We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy hour on Catalina”

The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #20 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy hour on Catalina”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Happy hour is great! Dollar tacos and margaritas. Great out door seating, next to the golf course.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank trueangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    55
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great happy hour”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

really liked the $1 tacos. best deal on the island. lot of locals and spanish speaking people. i felt like I was in mexico, even watched futbol on telemundo. pretty cheap beer, too. definitely recommend

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank OscarIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, try the Happy Hour specials!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were too early for Happy Hour ($1 tacos from 2-7pm), but were famished so we ordered. Our lunch was pricey but the food was very good. Had a steak sandwich, Husband had Carne Asada nachos with a Pacifico. Yummy. Pigeons in the dining area were annoying.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrishNachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get the happy hour tacos... they rock 2-7 PM”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Foods not bad, laid back nothing fancy, happy hour is the bargain here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank atollmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not sure if this is a fair review but...”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I called and asked about the $1 and drink specials and I was told that they had those. Turns out, those specials don't start until 2 pm, and the rest of the menu had similar prices to the nicer restaurants. True, I didn't ask if the lower taco prices started at a specific time, but they didn't offer that info either.

So I didn't actually eat there, but the restaurant was outdoors, cold, not particularly "nice", slightly distant and the non-happy hour prices weren't all that great.

So I'll give it 3 stars. If you go, just make sure to show up during the happy hour as it's probably otherwise not worthwhile.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stockjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Catalina Island, CA
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing