, extremely comfortable, and absolutely spotless. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on in any hotel, and the high thread count sheets and memory foam pillows felt absolutely luxurious. Really, there are not enough adjectives to describe how wonderful the bed was. I also liked that the ceiling fan and overhead (dimmable!) light could be controlled from the bed, via a wall mounted remote. The bathroom also deserves special mention - high-end fixtures, spotless gleaming tiles, and pleasantly-scented towels that were either brand new or just really, really clean.

From a more technical perspective, the room featured a large flat screen HDTV and DVD player. I'm sure they were nice, but we didn't actually wind up having time to test those out, as there was more than enough to see and do when out & about on the island. The hotel also offers free WiFi, which we did use. This worked well for web-browsing and email-checking, but beyond that, the connection was heavily firewalled, presumably to block high-bandwidth apps like streaming video. As I am a bedtime reader, this did cause some issues for me with my Android-based tablet that likes to update itself in the background, and for my Kindle app on the tablet, which could not sync. However, this is really a minor quibble, which certainly should not deter you from staying here. (Incidentally, I also have an iPhone, and using AT&T's 3G service, it worked better and faster on Catalina Island than anywhere I have used it on the mainland.)

The hotel also should get a gold star for having plentiful and intelligently located electrical outlets in the room, including right next to the bed. I'm sure this sounds like a very strange thing to rave about, but as a CPAP user and frequent business traveler it is something I have come to really appreciate. You'd be surprised how many hotels out there DON'T have an outlet within easy reach. In those cases I have generally had to put the machine in some awkward location, and since I'm breathing air through the intake on that machine, I'd really rather be able to put it on the bedside table and not on top of carpet or upholstery. Kudos to the Avalon Hotel on allowing that little bit of extra peace of mind.

Overall - the Avalon Hotel was absolutely wonderful, and I would not hesitate to stay there again, or to recommend it to friends, or to suggest it to even the most discriminating business associates.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeroryouko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 477 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

I recently spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island with two girlfriends and had a wonderful time! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful to tell us what to do and see. It was such an enjoyable experience with the warm hospitality of the staff. The ambience was more like a bed and breakfast with coffe in the lobby to access at all times with fruit and cookies as well as a welcoming breakfast on the private, delightful garden patio each morning. There was a fun complimentary wine, cheese and crackers happy hour on Friday on the patio with a lovely koi pond.
The accommodations were tastefully done, clean. and with very comfortable beds. We had our own terrace facing the ocean where we enjoyed coffee in the morning. The roof had a spectacular view over the harbor, ocean and town area. Everything more than met my expectations!
I am truly looking forward to another stay at this spectacular hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable get-away with a very friendly and accommodating staff!
Thanks so much again to the outstanding staff at the Avalon Hotel who made our stay such fun and memorable!
Submitted by Sharon Meyer

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 201 which offered a view of the ocean as well as a "Spanish" looking hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have been talking about taking a short holiday to Catalina for years and finally decided to celebrate our birthdays. My husband picked the hotel and could not have done better. We lacked for nothing and the staff was more than willing to answer our questions about what to do and see and even told us about a little known dinner and movie special at one of the local restaurants. Don't bother checking out the others, this is the best place in Catalina.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice although the ones on the street side are a bit noisier early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Loved our three day - 2 night vacation on Catalina Island. Best part was a marvelous hotel/art experience - the Avalon Hotel. Friendly and knowledgeable staff made for a perfect mini-vacation. Loved the design details, wonderful California Impressionist art and historic photos on display throughout the Avalon. Also highly recommended: Lunch at the Airport and hike the loop trail - see a movie at the "Casino" (get there early to view the murals) - enjoy Catalina "endemics" at the Botanical Gardens - visit the Conservancy "Explore" Store on Clarissa Street - and end your day on the rooftop deck of the Avalon Hotel with a bottle of wine. Catalina Conservancy shuttle service and shuttle driver/tour guides were another big plus for us. Thank you Laurie, Tim, Richard, the Avalon Hotel and the Catalina Island Conservancy!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

One would think that being a Native So Californian, that I would have been to Avalon... I have looked with curiosity from the mainland for many years. It is with this background, that I planned a last minute trip to the Island.
On Wednesday, (two days before our trip), I called the Avalon hotel, asked if they had any rooms for Friday and Saturday night. They had a nice partial ocean view room on the 3rd floor... and with a two night reservation, they even offered including the transportation from the mainland as well as the Taxi ride as part of a Package. About 5 minutes later, I had an emailed confirmation of the entire plan.
Everything was as promised. The room was very nice, had an ocean view from the balcony, and the staff was great.
What to expect:
1. great views... from the balconies on the 3rd floor, as well as the rooftop!
2. great service
3. simple but filling breakfast
4. Stairs (there is no elevator) as well as a modest uphill walk from the shore. As long as you are aware of this, there is no problem. Just remember that the 3rd floor is three flights of stairs.
5. Comfortable beds.

The ONLY negative we had was some very noisy people out in the street coming in from a party at midnight. These people were NOT at the Avalon, but were staying at the hotel across the street. They hung out on the front porch for a while until someone finally shut them up. This was quickly fixed by us personally by just shutting the door and window of our room. Again, this was not the fault of the Avalon Hotel, and I only mention it to show that you can still give an "excellent" rating for a hotel while having one negative comment.

Overall, our stay was supreme. We really enjoyed our 2 day respite from the mainland.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views. room 301 is the best (we were in room 302).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,140 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
502 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: ₹ 14,185 - ₹ 21,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing