We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing for a low-key romantic getaway”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing for a low-key romantic getaway”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

After doing extensive online research, I believe this hotel is the best option for those looking for great value without sacrificing quality. The sun deck was amazing, the staff was very polite, the room was clean and comfortable and the location couldn't be beat. They even let us check in to our room 4 hours early because it was ready for us; after enjoying our continental breakfast at a table overlooking the water! If we are lucky enough to return one day, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7521wifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    142
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
93
262
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've been in California for 20 years and wish I had made this trip years ago. I suprised my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary and she absolutely loved it. The hotel stay was outstanding! I would recommend the Villa Portofino to my family and friends. Again thank you for making our 20th anniversary totally awesome!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in Catalina and loved this hotel. The staff does everything possible to make your stay pleasant, The location is ideal and the rooms recently renovated and very comfortable. The restaurant is good, but the food somewhat bland.. I would recommend that they improve the kitchen. I would surely return to the hotel but not necessarily the restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, just redone. Some have views, some do not. There is a wonderful terrace on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was a great hotel - staff were friendly, quick to make up rooms and very informative. While we were there the weather conditions cancelled the ferries and the staff were all really reassuring and nice. (FYI, 50% off rooms if you're stranded on the island.) Also, unlike many other hotels I've stayed at, they seemed to genuinely want to stop for a chat with you...I read a review that poo-pooed the whole courtyard rooms having patio doors for front doors, but having stayed in one of those rooms, I can honestly say I felt safe and secure. Yes, the rooms were small, and if I could afford it next time, I'd get one of the fancier rooms with a sea view, but I really liked our room for this stay. The sun deck was virtually empty the whole weekend and it was an awesome vantage point for people watching. We took this trip as a first-family-vacation-with-baby and it worked out really well to hit the restaurants/shops and come back to the room for our baby's frequent changing/feeding needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyanidesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We (4 couples) had such a good time. We did our own thing during the day and then got together for a happy hour on the deck of the hotel (which faces the water) then went to dinner.
We stayed two nights and we are talking about doing it again.
3 couples are from Palm Springs, Ca and the fourth couple is from Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,089 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
487 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
614 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,046 - ₹ 22,937
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon, Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing