We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Snug Harbor Inn”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed at Snug Harbor twice now, and although it is higher on the price scale than we usually go, we just think it is so worth it! It truly made our "mini-moon" an occasion to remember. We stayed in the San Nicolas Room, which has a wonderful view right out to the harbor, and with the jacuzzi and remote controlled fireplace, comfortable accomodations and big screen, it couldn't feel more luxurious. Also, the wine and cheese at 5 pm is a lovely touch, and once when we came it was just two couples staying there, so we even had room service for the wine and cheese! However we have found that the wine and cheese hour is also a lovely time to socialize with others staying at the Inn. Of course Donna again was amazing, accomodating our breakfast needs and serving us a lovely breakfast in style. This place is truly special. We look forward to coming again sometime (hopefully) soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaLOxnard_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

My fiance and I spent 2 nights at the Snug Harbor Inn in March of 2012 and had a thoroughly wonderful experience. The rooms weren't huge, but they were clean, comfortable, and quiet with a great view of downtown Avalon. The staff was friendly, there were DVD's available to borrow for a quiet night, and gas powered fireplaces in the rooms to really create a beautiful ambiance. That wasn't it though. They had a nice little continental breakfast that they served you in your room, and in the evening they had a complimentary 'wine tasting' for the guests - which was really more of a small party with wine and snacks (cheese and crackers, nuts, fruits, etc.). They run a great establishment, and really went above and beyond the call of duty. I'd strongly recommend the hotel and would 100% stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaknafein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This place is such a beautiful gem! The hotel is gorgeous.. with the old workmanship of turn of the century, yet upgraded to the modern standards. Rooms are spotless, exquisite detail. Every little thing is special.. down to the custom rugs, soap, fluffy bedcover, ......
High class service and top notch room quality.
The evening wine and cheese makes you feel high class, but the breakfast in bed is the ultimate! White cotton over the arm kinda treatment! The staff person(ours was a great guy who has lived on the island all his life) brings in the tray and sets it all up for you. We are not talking donuts here... milk in a carafe, greek yogurt, delish granola, fresh juice, and fresh baked bread (ours was a banana/ carrot- yum!)
If you go during the off-season mid week like we did, you can get a real deal! They handle the trip over to the island for you.. and can even handle last minute changes if you miss your ferry (luckily we just made it).
Oh, and of course, you have a view of the ocean too!
Perfect.
For us, this was a short trip to the island prior to attending Expo West. The relaxing and pampered atmosphere of this lovely lovely hotel was the perfect treat prior to a hectic week.

Room Tip: all the rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tammy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We loved this place. We stayed in the San Clemente room and the view was nice. The room was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. We would come back and stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The only drawback is that the Inn is located on the second floor with no elevator service. That being said, we arrived with one suitcase and the staff immediately came down and helped us up the stairs to the front desk. In a matter of two minutes we were registered and were taken to our room. From the moment of our arrival to our departure we were made to feel as though our comfort was the most important thing in the staff's life. Our room, the Santa Catalina room overlooked the beach and the main street (no vehicles only foot traffic allowed) and had a bay window (which most rooms have) where the table and chairs are located. As the staff introduced us to our room, soft classical music was playing quietly on the room's radio. After a 6 hour drive and a one hour ferry trip, we felt we had entered a place of bliss. We were given options of breakfast times and the breakfast service was first class. A knock on the door occured within the 15 minute time frame that we requested. The server arrived with a large basket containing our meal. The table was cleared, fresh linen laid, and then the meal - fresh juice, granola & milk, yougart, hot water & tea bags, and still-warm, fresh baked bread (the type changed, poppy seed, blueberry, cranberry).
We dined wearing the plush, terry cloth robes and soft slippers that are provided. The gas fire place provided a pleasing accompaniment on the cold wet week-end that we visited. And a ceiling fan would have been welcome if the weather were hot.
In the afternoon, wine and cheese in the group room were provided - red, white and rose along with a variety of cheeses, crackers, salami and tapandae, along with hot water and teas which are always available.
Evening turn-down and a sweet chocolate made a delightful surprise when we returned to our room after dinner.
The location is central and from our room, the view of the harbor and Avalon Ballroom picture perfect. Unfortunately, severe winds delayed and ultimately cancelled the ferry service on our schedule departure day. But the staff allowed us to have a late check-out and then cut the nightly rate by 50% and even let us move into a less expensive room - and all of this with a smile.
Jesse, Juan, Alex and Donna are excellent in their jobs, as was the rest of the staff.

If we return to Catalina Island (and we want to) we will DEFINITELY stay at the Snug Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
309 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: ₹ 9,020 - ₹ 24,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Avalon, Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing