We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Carlton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“The Carlton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

A friend suggested we try this Hotel just outside of Paso Robles. We loved it and will go back. It is not too far and we were very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    98
    14
    11
    16
See reviews for
66
175
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California (USA)
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Carlton isn't like some historic hotels that rely on the good old days to draw you in. It is completely updated, clean, comfortable. We had a room with French doors opening onto the 2nd level courtyard - well worth the extra price.. Add in an extraordinarily attentive and friendly staff, not to mention the adjacent mouth-watering restUrNt and bakery - and you've got the right recipe for a great stay on the inland central coast area.

Room Tip: 2nd level courtyard - extra $ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBandJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We wanted a special weekend, and we received it at The Carlton Hotel in Atascadero. The amenities were excellent. There is a first-class restaurant, Colby Jack's, on site as well as a bakery. Every bite of both meals was wonderful! The room was spacious, and the bathroom had features in marble with gold accents. It is definitely a 5 out of 5; we are already recommending it to our friends. You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Our room was off the inner courtyard on the second floor. We never heard another guest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My first time at the Carlton Hotel. One of the staff members (Travis) was exceptionally helpful on the telephone to make a reservation for 6 nights. Everything about staying here for me was perfect. The bed is perhaps the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Free internet (both wireless and LAN connections). A nice quiet ambiance in the hallways.

In addition, the hotel restaurant (Brie Lauren Bistro) serves delicious meals. They served a Mother's Day Brunch, superb selection and quality !! The servers (especially Mark and Kaitlyn) were wonderful at every meal. Also in the hotel is the Colby Jack Bakery serving fresh-baked items, fantastic

I will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: My room was top floor, facing the courtyard. This very much reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durrwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumber Bridge, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at this motel on a whim on our tour of California this month. It was a real treat! The hotel is elegant and extremely comfortable and clean. Everyone was super helpful and friendly, and the little town was quaint and interesting! The price was a huge surprise, five star hotel at two and a half star prices. I would recommend this place to anyone passing through or spending time. This place was a real pleasure and I'll be sure to stay if I come this way again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vintage King and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraandSonny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
5.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
17.6 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
11.3 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
17.4 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,624 - ₹ 19,314
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing